We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monotone magic”

Taverna del Verziere
Ranked #4 of 12 Restaurants in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Settled in the historical centre of the medieval village of Montone, the “Taverna del Verziere” is a delicious restaurant obtained from the old crypt of the Church of San Fedele. The strong town walls create a graceful panoramic terrace where it’s possible to dine sipping typical wines and tasty dishes. We invite you to visit Montone and our restaurant to eat typical umbrian food, cooked according to traditional recipes with genuine ingredients.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This was our second visit to this resturant. We stopped here first last year for a coffee and returned for lunch this year when we visited Montone.
It was pouring with rain on this visit but we sat under the covered veranda and enjoyed the fantastic views. The waiter was very friendly, spoke good English ( our Italian is still appalling) and was very attentive to us.
We had the sharing antipasta which was huge and delicious, lots of ham, salamis, cheeses,bruschettas and other delights. We both chose gnocchi for main course, one with cheese sauce and the other with fresh black truffles. The truffles were beyond delicious, so lucky to eat fresh truffles - highly recommended.
We moved inside for desert as the rain had got the better of us and had profiteroles absolutely covered in delicious dark chocolate sauce and Tiramisu which was really good. We chose the house red with our meal which was a good price and very nice.
We will definatly go back to this restaurant if we visit Montone again and I would recommend it to everyone.

1  Thank fms15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just spent a week in Montone and ate in this restaurant on four of the nights - we enjoyed it so much. The food was of a very high standard and the waiter most friendly and helpful although being out of season it wasn't massively busy.

The antipasti maxi had a large variety of items on it and was more than enough as a starter for all three of us - at 16 euros this was really good value. Although we did have meat dishes on the first night, having had the antipasti as a starter, we realised that this was a massive meal and for the next three nights just had a pasta dish as a main course.

There was a large wine list, all very reasonably priced.

We wouldn't hesitate to visit the restaurant again and would recommend to everyone - it really is one of the best restaurants we have eaten in during our visits to Umbria.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LGP201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed about slow Service. A group of 4 of us waited 15min with not even a menu. We had to go inside and ask for the menu. Another 10min waited again, and no one noticed our existence. We went inside again complaining to owner and once they knew we were tourists we got service. Food is OK similar to any Italian restaurants. If you have time to wait then this is the best restaurant.

Thank porscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernadelverziere, Proprietario at Taverna del Verziere, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Sorry for the slow service, unfortunately the restaurant was very busy, we always advise to booking.
The service tries to satisfy all the customers in the shortest possible time.
A small wait can be annoying, but wait 10-15 minutes is acceptable if one considers the large influx of tourists due to the celebration of Easter.
Thank you anyway for the appreciation of our food.
I encourage all prospective clients to enjoy the beautiful Umbrian landscape that can be seen from our panoramic terrace and avoid getting caught by unjustified anxiety :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were at this restaurant the same day as the review from august 16th 2013. We can confirm service was slow that day, mainly because the staff wasn't paying attention to the guests and a larger group of americans got a lot of attention. However the setting and the food made a good deal up for this in our opinion .

The view is quite scenic, partly to the town, partly over the hills. It is not as good as they claim themselves though.

For antipasti, we had an assortiment of local cheeses. Always OK. For primi, we had risotto with truffle, pasta with ragu, tagliatelle aglio e pepe and our daughter insisted on pizza (surgelated - this is mentioned on the menu). Everything fresh and nice (except the pizza of course)
We drank a local merlot with it, which was a good choice.

The rating would be 4-star had the service have been reasonable

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Exroosje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tavernadelverziere, Proprietario at Taverna del Verziere, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Thank you for your visit in our restaurant.
Sorry, it is true sometimes our service can be slow.
That day the restaurant was nearly full, there was a large group, but our service was always present and attentive with you, for us all customers are the same, we do not favoritism!
The view that can be admired from the terrace is of the valley of Montone, we have never said that it is good or bad, is subjective.
The pizza is not frozen, but made with a mold on fresh mix. I think it is incorrect to say that our pizza is frozen, this is only his opinion.
Thank you for your appreciation of the other dishes described.
Greetings to all of our Dutch friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We have been coming to Montone for 5 years and always visit this restaurant at least once. The quality of the food is very good, especially the Maxi Antipasti platter and the special Umbrian cheese platter. The service has always been friendly and attentive and this year with our (grown up) family with us it was excellent despite turning up twice without a booking.
Non meat eaters are catered for by some excellent home made pastas. We'll be back next year!

Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna del Verziere also viewed

Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 
Montone, Province of Perugia
Montone, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Taverna del Verziere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing