We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disfunctional and flawed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Why this place exists at all is a mystery. I was there as part of a wine conference which in itself was a bit chaotically organised. My overriding impression was that someone with a reasonable amount of money bought an old tobacco farm in rural Tuscany and started to spend. Then spent a bit more….. and then just as it was nearly ready to open they ran out of money but opened it anyway. The result is predictable. One of the things money was spent on is a bizarre system whereby your room has no window to the outside instead a huge slab of wall is cantilevered out from the main structure by means of an electric motor operated from a switch inside the room . Like most things here the motor/switch may or may not work, if it doesn’t - bad luck. Surreal.
What else? We arrived at night and fellow guests jumped in the swimming pool only to see next morning that it was full of green algae (silly in November I know….). My toilet seat collapsed on its first encounter and had obviously been broken before but not replaced and it wasn’t any better when I left even though left it dismantled for the cleaner to see. No water one morning - fixed but probably a recurring thing. On check-in the receptionist had to conjure some elaborate paper trick in the room light switch because no room cards were available – all my fellow guests had similar feats of origami to contend with. Coffee at breakfast was in short supply. The bar (?) was never open. The outside areas were half finished- weeds everywhere. It just seemed uncared for and unfinished.
Strangely if you check this place out on line there is no mention of an hotel at all although they clearly have at least 32 rooms. They do have apartments which are in another part of the (last!) resort. A ghost hotel? – maybe this stay never happened?? On checking out the receptionist/manager was offended that I had not indulged in the minibar (5 bottles total) because he had hoped to make some money out of me (his words).
Good points? Thin on the ground but it had to be said that most of the staff were eager to please and hardworking and the food was ok. I guess the current owners will give up and someone else will come in and pump more money in and get this strange place on its feet someday (don’t what they would do about the bedroom "windows" tho') but until they do - stay away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank housered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

Recently stayed with a tour group for four nights. The location is peaceful and picturesque (just what one needs during a hectic touring holiday!). The rooms were very clean and comfortable as well as the bathrooms. The personal were very helpful, caring and friendly which made it easier for us especially as we had a 14 month baby travelling. The restaurant was beautiful and food exceptional. Just like mum's home cooking. Their wine delicious too! They were also more than willing to make separate meals for my baby. Overall, a great place to stay!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank m1ssm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have been given a voucher for a stay at this place for our wedding. First problem started when we wanted to book a room with the voucher. Some Francesca wrote that the hotel's rooms assigned to the voucher are full until October and if we wanted to come, we would have to pay extra 50 € a day for a suite accommodation. After my pointing out that the hotel offers accommodation for five days for about 350€ and we have already paid for the voucher she ceased to respond to my mails altogether. With help of a traveling agency through which the voucher was bought we agreed to pay the extra 50€ a day and agreed on the time if our stay. Here comes the fun part. When we arrived the hotel was completely EMPTY, except for a very surprised receptionist and four construction workers working ON the hotel. We learned that the hotel offers 32 basic rooms and 8 suites - we were given room accommodation (which was supposed to be full until October). The place looked like it was not in operation yet, there were no other guests, restaurant seemed closed, minibar was empty, the grounds around would definitely use a gardener, the pool was occupied by literally hundreds of bees. There were workers at the pool unpacking chairs and umbrellas (in August!). There was no balcony in the room, and the view from the window was blocked by a large turning concrete block (seriously, the architect if this place should be banned from his activities for lifetime), so the room was very dark. Also, the location of this hotel is terrible, there is absolutely nothing around it (not to mention that the hotel's only available activity is the pool - they had two pools, actually, but the other one was covered by a wooden block). We didn't want to hurt the feelings of my brother in law who gave us the voucher for this place but we couldn't stay there. We booked another hotel in radda in chianti and moved there. AVOID THIS HOTEL, we literally RAN from there

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ZUZU99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It was a nice hotel in the country side, clean air and beautiful nature. People were very friendly and helpful (took us to the railstation for a much cheaper price than a taxi). Rooms were clean and there was no noise during nights, Generally quiet the whole day. There was a swimming pool at the backside which looked very beautiful. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was delicious and the service was good too.
I think it would be a good choise if you want some time to relax, with friends or with family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tidus1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

It was a very good relaxing time in the hotel. Beautiful place, swimming pool, clean rooms and very kind people :)
Dinner was also very delicious. Brought us to the railstation too.
Nature was very fantastic!
so I could rest very good :)
I recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tidus101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lorella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Terranuova Bracciolini
5.5 mi away
Toscana Verde
Toscana Verde
#1 of 2 in Laterina
897 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel il Viandante
Hotel il Viandante
#1 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
365 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Valdarno
Hotel Valdarno
#1 of 3 in Montevarchi
265 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Michelangelo
Hotel Michelangelo
#2 of 5 in Terranuova Bracciolini
208 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
Hotel Il Gentiluomo
#4 of 29 in Arezzo
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antica Tabaccaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antica Tabaccaia

Address: Strada Valdascione 143 | Cicogna, 52028 Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Terranuova Bracciolini
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Terranuova Bracciolini
Price Range: £52 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Antica Tabaccaia 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Antica Tabaccaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Antica Tabaccaia Terranuova Bracciolini, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing