We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Vicino da Dio” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torre di Moravola

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torre di Moravola
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Vicino da Dio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

It was hard to leave, I can tell you. The only consolation is, I will be back soon enough somehow. We became friends of "La Torre", and once you are part of the clan, there is no such thing as leaving.

What can I say more that adds to the previous comments about Moravola ? The food, the rooms, the pool, it is all more than perfection. Breakfast in the morning sun overlooking the valley was perhaps my closest moment to full enlightment in a while. The walk through the woods and the close encounter with a Hoopoo bird (or was it a common pigeon ?) made my heartbeat reach depths even my personal trainer was unable to achieve.

Anyhow, it was the mix of it all, including the wonderful dramatis personae of the constant play that goes about here. The sounds of the hard work in the kitchen, the urgent call for Francesco to come get his caffe, and the smile of Alessandra putting a bruschetta in front of me, will stick to my mind for a long time. And in just a few days we met several fascinating world travellers, so that Moravola might be aiming for the award of being the perfect hangout for Tripadvisor addicts to obtain further inspiration.

I hardly return to places I visit, but not coming back to Moravola would hurt my feelings, and perhaps also Moravola's ...

Room Tip: Go for a suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELREY123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    5
    3
    7
    0
See reviews for
13
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

I cannot say enough about our stay at Torre di Moravola. Christopher is an incredible chef and couldn't be more lovely. Seonaid is so welcoming and the ultimate host, always making sure everyone is happy, well fed and their days are planned (whether it is lazing around the pool with a glass of wine or exploring the towns of Umbria). We felt like we were guests in their home.

If you can stay there, you should stay there. It was a perfect start to our Italian adventure and we will be back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 11-robbyinnyc-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

We had a beautiful wedding at the Torre last year (the food was prepared by someone else). It's a beautiful hotel, wonderful surroundings. We had a very bad experience with the owners so, sadly, we won't be coming back to that hotel, though we will definitely be back to Montone.
The owners literally overcharged us for everything - €15 for a scoop of ice-cream anyone? They also over-promise and you find out on the day that they under deliver. We specifically told them we chose the hotel so that we can have a party the entire night - which seemed fine until 3 days before our wedding when they called us to say we had to stop the music at midnight! And then Seonaid called our caterer and every one else and told them our wedding was cancelled. You can imagine our stress! They also said there is plenty of space for parking .. there isn't!
It is a beautiful hotel and 5star in terms of the room quality and all done in good taste.
But, if you are organising your wedding there, make sure they have a licence for the catering!
We spoke to another couple who had their wedding there, and they had the same experience as ours.
On the positive side, Christopher has a lot of good taste and cooks very good meals. In fact you want to go to Torre just for him.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MonDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent a couple of nights at Moravola right after our wedding. That's probably not enough time to truly experience it's charms. The most remarkable aspects of this unique property are Seonaid and Christopher, the proprietors. Christopher is the architect, and he also cooked one of the finest meals we've ever had in Italy. Seonaid provided highly entertaining color commentary – and also made sure we were on the right path for our limited time in the area.

The space itself is an appealing counter-point to the traditionally lavish villas and hotels in surrounding areas. Seonaid and Chris took a ruin, and resurrected it as a spa-like modern space (retaining elements and character from the original structure). Minimal and somewhat spartan, you wouldn't describe the design as particularly luxurious or romantic. It is, however, beautifully done and surrounded by terraces with spectacular views and a modern infinity pool.

We'd highly recommend this detour off the beaten path. It's well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Fabulous, breathtaking, wondrous, splendid in every way. Spectacular location, incredible mix of medieval architecture with ultra-modern amenities, an infinity pool with views over the valley, incredibly friendly couple running the show, one of whom is a gourmet chef/architect to boot.

Room Tip: they're all gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedbugged99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

A highlight of my husband and I's two week stay in Italy. I can't fault Moravola in any way - it is beautiful in architecture and interior design, stark and at the same time comfortable and luxurious. We had dinner both nights of our stay and the food was absolutely perfect. The service is top-knotch: attentive yet unobtrusive. The surrounding countryside was fun to explore, the nearby villages quaint and charming. We loved our stay and would not hesitate in recommending this jewel to friends and family, and we certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the suite overlooking the entire hilltop - what a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrookMeakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My partner and I traveled with our 20 year old niece and had a lovely time. We had the luxury of having no other guests there for 2 of our 3 nights, and so had the run of the place, so to speak. We at breakfast and dinner there for our entire stay. Christopher's cooking is extraordinary. I am a vegetarian, and they cheerfully accomodated this. One night Chris even prepared a lovely Cumin Cauliflower Fritters dish from an old Yotam Ottolenghe cookbook.

It is an expensive stay, but in my estimation worth it. If cost is an issue, or you are looking for a conventional "5-star" experience, don't come here. The charm is that the place is small, intimate, and run by two interesting and slightly off-beat characters. The location is superb if you are looking to escape the masses (which we were). Yes, it is a bit of a drive from the main road, but no big deal at all, and in fact adds to the charm of the experience.

They will fix you a nice cocktail before dinner, and have a short but tasteful wine list. All around wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Study the website to determine which room best fits your needs. They are not conventionally laid ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Astilbe_Arendsii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montone
2.5 mi away
La Locanda del Capitano
2.5 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.7 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#3 of 6 in Montone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
18.2 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cardaneto
Cardaneto
#1 of 7 in Montone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre di Moravola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre di Moravola

Property: Torre di Moravola
Address: Zona Carlo, 06014 Montone, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Torre Di Moravola Hotel Montone
Torre Di Moravola Perugia
Torre Di Moravola Montone, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing