We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very quiet and friendly place”
Review of Hotel Castello

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Castello
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Budoni
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very quiet and friendly place”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend chose the hostel, because we wanted to spend some quiet days close to a beach in a gay-friendly surrounding and that's exactly what we got.

Although we were the only gay couple we could identify there (not only at the hostel- the people on holidays in the region we spotted - seemed to be mostly italian families and mature couples from several countries), we felt quite comfortable and not "strange" or unsafe there, especially because of the especially friendly and helpful staff, who did everything to make us feel good there. When I got sick at the second day of our holidays, they arranged me some special meal, which we wasn't even charged for and they swiftly called a very nice and helpful doctor when I needed it.

Our room was very comfortable and simple. The double bed was big (I think 180x200 cm) and had two mattresses, which some may critisize, but for us it was okay. In front of the room there was a small terrace with table and two chairs. I just missed a place to hang our beach towels and bikinis ouside. I put them on the chair outside, which wasn't ideal, but still okay.

The bathroom was equipped with a shower cubicle, a toilet, a bidet and a not so small basin. During two days there were problems in the bathroom, concerning the water quality: The water came out with more or less brown colour, so we didn't dare to wash ourselves with it. The guy at the reception told us, that they were suffering from problems with the water in the whole village these days, so I guess, it wasn't their fault, but still our holiday was quite affected from the problem.
I also think that the room smelt quite muggy, as soon as the windows were closed, although everything was really clean (it was wet cleaned every day).

Please notice, that even the closest beach is too far away to walk there comfortably, so you will need a car every day. We had to drive around 5 minutes to get to Ottiolu, the closest beach. The more beautyful beach of San Teodoro is further away (around 10 min until you can park the car somewhere) and to buy some food, drinks or other stuff in a small market it also takes you min. 5 min. per car. There also is no pedestrian path to walk down the hill to reach any facilities.

We both really enjoyed the beautiful terrace, where breakfast was served every morning. We could watch the sea and a part of the region from there.
The breakfast-buffet was rich and even though we can't eat everything because of several allergies, we found things to eat every day (tea, coffee, fresh fruit, joghurt, cereals, jam, prosciutto, cheese, white bread, toast and variable delicious stuff like regional sweets and antipasti ...I wouldn't really mention the juices, they weren't really juicy, more instant). We really appreciated, that the waiter kept our lactose-free milk in the fridge for us and served them to us every day.

We found the dinner-menu (25€) not really worth it. It wasn't bad, but nothing special, but we remerked it positive, that the drinks were delicious and not expensive.

I personally liked the pool. It was clean enough to refresh there, but there was only one sunshade, that couldn't be fixed there. Still, the sunloungers were comfortable, although a bit used.

Conclusion: We would surely go there again :)

Room Tip: We just saw our own room, so it's difficult to say- but we enjoyed, that our room was far away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Espressinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    41
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
112
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed there just one night but maybe we should have booked for 2-3 more nights, our stay was just amazing. we loved the location, on a top of a hill which makes the place somehow exclusive. I read some negative comments about this place and I have found them pretty ridiculous so don't be put off by them. You certainly need a car to get there but that's all. The breakfast was super, while sitting in front a magnificent view The staff was very nice as well. We will come back at some point! well done folks!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghigo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I liked this hotel very much, due to its location (up on a hill, looking at the sea), that gives you a feeling tranquility and relaxation, and is closer to nature. The rooms are indeed simple, but everything is new and looks nice, so we liked this, too. The owner is a nice and friendly person, so is the girl who serves thex breakfast (until 12 o'clock, which is great).
To be improve: the shower cabin is quite small (even for thin persons) and it gets flooded when you take a shower, due to some problems in the water drain system. Also, you have to wait for 10-15 min for the water to become warm, which is not nice when you want to take a shower. The windows don't have protection against insects, which are a lot in the area. The rooms could use a bit of decoration (a painting, a small carpet, etc), to stop looking like hospital rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are better, in my opinion, as they have a big terrace, the others have sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed two couples at the beginning of September, 2013, the hotel is instead a bit remote but who who travels by car distance is not a problem, the view from the rooms is simply amazing, the rooms are spacious, clean and change the towels are excellent, breakfast is simple with a personal service manager and hotel owner provides immediate service.
In short it was fun.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kobigilboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Our week long holiday at Il Castello did not get off to a very good start by finding that the hotel seemed closed down for the winter when we arrived - all locked up with absolutely nobody around! After some panicking and phoning England somebody did turn up and unlock, but there was little in the way of apology or explanation for our having to wait half an our in the gathering gloom.
The hotel is quite a strange place, not helped by us being their only guests for half of the week. Consequently it was very quiet and a bit eerie (remember The Shining?!). The few staff seemed to disappear every day and our room wasn't cleaned for three days of the week, again with no explanation or apology. The furniture was gradually moved into storage while we were there (sun longers removed from the pool etc) and we almost felt like we were an inconvenience. If they wanted to close down they shouldn't have accepted our booking.
Moans aside, our stay was reasonable in the end. The rooms are comfortable, if a bit sparse - we had to ask for basic things like drinking glasses, and the toiletries were not replenished all week. The pool looked OK, but we didn't use it (as there were no sun longers!). Breakfasts were average.
The hotel is located a fair way above the main village and road (a steep twenty minute walk down and a bit longer back) but the location adds to the peacefulness and the great views out. It also means it is a bit cooler. We discovered and strongly recommend the nearest restaurant (La Maggioranna in Agrustos) which does great food at reasonable prices and the staff are very friendly.
Il Castello is not a great hotel and it could do a lot to improve the impression they give their guests, but it is OK for a week if you have a car (essential) and are looking for simple and quiet accomodation in beautiful Sardinia.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Too far from anywhere to walk in the heat. 3-4 km to nearest restaurant or shop. Access both ways by unlit unmade track that is impossible to traverse at nigh, so you have to hire a car. Very quiet with lovely views but do you want to be in a hotel on your own?
No jacuzzi as mentioned.
Unadvertised bar and place to have a meal but, what are charges and what do they offer? - this info should be displayed, as should be room service details via phone in room.
Although looking clean and modern- the floor was already dirty with sand and dust which was not mopped the whole week we were there. Although, an insistence of coming into room to pull up bed and change towels everyday, which is unnecessary. Very sparcely furnished with no where to place clothes removed at night nor any shelf or cabinet in bathroom to place tolietries/make up etc.. If we hadnt asked for three extra chairs all this stuff would have had to be placed on dirty floor.
Pool side side chairs are badly stained and smelt of sweat. No info about trips/bike or car rental displayed. Wooden chairs on balcony in the rain mean their seats were splintered.
Very poor breakfast consisting only of sweet bread and biscuits with sweetened juice and stale burnt cold coffee. Continental usually means you are offered meat and cheese and some plain bread, along with decent filtered or espresso m/c coffee. A piece of lovely local fruit would be most welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

People stay away from this hotel couse in its advert there are just lies!
Its situated on a hill, 4 km away from the nearest shop!!! And the only way you can get there either walk or rent a car!!! but to rent a car you still got to get to the town that is 4 km away and the walk takes over 30 minutes in this red hot weather!!!
The Elevator/lift is NOT in use (there is a note that for some reason its broken!)
You CAN NOT buy there any tickets!
NO Internet access at all!!!
Multilingual staff (only 2 people out of 6 people staff speak english and no other languages than italian!)
There is NO train station pickup!!!
Fax machine only for the staff to use
There is NO On-site car rental
NO children's swimming pool! only one joined swimming pool for everyone to be used
Its NOT wheelchair accessible couse there are many steps and the lift is broken!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jessi98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Budoni
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cala Mirto
Hotel Cala Mirto
#14 of 25 in Budoni
161 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pedra Ruja
Hotel Pedra Ruja
#15 of 25 in Budoni
121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lu Baroni
Hotel Lu Baroni
#17 of 25 in Budoni
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hotel Pedra Niedda
Hotel Pedra Niedda
#22 of 25 in Budoni
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Residence Hotel Li Troni
1.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Caddu
Hotel Costa Caddu
#2 of 27 in San Teodoro
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castello

Property: Hotel Castello
Address: Localita Luddui, 08020, Budoni, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Budoni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Budoni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castello Sardinia/Budoni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing