We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food on our last night in Italy”

L'Osteria Dell'Orologio
Ranked #8 of 440 Restaurants in Fiumicino
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Palo Alto, California
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Outstanding food on our last night in Italy”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

What a surprise this restaurant was. We decided to wait for an 8PM dinner after reading the TripAdvisor reviews for this restaurant, and we are so glad we did. This was one of our best meals in our 3 weeks in Italy (and we had some great meals). We made reservations for 8 PM when we walked by there at 7, and by 9PM, the restaurant was nearly full (on a Tuesday night).

They served us 2 delicious amuse bouches, and then we had a yummy smoked mullet crudo, an anchovy-topped buffalo mozzarella-stuffed ravioli, and 2 fresh fish dishes. Everything was tasty and lovely, and we would actually endure flying out of FCO again just to eat here. And I dislike FCO so much, and can hardly believe I'm writing that, but that's how much we liked this restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AnitaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    343
    89
    44
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stowe, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, a delight”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our last night in Italy, we stayed at a Fuimicino hotel and walked down to the canale for dinner. Arriving at 7 PM on a Saturday night, the local pizzeria was crowded with locals having a great time outside along informal sidewalk tables. Next to it was L'Orologio, but it opened at 8. Knowing that my wife likes to eat early, and the better restaurants open later in Italy, I persuaded her to wait.

And we are glad we did. The food was outstanding. The wine selection was amazing for such a small restaurant. With the attention to detail of each element of each plate, you could tell that the chef and/or owner was really dedicated to making and presenting outstanding food.

The only draw back was the service. Since the staff was incredibly busy with every detail, getting the bill, and then paying it, was a bit of a challenge. That was the only down side.

I would highly recommend it. Don't stay at an airport hotel. Stay in the town and eat at L'Orologio. You will not regret it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Davidfromstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Went here for dinner with friends. I have been to numerous restaurants in the area and was really impressed. Friendly service and the food was excellent. Highly recommend doing the assorted appetizers. Young and creative chef.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpected culinary delight!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Like many reviewers we stayed in the town of Fiumincino to catch an early flight after a long weekend in Rome.
Despite being a sunday night the restaurant was full (inside) from 830 onwards, with locals arriving continuously until we left at 1030. The service is friendly without being over the top and while the menu's are in Italian, a basic understanding is enough, the staff are also happy to help in english with any translation (local fish for instance).

THE FOOD: A must are the anitpasti platters (raw or cooked) - we shared one between 2 and it was more than enough. I enjoyed the fact that the antipasti's came out in unhurried intervals, reminded me of japanese dining. The antipasti are delicious, based on fresh seafood ingredients, prepared thoughtfully with original flavour combinations.

The mixed grill was simple yet delicious and was a good mix of local seafood, my partner had the local 'tuna' which was perfectly cooked and tasted great.

The best meal i've had in Rome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must go place!”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

At this restaurant you dine in a superb enjoyable environment. There is so much originality and passion in Marco Claroni’s creations. Every dish is served with full descriptions of the ingredients used and the cooking technique. From the moment you sit down from the kitchen delicious dishes come out almost continuously and one does not know when to stop as everything is so enjoyable and perfect. The restaurant has also a well-qualified sommelier that provides the best advice on the wine choice and, therefore, compliments with the chef just perfectly. Once you eat at this restaurant you just can’t wait till next time you can have such an unforgettable dinner again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pino19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Osteria Dell'Orologio also viewed

 
Fiumicino, Province of Rome
Fiumicino, Province of Rome
 

Been to L'Osteria Dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing