We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude check in and an ugly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I recently had a flight change and needed a hotel near the airport for 1 night.
We chose the Hilton Garden Inn for it's convenience to the airport.
It is located a few miles away in an airport industrial area and it fits right in in it's neighborhood.
Stark concrete from the outside and much the same inside.
Upon check in we were told that the hotel would not honor the rate that I had been guaranteed. I am a travel agent and requested a travel industry rate evidently the booking agent mistakenly booked it as a family rate.
The check in person name, Simone, questioned me as to how I had gotten a "Family Rate" and would not tell us how much the normal rate would be for the night.
He was extremely rude but in the long run he did us a great favor.
We called Marriott and were able to book a room at The Marriott Rome Park Hotel for the same rate that we were quoted by Hilton.
It was not much further away in distance but was light years away in terms of ambiance and service.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I apologise if the reception desk didn' give the assistance required to understand your needs.
As you said the reservation was mistakenly booked by the Travel Agent and we had to investigate in order to assign the room at this favourable rate, who has some restrictions and certificate to be shown at the check in time. I've personally followed up and assisted you and your wife in order to understand first, and then to resolve the issue. We gave you free internet wi fi code for you to connect and check your mail.
As soon we understood the issue I've quickly confirmed the rate. I've asked you to send me the confirmation in order to avoid the same problem for the future but I didn't have your support on that.
Technically you did not check in at the Hotel because you wanted to stay closer to downtown, I respect that so you've booked to another Hotel.
In my opinion you cannot say that the Hotel is ugly because you didn't stay at the Hotel at all. But this is only my opinion.

Sincerely,
Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,097 - 1,103 of 2,616 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is very nice, contemporary, clean, and comfortable. We arrived at 11 am and were allowed to check in which was nice. They have wifi and it works great, they give you a code upon check in. The food at the restaurant was quite good, the staff was very friendly. Now, it's an Italy thing, but the rooms get quite hot. That's because even though you have a thermostat in your room there's a master setting that turns them off periodically to conserve energy. Also, this place is in the middle of no mans land so don't even think about hitting the town, it's like 35 Euros just to get to a mall that's not worth the trouble. But it's a great overnight when heading to airport. They have a free airport shuttle that passes very 12 minutes. Overall nice stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cco4242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had an overall positive experience in out Hotel, thank you for your constructive comment about transportation, the Airport shuttle also gives the possibility to guests to arrive at the Airport and from there is well connected with the city center and Fiumicino/Ostia and the Parco leonardo Mall. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced (for an international airport hotel) and has very comfortable, nicely furnished and equipped rooms. Beds have adjustable support levels. Breakfast is not included and costs around $15 for the buffet. There is a free shuttle bus from the airport (take the shuttle for the airport parking lots; its last stop is this hotel).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank prado1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had an overall positive experience in our Hotel, Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can have another opportunity to meet you again in our Hotel.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

front desk very acommodating,nice room. I had an excellent pasta for lunch.The breakfast next day was exceptionally good. The room was very quiet even on the flight path and no noise from the very busy lobby. Free shuttle to the airport every 12 minutes. This is now my hotel at Fiumicino airport.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawn1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor.I'm glad that you have appreciated all different aspect of your stay, and that now we are your Hotel in Fiumicino! Thank you for staying with us, I hope I can have a chance to meet you for your next visit to our Hotel.
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a bit expensive, but comfortable hotel for those who are spending 1 day by the airport in Rome. The rooms are large (by European standards - about the same size as a US hotel room). The hotel is clean and updated. The beds are great! Some have adjustable firmness settings. The food is good, but not exceptional.

The challenges are slow check in service, slow restaurant service, slow WiFi and a bathroom shower that will leave 1/2 liter (litre for you EU guys) of water on the bathroom floor due to the EU shower bad (yet common) shower design.

This hotel needs more front desk staff and a streamlined process. We waited 15 minutes to check in and I saw the check in line 10 guys deep all evening long.

The hotel need more wait staff in the restaurant.

Would I stay here again? Yes, I probably will because I know it is a good place, but I wish I was getting my money's worth.

Room Tip: Read Trip Advisor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omaha_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had an overall positive experience in out Hotel, thank you for your constructive comment, during peak times there might be some delays, we will work on this aspect to improve our performance.
Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

If you need to spend 1 or 2 nights close to the airport this hotel is perfect!rooms are clean, silent and comfortable, 15 minutes from the airport by a free shuttle bus and staff is nice too.
I usually stay here before flying to US so I recommend it!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Annagreta132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that you had an overall positive experience in out Hotel and we are happy that you will reccomend to all tripAdvisor viewer.
Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after arriving on a late evening flight from Australia via Dubai. We had our 6 month old son with us. Simone (guy) at reception was a bit cold and I had plead with him to get a cot for the baby even though we had agreed via email beforehand that it will be available. The access bus service is good but the signage and directions are pathetic. Restaurant and bar staff were cordial and food was good. On checkout, staff made me miss one bus due to just lazing about at their jobs. I was first in the queue and no one was at the counter, but all three kept chatting to themselves. There were more people lined up behind me. So allow plenty of time if you have a train or flight to catch. Room was okay and housekeeping staff were good.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank cricketfan97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGIRA, Direttore at Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry if the service provided wasn't quick and friendly as expectd. I'll personally share your comment with the team and I apologise for the delays. Thank you for staying with us!
Sincerely,

Simone Iovacchini
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Rome Airport Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,159 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
2.9 mi away
Seccy Hotel Boutique
Seccy Hotel Boutique
#2 of 23 in Fiumicino
725 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Roma Airport Fiumicino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport

Address: Via Vittorio Bragadin 2, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fiumicino
#3 Family Hotel in Fiumicino
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fiumicino
#5 Luxury Hotel in Fiumicino
#7 Business Hotel in Fiumicino
Price Range: £78 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Leonardo da Vinci Fiumicino airport platform in front of Cargo City. A complimentary Airport Shuttle service is provided from the hotel to/from the airport from 5 AM to 1 AM. The service is operated by a yellow, Orange, Blue & Green Bus with "Easy Parking" Logos on both sides. Please look for "Airport Shuttle" Signs. Free wi-fi Internet access is available throughout the hotel and free 24-hour Business Centre with high speed Internet access and remote printing facilities. All 282 guestrooms at the Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport have modern decor and soundproofed windows. Each includes a private bathroom with a hairdryer. Self-adjusting Garden Sleep System beds with duvets and ergonomic Mirra chair. In-room safe, individual climate control, reading lamps, two telephones and tea and coffee making facilities. This is 100% non smoking Hotel. For guests who smokes the Hotel has designed smoking areas outside the building to accommodate their needs. There is a room recovery fee of 150 €uro for guests who do not comply in order to cover the extensive cost of restoring guest rooms to a smoke-free condition. On-site restaurant serving buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner and offering traditional Italian/International cuisine and a Lounge Bar featuring plasma screens and offering cocktails, sandwiches, salads and more. Guests can use the microwave room to prepare ready-to-cook meals sold at Pavilion Pantry shop. The hotel is a 2-minute drive from the A91 Highway for easy connections to the EUR business district. Trains to Fiera Roma and central Rome leave from the airport train station, and the ride takes around 30 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Hotel Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Fiumicino
Fiumicino Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Fiumicino
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing