We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 Star!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cancelli Rossi Hotel
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We booked this hotel based on its 4 star status and its proximity to the airport. When we got to the hotel, the big sign for the hotel showed that it has a 3 star rating rather than the 4 stars advertised. When we entered the hotel, we knew we had made a mistake. The lobby was dingy, the carpets were stained, the furniture was faded and dirty, and the receptionist was unhelpful. If your looking for a very expensive 2 star hotel, this is the place for you. If you want a 4 star hotel - go somewhere else!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmyg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Booked this hotel because of its proximity to the airport since we had to catch up the next day flight to London. Nothing much was expected during the stay and the hotel leaves nothing to be remembered on both counts. The rooms are neat and clean and big enough to spend a night. Reaching to the hotel itself is a long drive from the city though it was not difficult to be traced by the taxi driver. Overall just an average experience at the end of our family trip to Europe and we have nothing for or against this hotel. For price conscious travellers, not a bad option.

Room Tip: Not to worry for this
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bhupendraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2011

after check in we went straight to our room and the floor had stains on it. The bed was covered with bed bugs in it. we went downstairs immediately and asked for our money back and were told that was not possible. We left and had to stay at another hotel, incur the additional fee of a cab ride and another hotel. horrible. also, hotels.com will not refund our money nor the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 night prior to flying out of Rome. Shuttle into city has only 10 seats and specific times, and is not convenient - it was fully booked during all times. Also the shuttle to the airport is at a cost and is at specific times - we had an early AM flight and the front desk staff couldn't find us a taxi, causing us to almost miss our flight. When we voiced our disappointment that an airport hotel couldn't get us a taxi to the airport, they responded with "We're not a taxi service".

They were unhelpful, and to top this off, the hotel is grungy inside and the rooms are small and stuffy. They feel unclean....checking for bed bugs is something I'm sure most people check for upon arrival - we sure did!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CdninLondon05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This hotel ticks all the right boxes on paper but do not be fooled. The hotel is not that close to the airport. It is in the proximity but it's so complicated to get there and from there. The shuttle bus has specific times which are not that convenient. So, you end up getting a taxi anyway which has fixed (high) fees both to reach the airport or the centre city. I am Italian and I lived in Rome, so I recognise the ways. Basically you end up being trapped at the hotel.

Regarding the hotel itself - it is clean but honestly quite out-dated. And everything that you expected to be included was an extra hidden expense. The room smelled of cigarettes. There is no smoking in the hotel or in any public place in Italy since 1995, so I can only imagine that the room has not been updated since then. That's 11 years - which is too long for a hotel to go without a re-fresh. The lift/elevator was very precarious and tiny. So there was always a lot of traffic and waiting. So you really need to factor that in - even if you are catching an early flight when you think no one else is up. The breakfast was peculiar. You had to exit the hotel and walk across the car park into another affiliated hotel for breakfast. And honestly, for a city and country famous for beautiful fresh food - it was bitterly disappointing. Nothing was fresh unless you paid extra for it. The croissants were factory bought and tasted like cardboard. The juice and coffee were undrinkable. There were some staff that were friendly but overall they didn't really have a helpful or positive attitude towards guests.

All in all. I cannot think of one reason for recommending this hotel. Unless you really want to throw money away or want to give someone a bad experience.

Room Tip: Choose a lower ground room, so you are not trapped by the slow lift/elevator. Pick this hotel only i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ValinaTravels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked a room while at the airport. Due to a change of plans, I called and emailed our cancellation within 2 hours of the booking. They didn't respond to my email and the lady at the desk couldn't help. So they charged my credit card for the nights stay anyway. I think if you make a reservation at 1 PM and cancel it in less than 2 hours, they shouldn't charge for the room. Also, the hotel is not a nice as the photos represent.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank laketyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed here for one night before I flew out of FCO airport the next morning. I arrived very late to FCO the night before so I had to catch a taxi to get to the hotel. Very close from the airport, but the taxi was a bit expensive. They do have a shuttle that runs until 9:15 pm from the airport to the hotel but they charge 6 Euro each way. The front desk and the elevator looks old but the rooms are very clean and well kept. The continental breakfast was served at the next door hotel Mach 2. Overall very nice and relaxing stay. The hotel is so close from the airport, that I could see the airplane fly over my room! That was kind of neat!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
1.9 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
1 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
0.2 mi away
Mercure Rome Leonardo da Vinci Airport
0.8 mi away
Comfort Hotel Roma Airport Fiumicino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cancelli Rossi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cancelli Rossi Hotel

Address: Via Portuense 2443, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
Price Range: £73 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cancelli Rossi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cancelli Rossi
Cancelli Rossi Fiumicino
Cancelli Rossi Hotel Rome/Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing