We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic. Italy at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda del Capitano
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic. Italy at its finest”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

What a break from reality. I had the most wonderful time staying at Locanda del Capitano. It is such a special place.
it is perfectly located to be close enough to visit many of the historical towns of Umbria and nearby Tuscany, while being able to retreat back to the picturesque village of Montone after a hard day of sightseeing to get away from it all. Seemingly untouched by outside influences, it has managed to keep its charm and beauty, I felt I really got to experience Italy as it was before the tourists arrived!
The hotel itself is lovely. Very intimate set inside one of the traditional large houses in the heart of the village, it has all them modern comforts one might need, while still keeping to the traditional style.
The owners, an incredibly friendly Italian couple, could not have been more warm and helpful. Obviously so proud of their home and its surroundings, they were able to advise on how to make the most of everything, from walks in the surrounding countryside, hidden spots in the village, to local traditions and history; often over a very mean Espresso.. or a glass of Prosecco..depending on the time of day! As they live next door it gives it all a really intimate and family appeal.
The restaurant certainly lives up to its high reputation, serving a delicious array of high class dishes, beautifully presented, all based around Umbria's finest ingredients. Giancarlo, the owner and Chef is wonderful as he explains how he got his inspiration for the dishes, and it is clear to see how passionate he is. The restaurant dining room looks so lovely in the evening, set in candle-light, with tables spilling out onto the terrace surrounded by flowers.
The rooms are kept incredibly clean and neat by the housekeeper who could not have been more helpful with anything I needed.
I could not recommend staying here more.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for the top floor, as you get a balcony and the most wonderful view over the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    14
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
23
52
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed at La Locanda for eight hectic days due to our son getting married in the area. Service was excellent and nothng was too much trouble including meals at times when the restaurant was officially closed although we did give advance warning. One advantage was that the very pleasant owners were always available with helpful advice and ideas for travel in the area which is adjacent to Assisi, Perugia and Citta del Castello. Several wedding guests also stayed at La Locanda and were equally appreciative. We would fully recommend a stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony looking over the roof tops to the very pleasant countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We know the area well as we have friends who live nearby, but had never stayed at Locanda del Capitano. We weren't disappointed, our room was great, the service was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was lovely. Montone is a beautiful village that is very well maintained and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: A friend of hours had room 8 on the 2nd floor, which had a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We stayed in the Locanda in the beautiful village of Montone. The hotel looks nice and staff is friendly, however we had a room above the kitchen and with room temperatures over 30 degrees, this was not a pleasant combination.

The hotel also comes with a great restaurant which we really can recommend, it is therefore that we did not understand that breakfast only had a croissant with jam and some yoghurt.

All and all, we have mixed feeling over the Locanda. We would give it the benefit of the doubt, especially if you go in spring, as it really melts into the nice surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique_en_Arjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My family and I spent 4 months in Italy, starting with ski-ing in the Alps and finishing sailing the Cilento Coast. We spent 9 weeks in a 600 year old farm house in Umbria, travelling to many nearby towns and citites throughout the north, Tuscany and Umbria. We dined at The hotel La Locanda del Capitano in Montone and it was exquisite. A classy establishment in a truly authentic Italian hillside village. The owners were fabulous and invited us to an Umbrian BBQ for 300 people!
If I had only a week or two and wanted a "non touristy' experience in the beautiful Italian countryside, I would certainly include La Locanda in Montone. Definitely a highlight of our trip. Ciao e buona fortunata.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mateo359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2011

we came to Montone and, as advised by a friend who is a regular here, we stayed and ate at LA LOCANDA DEL CAPITANO. The hotel is clean, charming and unique in its perfectly balanced mix of antique feel with modern amenities. Furthermore, the view from our window was simply what i had been dreamed about Italy, historic buildings and stunning countryside.. thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlespaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this review, 12 June 2011
You are very kind to write this lovely word about my hotel.
I hope to see you soon
All my best Regards
Giancarlo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Montone is one of Italy's hidden treasures, I seriously think so. I slept at La Locanda del Capitano and simply felt in love with the place at first sight. You will too, I guess. The room was the kind of room you would love to find wherever you go, clean, tidy, in tune with everything around. The hotel itself is an extremely nice building some centuries old. Staff is friendly and helpful. A perfect place I tend to recommend to everyone who asked me about central Italy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodluckserrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montone
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
529 reviews
0.9 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#2 of 6 in Montone
140 reviews
15.0 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Garden Hotel
Garden Hotel
#1 of 10 in Citta di Castello
509 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Villa San Donnino
Hotel Villa San Donnino
#8 of 10 in Citta di Castello
181 reviews
10.9 mi away
Country House Santa Felicita Paterna
Country House Santa Felicita Pat...
#2 of 10 in Citta di Castello
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Capitano

Property: La Locanda del Capitano
Address: Via Roma 5/7, 06014 Montone, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Capitano 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten bedrooms. Restored to provide the traveller with an intimate peaceful respite, La Locanda del Capitano offers its clientele ten charming bedrooms, each with private bath and all modern comforts. The bedrooms have been personally furnished by the owners with antique family furniture as well as fine reproduction pieces made by local craftsmen. After one day of discovering Umbria, the green heart of Italy, a sense of wellbeing in the pristine and unspoiled medieval lounge.As days get longer and nicer, breakfast and dinner are served on the verandas, each with unique views of the old village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Locanda del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Capitano Montone, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing