We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wedding venue, what a location, what a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda del Capitano
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We booked our wedding in Italy in a bit of a rush. Knowing nothing about Italy and with no time to spend trying out venues (as we were living in the Middle East at the time) we relied completely on the advice and taste of our wonderful wedding planner Kelly Hayes (The Italian Wedding Planner). All done online and via Skype chats, it could have been SUCH a disaster.
Our request had been pretty straightforward - friendly, small, intimate, pretty, with great food and wine and plenty of places we could visit from nearby.
When we arrived at the beautiful walled town of Montone we were overwhelmed. And then we entered Hotel La Locanda del Capitano and I felt like crying - tears of relief. The location, the decor, the ambience - all just stunning. Beautiful.
We were welcomed with such warmth and kindness by GianCarlo, his gorgeous wife Carmen and their wonderful, beautiful employee Barbara.
It's a charming hotel - elegant and homely. We were lucky enough to enjoy a gorgeous terrace with views overlooking the town, where at night men play cards while the women chat and the children play.
Giancarlo's restaurant and wonderful cooking could be done no justice by a review from someone as food ignorant as me - suffice to say it was always perfect. But for those looking for something a little simpler, or at least of a more laid-back vibe, he had just opened Tipico, a gorgeous 'cave' adjacent to the hotel where we spent the night before our big day sampling delicious local cheeses, wine and meats in the ever enjoyable company of our entertaining, knowledgable and charming host.
My husband and I are so glad that we chose this wonderful place to tie the knot. It was more than we could ever have hoped for and we would recommend anyone looking to get away for a romantic break, or to kick back with friends and enjoy good food and wine in great company, to choose this hotel as their venue.
As a location too, you're within half an hour's drive of so many beautiful places. Our parents and brother and sister-in-law were with us for the week and we were never short of places to visit and things to see. And the hotel staff are more than happy to advise you.
We hope to be spending many anniversaries back here. Thank you La Locanda del Capitano team for making it such a special week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

Our one night stay at the Hotel La Locanda del Capitano was the high-point of our two weeks in the Umbria area. -- Owner Giancarlo & his wife Carmen are kind and gracious hosts. The Inn is peaceful and romantic -- we felt like we were transported to another place in time. Giancarlo is a masterful Chef and has created a menu that brings the finest foods together with Italian tradition. We ate outside on the terrace where the sounds of church bells, and beautiful music filled the air. I look forward to the day when we can return to the beautiful village of Montone, and to Hotel La Locanda del Capitano. Truly a special place and a must see if you are in Umbria. Thank you Giancarlo and Carmen, it was our pleasure to meet you. Ciao for now. Pam & Tom Siekman

Room Tip: Just ask what they have available, and what you are looking for -- they are so accommodating that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I have visited La locanda del capitano on numerous occasions, sometimes taking a detour off the road south just to have lunch! The host and very much star of the show is Giancarlo, with his obvious passion for his craft is what has transformed this beautiful little hotel and restaurant in to somewhere exceptional!

Montone is a charming hill town and if you get a room on the top floor you will be rewarded with far reaching views over the Umbrian countryside. A few steps away from the front door Giancarlo has opened a small rustic restaurant and shop selling traditional foods and gifts for the home. Here you can enjoy a lighter bite in less formal surroundings.

The hotel is lovingly cared for, although there is no air-con they will supply you with a fan. All in all a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Top floor offers the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiie_will_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The welcome is more like arriving at a friends house. Giancarlo and his wife, Carmen, together with their friendly and efficient staff offer a stress free and relaxing stay in their charming and character filled hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and they are more like family than hoteliers. Nestling in the quiet narrow streets of beautiful Montone it was the perfect base for a family wedding. A home from home. Excellent.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Brent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This was in my opinion not a 5 star hotel by any means. The food was excellent - definitely worth 4 stars and the little town of Montone is charming and relatively free of the hoards of tourists. The hotel is nice, but simple. The breakfast is mediocre at best and the lack of tatse in the interior is everywhere (but who cares because that is not what you come here for). Being close to the square where it all happens, it can get quite noisy if you want to go to sleep before midnight and have a room on the street. To sum it up: great food in a charming little town, relatively untouched by tourism.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenGeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Sir,
our is not a 5 star hotel and we never had a claim to be.
Thank you for your words of appreciation on Montone and on our food, but we don't understand the criticisen on brekfast, usually well apreciated by our customers, italians and foreigners, as it also offers local and homemade products.
Regarding the noisy square we finally underline that Locanda del Capitano is not an hotel in the countryside but is a small, cute hotel in the heart of a small Medieval village where the transit of cars is not permitted but where the small central square is still a point of aggregation for its inhabitants and tourists: is there that people meet, talks, jokes and the children are free to plag, especially on summer evenings (for a long time to come, we hope!...).
Sincerly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

La Locanda del Capitano is a beautiful place, run with flair, and care! The restaurant (servings on the terrace in the warm weather) is wonderful. The hotel and restaurant are a total surprise. Our room had windows on both walls, one set faced a courtyard terrace, and the main window faced a set of stairs, and a small courtyard.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

What a fun place to stay! The village is small and enchanting. The owners of the hotel are wonderful. Giancarlo is quite a showman and an excellent chef--dinner was superb. I figured out that my room was outfitted as a handicapped room. There was a ramp at the doorway and the bathroom was large and would clearly be accessible to someone in a wheelchair. I'm not handicapped but I appreciated that the hotel had those provisions for people who are. I would definitely recommend this place to folks who enjoy getting a little way off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolFMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montone
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
553 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#2 of 6 in Montone
147 reviews
18.3 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#7 of 70 in Assisi
527 reviews
12.1 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
15.0 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Capitano

Address: Via Roma 5/7, 06014 Montone, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Price Range: £114 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Capitano 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten bedrooms. Restored to provide the traveller with an intimate peaceful respite, La Locanda del Capitano offers its clientele ten charming bedrooms, each with private bath and all modern comforts. The bedrooms have been personally furnished by the owners with antique family furniture as well as fine reproduction pieces made by local craftsmen. After one day of discovering Umbria, the green heart of Italy, a sense of wellbeing in the pristine and unspoiled medieval lounge.As days get longer and nicer, breakfast and dinner are served on the verandas, each with unique views of the old village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Locanda del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Capitano Montone, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing