We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Riviera
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the shuttle to FCO airport for 6 euros per person. The front desk staff were absolutely useless when asking for restaurant advice, although they did do it with a smile. It was our last night in Italy and we were down to less than 100 euros, my mom had a sprained ankle and all we wanted was a decent restaurant to eat our last Italian meal. When we asked for a recommendation, the front desk employee said that he couldn't give us a recommendation because it was Monday and the restaurants take turns closing on Mondays! Seriously?? After walking around for a while and finding no restaurants open within walking distance, we spotted a local woman with pizza boxes. She pointed in the direction of the pizza place, so we walked over there and scrounged together our last euros to eat some pizza. Unfortunately, my husband has celiac disease and couldn't eat anything there except some ice cream. The breakfast were basic to say the least and the coffee was horrible!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truffles37marietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

About 100m from the seafront with various good fish restaurants, Hotel Riviera is a good solid place to use as a basis for either departing from or arriving at Rome airport. Rooms are very clean and basic but fine. Nice area at the back for a sunny breakfast and the staff are excellent.
About 10 minutes to/from the airport. 6 Euro shuttle fare , leaves Terminal 3 on the hour.Taxis are about 10 Euro a head.
Recommend as a good stop off overnight hotel.

MM

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MysticMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We travelled from Rome, via train to FCO airport then picked up the Best Western shuttle to the hotel for the last day of our 11 day tour - BW added the shuttle cost to our end bill.

Friendly staff, clean, amenity equipped - soap, shampoo, kind of a weak hair dryer and funky shower door thing. Although it seems in Europe shower curtains or doors are not the norm.

We ordered drinks from the bar in the lobby late in the evening, this was also added to our bill.

Brekkie was the typical cake, cookies, toast, cereal serve yourself option.

The coffee machine made absolutely terrible coffee, as expected.
The bar also served coffee at small cost, somewhat better but not what we had grown accustomed to in Rome.

We booked for three, a double bed with single be room and it was sufficient for our overnight stay. TV and large wardrobe to hang items.

Wifi worked but it was a wee bit slow at times.

One minute walk to the beach and main strip with many bars and resto's to choose from.

Lounge Chair rentals at the beach for approx. 4euro a day (we arrived later in the day so ours was slightly discounted) Chairs are out until 7PM then they collect the chairs up (they also place the chairs for you, is not take and place it yourself).
Brush up on your Italian - the rental hut (where drinks etc. are sold) is run by friendly people, but no speaka de'English .. at all.
This is a busy beach with local families abundant, if you are looking for a quiet private beach this is not it ... but it is a fun atmosphere.

Seemed a nice area in the evening to walk around or to just sit on the beach.

Very busy main strip in the evening - being just off of the busy strip in this hotel made for a quiet location, this was nice.

I almost booked at a different hotel facing the beach but I am glad I did not after seeing the party atmosphere, locals and drunk tourists being mildly harassed.
This other hotel was dirty, it smelled like garbage walking past, it was rundown and had somewhat unsafe access from the street.
I would have relocated to this Best Western Riviera after seeing this other option.

The shuttle back to the airport was pre-booked at check in; shuttle was on time and dropped me off without a hitch.
My travel companions left later in the day and also had no issues getting back to the airport.

I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akyraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The hotel is situqated in a small seaside resort 15 minute drive from Rome Airport.Transfer by Hotel shuttle 6E each,each way.

In November there was no one around in the resort - strictly a summer place - so finding somewhere to eat was difficult - in the end we had a fantastic good value meal in a take away with a few tables - wine glasses would shame a cruise liner !

The hotel was very friendly - staff helpfull, breakfast good and the rooms with balcony perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR.23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Excellent location, great staff, nice rooms, great variety in the dining area for complimentary breakfast. Second floor has a separate balcony overlooking the view of the ocean. Beautiful sunsets. Less than a block to the beach. There is a little Gelato Bistro a few steps away once you arrive at the beach at the end of the street.
Try the carmel or coconut! $2. Euros each per cone for two scoops!Accessible to downtown Rome via transit system. We took the city bus to the Metro train into Rome for $2.70 each one way. The hotel sells the bus tickets. Price is unbelievable for the feel of staying in a small village away from the busy centre of Rome. Took 10 minutes to get to the airport. Hotel has a shuttle which is $6 each way per person to FCO, Rome International Airport.

Room Tip: Rooms in the court yard side are quieter, Rooms on the second floor are quiet, nice little balcony o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandisavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife and I chose this hotel as our rondevoux point and home base for our 37th anniversary. We chose it for two primary reasons; 1) it was close to FCO, making it an easy rondevoux as I was already traveling in europe and we wanted to meet in Rome for our anniversary, 2) We wanted to be as close to the beach as possible (as I'm an aspiring but still employed beach-bum) and still be within easy reach of Rome. This hotel met those objectives perfectly.
The majority of patrons use this hotel as a one-night stay for catching a plane the next day.
I will add below the review I wrote in the Best Western questionaire (which was supportive but critical), but before that, a few more detailed observations of the facility are appropriate.
We stayed in the penthouse (room 501). This room is by far the best on the property and observations may not apply to the other rooms. This room is very large with 4 single beds arranged with 2 beds adjoing, two singles separated by a night stand, and a common central area, a foyer/entry with closet, and a bathroom accessible via the foyer. It's good for families or couples. The bathroom is large enough to accomodate a much larger shower than the dinky stall it has, but is otherwise quite comfortable (more on this later). The true attribute is the wrap around patio. From this patio you have a commanding view of the Fiumicino area rooftops and antennas and the ocean front. They have some wiker furniture and sun bathing lounges, and it can be a great spot to just relax and view the Mediteranian. Although afternoons are generally windy enough to blow the furniture around, mornings are best for enjoying a cup of coffee with the sun at your back.
Airplane noise. Yes, you WILL hear them, and so often you'll eventually just learn to ignore them or wait until it's quiet enough to talk again. Being close to FCO means you are essentially in the departue path of runway L19. Beginnning at about 06:30, departures will work better than a rooster for getting you out of bed. For that reason, and because the bathroom has an eastern viewing window with no shades, hangovers should be avoided if you stay here - just sayin'.
Local dining was a little challenging for us at first. The ocean front area has a lot of restraunts that concentrate on sea food. Finding something other than highly priced seafood was difficult. The hotel is off the beaten path and taxis are hard to come by so walking is the only way to get around. The hotel does have one bicycle that I used extensively the first couple of days to get the lay of the land as we were going to be there a week. The ocean front is about 2 blocks west, and that is at the south end of the string of dining establishments along the ocean front going north to the old Port of Trajan. We found the Rosso Corallo to be very accommodating to Americans and the least expensive of the other waterfront extablishments. Closer yet to the hotel is the Il Del Fino, just around the corner on il Del Faro. It's a small family run shop that is very accommodating to Americans and has a good selection of basic pasta and plates. It's just past a small bar that has sandwiches and some other deli type foods that are good if you just want to walk around and stop for a beer locally.
Because we wanted to spend a lot of time in Rome but not full time, this hotel was a great option. Our price for 8 nights was less than 1200 Euros, and that included several shuttle trips and etc.. The hotel does not do exchanges so ensure you have Euros before wandering about. Although most local restraunts do take plastic.

Here is my review directly to Best Western...
Please provide name(s) of employee(s) who went out of their way to make your stay enjoyable:
Did not get/recall specific names. But it is fair to say they were ALL very helpful and supportive of our requests. The staff provided us with very good instructions and supporting maps etc. for all of our planned outings and even had local bus passes available for purchase at the lobby. Good advise is greatly appreciated when traveling abroad and this staff in particular is the best I have encountered in 35+ years of global travel. Many thanks to this hotel staff. If I had written their names, I would happily commend each individually. This includes the breakfast service and room maintenance. Their recollection of our preferences and deference to our daily schedule was appreciated.

Please share any additional comments here.
Found the bed(s) too uncomfortable. Pillows also uncomfortable. When pressing two single beds together for a double, the resulting ridge/seam was not conducive to easy sleep or marital activites. Strongly suggest incorporating a seem cover, or just invest a true double/king size bed for the penthouse. Also, for western visitors having a face cloth in the bathroom is expected, we were not aware that the property even had any. The TV in the penthouse suite is to say the least, an example in minimalism. Although this miniature version of a TV had several interfaces available, the control system (on the unit or via remote) did not support selection of any source except the basic on-air programming. I requested access to connect my media resources to it which were never addressed.
Ice. As a westerner with a lot of travel experience, ice is normally available 24/7 via machines on each floor. I had to request ice on a daily basis. And when it was available, we found that it was almost a delicacy doled out on a sheet by sheet basis (in itself an interesting occurance).
Finally I was amused at what I can only explain as a vestige of the "Best Western" hotel franchise. This property had all the ammenities of a fine hotel - to include silver platters for transport of items to the room and good silverware and glassware for coffee and drinks. But the cheesy plastic cups for in-room use and tea service were a commical attribute to an otherwise great overall presentation.

So in total, I would recommend this hotel for anyone that is transiting FCO or wishes to visit the road less traveled.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s2global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

We stayed here in order to not have to get up too early to get a plane out of Rome. What a great place...1 block from the Sea and great views. 15 min to the airport by shuttle. A great value. Good reestaurants within walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
3.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
2.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seccy Hotel
Seccy Hotel
#2 of 23 in Fiumicino
710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Roma Airport Fiumicino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Riviera

Address: Via Licio Visintini 30, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera)
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Fiumicino
#6 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
#6 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#7 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera is a 3 star hotel near the Fiumicino beach, and is the right choice for those on business or holiday, she needs to stay in a modern and convenient to the international airport Leonardo Da Vinci, the exhibition center Rome Fair or shopping centers Market Central Da Vinci and Parco Leonardo. The hotel is family run and always has as its main goal to make every customer feel at home, making each stay particularly pleasant! The Hotel Riviera, in fact, is located just 5 km from the International Airport Leonardo Da Vinci, but it is not just a business hotel just 100 meters from the beach equipped with bar-restaurant "Zenith" happy to offer attractive terms to our customers, while the archaeological excavations of Ostia Antica are just 7 km from our 3-star hotel. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera in Fiumicino also offers free bicycles, thanks to which you can discover the nearby seafront where you'll find a bike path and plenty of restaurants to sample dishes. The 27 rooms of our 3 star hotel in Fiumicino are equipped with the most modern comforts and able to make your business or leisure stay in Fiumicino full of hospitality and relax. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Riviera also offers its guests many services to facilitate the connection to the nearby city of Rome, Fiumicino Airport and shopping centers, in fact every day it is available on request the shuttle transfer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Riviera
Best Western Fiumicino
Best Western Hotel Riviera Rome/Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing