We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”
Review of Hotel Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mayor
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sperlonga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

First off, I want to say that the hotel is very clean, which is very important to me. The rooms are just average, maybe a bit too small for a group of 4. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, but it is around the reception. The service is great, but there isn't really a lot of things to choose from. The hotel is just a 2 minute walk to the beach. You get a lot for your money, so I'd recommend this if you like going out instead of staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnDoe1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

This place really exceeded our expectations in terms of quality and comfort! We were 4 people, split into 2 rooms which had a sort of door in the hallway allowing us to have a private and semi-adjoined room situation. Our patios were huge, complete with chairs and a table and an awning for shade if we wanted, and the sea (visible from our patios), is just a block from the hotel. We were sad to have only planned to spend one night there en route from the Amalfi to Rome (and that being April it wasn't quite warm enough to go to the beach yet). This place was clean, comfortable, very well kept-up, up to date, and conveniently located. There's honestly nothing more we could have asked for. We won't hesitate to stay here again!

You can get here easily without a car by taking the train to Forli-Sperlonga and catching a bus or Taxi to the hotel (about 12 minutes by car). The bus drops you off more or less in front of the hotel and the older historic part of the city is an easy walk away (why spend extra to sleep in the historic part when you can walk there from a place like this in 3 minutes?!).

Room Tip: Groups of 4 should request adjoining double rooms....that way you can cross your fingers and hopeful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AubrieNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here in early April 2013 it was our first stop south of Rome - the rooms are spotless - the family service very friendly and helpful - and we had our first HOT cup of coffee in over a week - would well recommend it to any one - our room had a balcony with vies of the sea and hills behind us

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed for one night on our way south - the room was modern, clean & comfortable, the breakfast excellent and the proxcimity to the town and restaurants was great. We could stay here for a week and enjoy the beach on another visit to Italy. The staff were friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We paid 75E for the first night, the hotel is in a good location and the room was very clean and fresh. We loved sperlonga and the weather was beautiful so we decided to stay another night, we asked at reception and the manager? tried to rip us off by giving an elevated price of around 90E for the night. The hotel was pretty much empty, so it was clear he was just trying to take more money from us. The breakfast had a poor selection of food. This year I called to see if we could get a deal at the hotel for three people as it was a nice hotel in a good location and clean, but the person on the phone was rude and unfriendly so we stayed at Hotel Grotta Tiberia for E90 only 15 Euros more but it was well worth the extra 15E.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesharkRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2010

This is a modern block on a side street just back from the seafront, at the foot of the cliff on which the old town stands. The room was comfortable, big enough for us, with an up to date bathroom. Everything you need, but not particularly special.
Breakfast was good, with lots of choice of sweet cakes, croissants, bread, cheese, ham, yogurts, fruit etc.
It felt a bit out of season (well it was the end of October); we had difficulty rousing attention when we arrived, and decided not to leave our room key at the unattended desk when we went out.
Online booking was convenient, but 75 euros B&B was more than we paid in most places. Restaurants were a bit pricier than other towns further south too, so maybe this is just a more expensive place in general.
We walked up into the old town for dinner. The streets are steep and whitewashed, quite moorish in atmosphere, nice. We ate at 'La Siesta' and had a delicious though simple meal; fresh mozzarella and local ham starter, followed by spaghetti alla vongole, home-made chocolate mousse, house white wine. All very tasty. We were the only people in the resaurant, so maybe it really is out of season.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodsider79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

This is a very unpretentious little hotel, well situated very close to the seafront. The rooms are spotless if a little on the small side but all rooms we stayed in (we were a group of 9) had spacious balconies and the bathrooms were very well appointed with excellent showers etc.
The management and staff were absolutely delightful - nothing was too much trouble. When we brought in some stray tourists off the street who were looking for an Internet cafe and couldn't find one, they were happy to let them use the Internet for free which we thought was over and above the call of duty.
Breakfast was fine - we didn't have evening meals.
Highly recommended for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carolinetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sperlonga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aurora
Hotel Aurora
#1 of 15 in Sperlonga
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Virgilio Grand Hotel
Virgilio Grand Hotel
#3 of 15 in Sperlonga
938 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaia Garden Hotel
Elaia Garden Hotel
#6 of 15 in Sperlonga
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grazia Hotel
Grazia Hotel
#13 of 15 in Sperlonga
169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Moresco Park Hotel
Moresco Park Hotel
#2 of 15 in Sperlonga
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amyclae
Hotel Amyclae
#10 of 15 in Sperlonga
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mayor

Address: Via Io Romita 4, 04029 Sperlonga, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Latina > Sperlonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Sperlonga
Price Range: £54 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing