We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant hotel - don't choose attic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sperlonga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We made a reservation through booking.com and took a cheaper attic room. We quickly asked to change rooms because the ceilings were so low in the bedroom and bathroom and there was only a one foot tall window near the floor. My husband felt it was claustrophobic.

The next room we got was very nice. The bathroom was clean and with fancy features in the shower stall. There is a safe in the built in wardrobe, a tv with two English channels (better than other hotels we stayed in). The breakfast gave a very large number of options to choose from. I agree with another post that the two single beds pushed together were less than ideal. I would ask for a room with a double bed.

The pool area is quite nice. After a day at the beach we got in the habit of going to the pool. There is a bar there, and the bar tender was particularly friendly and helpful. The staff all speak English well. The front desk staff offered to let us charge our iPhone on their computer because we had left our charger in Rome. Very nice people.

The hotel beach area isa little way down the beach, but it's walkable. Or you can take their shuttle van. It costs E10 to rent a set of beach chairs. That is less than if you rented from another place, prices can go as high as E30.

The town is beautiful and easy to get around without a car. We. We're very happy with Sperlonga as our relaxing part of the trip after busy Rome.

Room Tip: Don't go for the attic rooms unless you are shorter than average and not claustrophobic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charl0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (938)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 70 of 938 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were looking for a nice and see side place close to Rome, and reachable by train and bus. Sperlonga is the right place if you haven't got a car or if don't want to pay a lot of money in car parks or you care about environment. Anyway, this hotel is perfect to reach and it is quite and nice during the low season. Room are nice and confortable. Outdoor swimming pool isfresh and lovely and... there is whirpool! Breakfast is pretty good and, if you ask in advance, you can get gluten free bread and cookies. The see side is not far at all and all around is marvellous!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristinanist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is our second time at Virgilio and it is as nice as our first. The location is perfect, only 2 blocks off the beautiful sea so very quite. The service is great and the gave us a great room with a balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for room 224
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubba3040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends in September 2012 and was generally very pleased. The hotel is in a great location as you can walk to the modern part of Sperlonga in a few minutes. The old town on the hill about a 15 minute walk up a very steep hill. It's a lovely area and nice to get away from Rome to relax if that's what you're after. The pool area was lovely and reasonably quiet when we were there. The area of the beach that belongs to the hotel is quite a distance away, but nice once you're there. We had a nice little balcony that overlooked the flats next door so nothing special there. The wifi was intermittent from my room and had to go to the lobby to guarantee connectivity. Breakfast wasn't really my thing, but still nice fresh juices, croissants, toast, cereal and fresh fruits. The coffee wasn't anything special. The staff were very accommodating and helpful in getting us a maxi cab back to the station when all 10 of us left. If I went back to Sperlonga, I would want to try one of the other hotels but wasn't disappointed with this one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lis35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed at the Virgilio Grand Hotel in October 2012 but the pool was out of action. It had not been used for a while and they had some issues over several weeks.

As such this hotel was not a good choice. The hotel location however is very good and easy to get to beach and resturants etc. Suggest you check with the hotel that there are no such issues before you book.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank steveB_33_145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Decor is clinical/corporate, general condition was rather neglected due to cheap quality fixtures which were broken and hanging off, including door handles. The area surrounding the pool was a bit grubby in places like clumps of hair around the drains. On arrival none of the floors had been cleaned, long black hairs everywhere. We had three standard double rooms, and two of the showers were leaking badly and pooling all over the bathroom floor, also blocked drain in both showers. Tried the jacuzzi shower but black flakes of mildew came out from behind the shower panel. "Double" beds were two single beds pushed together without a link, clamp or topper, on a wooden floor. So the bed had a ridge in the middle which progressed to a gap overnight. Sat up in bed in the morning and the bed slid away from the wall. The manager blamed the dirt and faults on the previous long staying Canadians (!). Isn't that what housekeeping is for? Wifi didn't work at all for the first few days, then only worked in the lobby. It wasn't just us as when it did eventually work, the lobby became the venue for a spontaneous and enthusiastic IT Club. We got a 20% discount for all the trouble, but this was hard work.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaxqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

This was by far my favourite hotel of the Italy trip, it was a little bit more expensive than the previous hotels but we were so glad we booked it and had a chance to unwind for the last part of our trip.

On arrival our room was not ready for us as I think we were a little early - however we were kindly told by the staff that we could leave all of our bags at the front with them, take our swimming stuff out and go and enjoy the pool... it was a beautiful day, so we did.

The pool was big and not over - run with kids, yes there were a few kids but they were well behaved and not there all the time, we saw mostly couples and I would recommend this place for couples as it is very pretty and quite romantic (in fact the town in general is very family / couple orientated)

Our room was fantastic with a balcony and fridge, the bed was so comfy and soft with lots of space for two and Chris slept on the pull out bed which he seemed to have no complaints about. The bathroom was delightful - although the only thing was that the water kept spilling out every time someone had a shower and so you had to put towels down to make sure the floor didn't get soaked.

The staff were nothing short of perfect and always said hello and wanted to chat.

The lounge area was atmospheric and we saw people on their laptops here.

The restaurant looked lovely but we wanted to get out of the hotel and try the local places, breakfast had a wide variety of foods, fruits, juices; we stayed for a while.

Gym was well equipped and spa looked nice.

The beach was just a short walk and was worth going to... you can rent sun loungers for the day and also get food and drinks.

Overall I loved this place and will return when I visit Sperlonga again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XGlobetrottingXGirlX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sperlonga
0.2 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#2 of 15 in Sperlonga
430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moresco Park Hotel
Moresco Park Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sperlonga
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Playa Grand Hotel
La Playa Grand Hotel
#12 of 15 in Sperlonga
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Elaia Garden Hotel
Elaia Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Sperlonga
194 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Gajeta
Hotel Gajeta
#4 of 11 in Gaeta
391 reviews
7.5 mi away
Villa Irlanda Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgilio Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgilio Grand Hotel

Address: Via Giuseppe Romita 262, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sperlonga
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sperlonga
Price Range: £55 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Virgilio Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virgilio Grand Hotel, Sperlonga's modern and welcoming 4-star hotel, is situated in the heart of one of the most exclusive and attractive villages in Italy, very close to the historical centre and just a few steps away from the sea.Our hotel provides the warmth and care of the best Italian hospitality along with comfort, functionality, relaxation, quality, wide and well-lit open spaces, blended together to create an elegant atmosphere, enriched by carefully chosen details.The hotel has 72 finely appointed rooms with innumerable services of the highest quality, carefully prepared to meet all sorts of requirements and to offer a pleasant stay to all our guests. It boasts the largest and most modern Congress Centre in Sperlonga and a wellness centre, for a marvellous experience in the world of well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Virgilio Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgilio Grand Sperlonga
Hotel Virgilio Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing