We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grotta di Tiberio
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Sperlonga
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here for 6nts in June after 4nts in Rome...We upgraded to an executive room 2 wks before arrival and were given rm 220(I think!)........It had a HUGE patio with 1st class sun-loungers,table with 4 chairs..
This is a fantastic,peaceful Hotel with VERY friendly and excellent staff..It's a beautiful stroll to Sperlonga(15mns) and its picturesque town....We got a taxi most nts to town(10 Euro's) and then walked back as downhill was easier on my old legs!
The views from the Hotel are spectacular and we went to the beach(5mns walk) a cple of times..we sunbathed at the Hotel's pool mostly(perfect temp!) which even though the Hotel was full was never busy......We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend this Hotel without hesitation to anyone..........Thanks again to ALL the staff who made our stay so enjoyable..
Simon B. Liverpool

Room Tip: We had an executive rm,which was the best of the 7 exec rms as was on corner with HUGE patio,but ALL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    79
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
87
119
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We (thankfully) left your hotel before the the forced closure.

We had the best stay of our trip in your hotel. It was peaceful and an enjoyable stay and extremely good value for money. All of the staff from the front desk, to wait staff to ground staff were brilliant. OK English is not everybody's first language but we weren't on holiday in England. Everyone knew enough to get by and went out of their way to be helpful... (and not in the.... I'm looking for a tip kind of way)..

We only stayed for 4 days and moved onto a more expensive hotel. We were sorry we moved and wished we stayed for longer. We did only go for a basic room. Yes it was smaller than other rooms in the hotel.. but the pool, the garden and the restaurant certainly made up for it.

Also don't be afraid to ask questions of the front desk.. they were very helpful.. drawing maps.. and recommending where to eat... Already looking forward to going back next summer...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweens79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cd'A, Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were enjoying a glass of wine by the pool when a police officer arrived and told us we needed to leave within the hour because the hotel was closed by order of the police! The entire staff had left without telling us. No one spoke English. There was no warning when we booked or checked-in that this was a risk. It was pretty much a nightmare.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Steady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuseppeCh, Direttore generale at Hotel Grotta di Tiberio, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We apologize for any inconveniences caused last Saturday the 14th of June. We are very sorry for this situation. Our aim is the guest satisfaction and we feel very sad if our guests are not satisfied due to our guilt. We assure you that we didn't want this situation and we do not feel guilty at all.
We try to explain you what happened. The hotel was closed by Italian Authorities because of a legal process in progress for presumed illegal construction.
Lawyers are working to demonstrate that the accusation is unfounded.
The hotel was sequestered, so when the Authorities came, the personnel and guests had to left the building (and you too).
We did not have the possibility to inform you and to help processing the forced check-out.
We still have not the possibility to access our hotel and I'am writing you from my home.
We hope that you had a lovely stay in our hotel, except the last day.
We wish to re-open our hotel as soon as possible and we hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards.
Giuseppe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had 3 wonderful and relaxing days at Hotel Grotta di Tiberio, after 3 days in hectic Rome. Clean and comfortable hotel, lovely swimming pool, friendly and helpful staff, what more could one want. Situated about 10 minutes walk from the historic centre of Sperlonga, the hotel's location offered wonderful views of this historic town - and the historic town itself also offered breathtaking views of the coast. Lovely scenery - although I must reiterate that Sperlonga is a hill-top town with the inevitable climb to its pretty centre and picturesque buildings. Lots of restaurants, lots of seafood which we love. The hotel restaurant itself was first-rate - it had a new chef - and the daily menu offered fresh pasta and gnocchi, fresh fish and shell-fish - delicious. Looking forward to booking again next year.

Room Tip: We had a large double with balcony looking towards the sea; our son had a standard double overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DoyleKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A beautiful setting for a seaside Italy break. Lovely pool with stunning surroundings. Staff very accommodating. 20 minute walk to local town and lots of lovely restaurants. However beware the locals English is basic. Highly recommended for holiday escape. Easily accessed on the train. Rooms are on smaller side but balcony give you the extra space. Minimal storage for clothes but clean facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madsrmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after a trip to Rome. The excellent Trip Advisor rating this hotel has is well deserved. Sometimes when you walk into a hotel you know its going to be good and this is one of those places.

- Its a quiet peaceful location looking out at the sea.
- The beach is a short 2 min walk away. 4 -5 cafes / restaurants are on the beach.
- The staff here take a huge amount of pride in the hotel and genuinely work hard to maintain the high standards they have set.
- The rooms are a good size and have nice terraces to sit out on. They are clean and well designed.
- The hotel grounds are great and very well maintained
- The pool is good, quiet and peaceful area to hang out
- The hotel isn't that big so I don't think would ever get too crowded around the pool / restaurant
- The old town is a 15 min walk away up some steps and is well worth a visit
- Sperlonga itself is about the same distance away without the steps
- There isn't a lot to do here except relax
- The food in their Restaurant is really really good. Our waitress Deborah who looked after us for the 3 days deserves a mention.
- Its €25 - €30 for a taxi from the train station
- Fish seems to be the only thing on the menu in most places in sperlonga including the hotel but they did offer to cook something else if we wanted it.

If your looking for a really nice place to stay, a place to relax amongst beautiful scenery and enjoy some good food. This is the place to go!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel in early March 2014. From the onset the staff literally went the extra mile to be helpful. The hotel is new, tastefully designed and unobtrusively located in a lovey green area between the hills and the sea. The nearby beach is beautiful and fringed with greenery and vegetation. There is a 10-15 minutes scenic walk to Sperlonga centre and though, as with the other hotels, you do have to climb some steps to get into the older part of the town it is most certainly worth it. The hotel itself had a particularly relaxed feel, and there were great views of the sea, the greenery and the old town from our large balcony. Breakfast was good, and the room spotless and clean. The hotel is situated very conveniently, as it name suggests, to Tiberius Grotto and the museum. Further afield we visited Terracina which is a lively place, also full of historical interest. We would thoroughly recommend both Hotel Grotto di Tiberio and the local area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sperlonga hotels
0.6 mi away
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Virgilio Grand Hotel
#1 of 16 in Sperlonga
852 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#3 of 16 in Sperlonga
378 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ganimede Hotel
Ganimede Hotel
#5 of 16 in Sperlonga
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
La Playa Grand Hotel
La Playa Grand Hotel
#11 of 16 in Sperlonga
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moresco Park Hotel
Moresco Park Hotel
#2 of 16 in Sperlonga
235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elaia Garden Hotel
Elaia Garden Hotel
#6 of 16 in Sperlonga
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grotta di Tiberio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grotta di Tiberio

Property: Hotel Grotta di Tiberio
Address: Via Flacca Km 15,700, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sperlonga
#2 Family Hotel in Sperlonga
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sperlonga
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sperlonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grotta di Tiberio 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of the most beautiful and unspoilt place of the Pontino coast, we find the hotel Grotta di Tiberio in Sperlonga located in the province of Latina. At 800 meters from the historic centre and 250 metres from the beach, this newly opened 4-stars hotel enjoys a splendid view and is equipped with a swimming pool with Jacuzzi, large garden, solarium and parking.The hotel has comfortable rooms all with bathroom, shower, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, air conditioning, minibar, digital TV and safety box. The hotel also has a bar and an Internet point.In short an ideal place to spend a short weekend or holidays in the company of friends or family.To make it even nicer your stay will be the "La Veranda" restaurant, which with the dishes based on Mediterranean genuine cuisine and revisited in a modern style from our chef will surprise you in palate and elegant presentation with which they are prepared.The service, is carried out in detail, by the pool with an enchanting panorama of the sea and the ancient Bourg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grotta di Tiberio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotta Di Tiberio Hotel
Grotta Di Tiberio Sperlonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing