We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda del Capitano
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel situate s in an old village and breaths a very good atmosphere. The rooms are cosy and the beds are reasonably ok. The breakfast was well organised. The attention of the hosts were accurate. I would strongly recommend this hotel to people visiting Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkyToj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

This hotel is the heart and soul staying in Montone. It is beautiful, comfortable, and the people that work there are warm and accommodating. I had the pleasure of meeting the owners GianCarlo and Carmen Ponto and in just a few small interactions came to know the reason this place is so special. It is their warmth and kindness and dedication to the town and it's people and especially their guest that will make you want to come back to Montone and stay at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drgaudioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Locanda del Capitano is perfectly located in beautiful Montone, just next to the square. It is picturesque, and excellently run by Giancarlo and Carmen, who are helpful and welcoming. Highly recommended, and make sure you eat in the restaurant too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelsKitchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The selection of the menu, wines selection, the athmosphere, the sence of hospitality, reflect the deep ancestral soul of beauty and welcome of the Italian style.
The central Italian Appenines medioeval village is an amazing surrounding for a jump to an uncommon, unthinkable past age.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank GianniB137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Our recent stay at La Locanda del Capitano was disappointing. The room was dark and dated and opened directly on to the street. Unfortunately it was the only twin room available and had no view. Others in our party had rooms with balconies and lovely views, and I felt our room in comparison was overpriced. We stayed at three other hotels in Italy at half the price in equally beautiful locations.Breakfast was disappointing with water in vacuum jugs for tea and coffee...this for 140 euros a night. We were paying for location which was lovely but the hotel was disappointing. The other Hotel Fortebraccio in Montone is much better value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gourtmatLondon, Proprietario at La Locanda del Capitano, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear traveller, It is really funny !!!! When you got in contact with us to book a room there were no rooms available in our hotel and we helped you to find an accomodation in one apartment .The apartment was obviously not under our management and propriety, we were only the contact between you and the owner . We helped you because we knew that you had to join a wedding close to montone and your friends , that had booked long time before you , would stay at locanda del Capitano. This was also the reason why we offer you our breakfast , in which there is not only the american coffee requested by they group but also our espresso, cappuccino and all the our rich buffet .All our best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in transit from Rome to Tuscany to attend a wedding. This is a small boutique hotel with an excellent restaurant. The husband (chef) and wife (front of house) team and their staff made us very welcome. Our room was clean, comfortable and well presented. Our only regret was that the restaurant was closed on one of the nights - our loss! Chef Giancarlo went out of his way to make some recommendations for local places to visit and a colleagues restaurant in another town - a great meal and a fun experience. Montone itself is a pretty little hilltop village and we enjoyed our short stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angus_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This hotel is in a walled medieval Italian town, overlooking a beautiful valley. The town is quiet with tiny cobbled streets and great views.The hotel is exquisite and the service of the highest quality. Giancarlo is passionate about food and a great chef. The wine list is superb. A great place to visit for a special occasion, we will be going back there this summer.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montone
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
562 reviews
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#2 of 6 in Montone
148 reviews
12.1 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
561 reviews
7.8 mi away
Residenza Antica Canonica
Residenza Antica Canonica
#5 of 10 in Citta di Castello
154 reviews
18.3 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Capitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Capitano

Address: Via Roma 5/7, 06014 Montone, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Price Range: £87 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Capitano 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only ten bedrooms. Restored to provide the traveller with an intimate peaceful respite, La Locanda del Capitano offers its clientele ten charming bedrooms, each with private bath and all modern comforts. The bedrooms have been personally furnished by the owners with antique family furniture as well as fine reproduction pieces made by local craftsmen. After one day of discovering Umbria, the green heart of Italy, a sense of wellbeing in the pristine and unspoiled medieval lounge.As days get longer and nicer, breakfast and dinner are served on the verandas, each with unique views of the old village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your La Locanda del Capitano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Capitano Montone, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing