We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
Certificate of Excellence
roma
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were looking for a nice and see side place close to Rome, and reachable by train and bus. Sperlonga is the right place if you haven't got a car or if don't want to pay a lot of money in car parks or you care about environment. Anyway, this hotel is perfect to reach and it is quite and nice during the low season. Room are nice and confortable. Outdoor swimming pool isfresh and lovely and... there is whirpool! Breakfast is pretty good and, if you ask in advance, you can get gluten free bread and cookies. The see side is not far at all and all around is marvellous!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristinanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    334
    107
    40
    27
See reviews for
183
463
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is our second time at Virgilio and it is as nice as our first. The location is perfect, only 2 blocks off the beautiful sea so very quite. The service is great and the gave us a great room with a balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for room 224
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba3040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends in September 2012 and was generally very pleased. The hotel is in a great location as you can walk to the modern part of Sperlonga in a few minutes. The old town on the hill about a 15 minute walk up a very steep hill. It's a lovely area and nice to get away from Rome to relax if that's what you're after. The pool area was lovely and reasonably quiet when we were there. The area of the beach that belongs to the hotel is quite a distance away, but nice once you're there. We had a nice little balcony that overlooked the flats next door so nothing special there. The wifi was intermittent from my room and had to go to the lobby to guarantee connectivity. Breakfast wasn't really my thing, but still nice fresh juices, croissants, toast, cereal and fresh fruits. The coffee wasn't anything special. The staff were very accommodating and helpful in getting us a maxi cab back to the station when all 10 of us left. If I went back to Sperlonga, I would want to try one of the other hotels but wasn't disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lis35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Virgilio Grand Hotel in October 2012 but the pool was out of action. It had not been used for a while and they had some issues over several weeks.

As such this hotel was not a good choice. The hotel location however is very good and easy to get to beach and resturants etc. Suggest you check with the hotel that there are no such issues before you book.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank steveB_33_145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Decor is clinical/corporate, general condition was rather neglected due to cheap quality fixtures which were broken and hanging off, including door handles. The area surrounding the pool was a bit grubby in places like clumps of hair around the drains. On arrival none of the floors had been cleaned, long black hairs everywhere. We had three standard double rooms, and two of the showers were leaking badly and pooling all over the bathroom floor, also blocked drain in both showers. Tried the jacuzzi shower but black flakes of mildew came out from behind the shower panel. "Double" beds were two single beds pushed together without a link, clamp or topper, on a wooden floor. So the bed had a ridge in the middle which progressed to a gap overnight. Sat up in bed in the morning and the bed slid away from the wall. The manager blamed the dirt and faults on the previous long staying Canadians (!). Isn't that what housekeeping is for? Wifi didn't work at all for the first few days, then only worked in the lobby. It wasn't just us as when it did eventually work, the lobby became the venue for a spontaneous and enthusiastic IT Club. We got a 20% discount for all the trouble, but this was hard work.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was by far my favourite hotel of the Italy trip, it was a little bit more expensive than the previous hotels but we were so glad we booked it and had a chance to unwind for the last part of our trip.

On arrival our room was not ready for us as I think we were a little early - however we were kindly told by the staff that we could leave all of our bags at the front with them, take our swimming stuff out and go and enjoy the pool... it was a beautiful day, so we did.

The pool was big and not over - run with kids, yes there were a few kids but they were well behaved and not there all the time, we saw mostly couples and I would recommend this place for couples as it is very pretty and quite romantic (in fact the town in general is very family / couple orientated)

Our room was fantastic with a balcony and fridge, the bed was so comfy and soft with lots of space for two and Chris slept on the pull out bed which he seemed to have no complaints about. The bathroom was delightful - although the only thing was that the water kept spilling out every time someone had a shower and so you had to put towels down to make sure the floor didn't get soaked.

The staff were nothing short of perfect and always said hello and wanted to chat.

The lounge area was atmospheric and we saw people on their laptops here.

The restaurant looked lovely but we wanted to get out of the hotel and try the local places, breakfast had a wide variety of foods, fruits, juices; we stayed for a while.

Gym was well equipped and spa looked nice.

The beach was just a short walk and was worth going to... you can rent sun loungers for the day and also get food and drinks.

Overall I loved this place and will return when I visit Sperlonga again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XGlobetrottingXGirlX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Valley, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had stayed in this modern hotel a few years ago and found it equally fine this time. It is in the lovely town of Sperlonga, has free parking and is a short walk to the beach and to the old ( very hilly!) town. The old town is wonderful to explore but be aware that restaurants and shops do close in the afternoon.
The reception was friendly and very accommodating. There were always cookies to be had in the lobby.The stylish and functional room was large, immaculate and well appointed. All items were upscale and well thought out....linens/toiletries etc.There was plenty of storage space and a lovely bathroom with Jacuzzi tub. The room had a large balcony which was nice. Unfortunately the room that overlooked the pool and gardens that we had on our previous trip was not available...a minor disappointment.
Breakfast was served in a very spacious room and all the items were plentiful and fresh. Eggs were available as well.
The pool area is very nice and the hotel takes advantage of its own as well as surrounding gardens. Lovely views of the mountains.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area provides a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAD10977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sperlonga hotels
0.3 mi away
Ganimede Hotel
Ganimede Hotel
#4 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#3 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaia Garden Hotel
Elaia Garden Hotel
#6 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Playa Grand Hotel
La Playa Grand Hotel
#13 of 16 in Sperlonga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moresco Park Hotel
Moresco Park Hotel
#2 of 16 in Sperlonga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amyclae
Hotel Amyclae
#11 of 16 in Sperlonga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgilio Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgilio Grand Hotel

Property: Virgilio Grand Hotel
Address: Via Giuseppe Romita 262, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sperlonga
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sperlonga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sperlonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Virgilio Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virgilio Grand Hotel, Sperlonga's modern and welcoming 4-star hotel, is situated in the heart of one of the most exclusive and attractive villages in Italy, very close to the historical centre and just a few steps away from the sea.Our hotel provides the warmth and care of the best Italian hospitality along with comfort, functionality, relaxation, quality, wide and well-lit open spaces, blended together to create an elegant atmosphere, enriched by carefully chosen details.The hotel has 72 finely appointed rooms with innumerable services of the highest quality, carefully prepared to meet all sorts of requirements and to offer a pleasant stay to all our guests. It boasts the largest and most modern Congress Centre in Sperlonga and a wellness centre, for a marvellous experience in the world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Virgilio Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Grand Sperlonga
Hotel Virgilio Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing