We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect spot”
Review of San Martino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montone
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
San Martino
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent a week at San Martino in June 2013. Our only regret is that we didn't stay for longer. The house is well located for day trips throughout Umbria and certain places in Tuscany such as Siena are also doable as a day trip. San Martino itself is a wonderful place, very relaxing and the local village Montone is charming and unspoilt. Ben and Linda are excellent hosts and can give tips on what to see and do locally. Our apartment (Anna) was very well appointed, everything you need to self-cater. We had spent our previous week in Florence in a self catering apartment which was not so we appreciated it all the more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMcGregor_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

I can only rave about the beauty and comfort of this place. The owners have made the appartments, ours and others' we were able to see, and the garden with pool area into a true home from home which accommodates all tastes. Also, we have never come across such a well and thoughtfully equipped appartment.

Apart from all necessary utensils and more, a welcome pack awaits with all first food to start with, plus coffee, tea, the olive oil from their own trees, and all other condiments that one always buys too much of and then has to throw out when leaving on a flight.

The setting of the house with its individual terraces for each appartment and the generous pool surrounded by its luscious garden, vinyard, olive trees, each have beautiful views of the Umbrian hills and valleys. We feel the appartments are very resonably priced for whats on offer.

It irks me that I read one obviously fake 'poor' rating here in Italian which makes up flowery stories of "camarere", waiters, of which there are obviously none. This is not a hotel. The appartments are self-catering, and apart from the owners Ben and Linda, there is no one. (How can it be that this has been allowed in the ratings??) There is only care, comfort and otherwise space to enjoy a truly relaxing holiday. I would definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We spent almost two weeks in San Martino in July 2013. The place is truly relaxing and idyllic, peaceful and well kept. Nature is close to you, and the starry nights and fireflies...
Linda and Ben took care of us and shared their knowledge and advice.
Within 1 hour of drive there dozens of magnificent medieval cities and villages worth visiting and exploring. Umbrian climate is pleasant even in July.
We would definitely go again!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We enjoyed one of our best and most relaxing family holidays ever at San Martino, where we rented the lovely 'Anna' apartment for two weeks from 28th July - 11th August. Set on top of a hill with slopes lined with fruit trees, olive trees and vines, San Martino has stunning views across the valley and up to the pretty local village of Montone with its beautifully steep and winding streets and a range of restaurants to suit most pockets. The large pool is surrounded by masses of lavender, covered in butterfiles and bees. It has the advantage of being only about 1.5m deep throughout its length, making it ideal for those with younger children. The apartment has been very comfortably and tastefully fitted out, and Anna's two en suite shower rooms were very convenient for a family with two teenagers who take an age to get ready. Owners Ben and Linda could not have been warmer or friendlier hosts and we spent a good deal of time chatting to them. Linda's daugther Zoe cooked for us twice, once for just our family and once for a larger group of San Martino's guests, serving up delicious food on both occasions for a very reasonable price, including an excellent Thai meal. Montone is very well placed for trips out to some of the wonderful towns within easy reach in both Umbria and Tuscany. We are already planning a repeat visit next summer, like so many other guests who have become regulars of this gorgeous retreat. Even our teenagers are up for it. We cannot recommend it highly enough. Many thanks to Ben and Linda for being friendly and thoughtful but unobtrusive hosts, and to Zoe for the great cooking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SitaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Umbria. We stayed in this gorgeous location for 10 nights and had a truly relaxing and pleasant holiday. Ben and Linda were lovely hosts who seemed to have endless patience in talking to our very inquisitive daughter! We had the pleasure of Zoe's fantastic cooking - a true Italian Sunday lunch (which lasted all afternoon) and a fantastic Thai dinner, both really tasty and excellent value! We'd all recommend a stay here (my 8 year year old especially!) especially if you want fantastic views, a lovely welcome and a real home feel. Thanks Ben, Linda and Zoe for helping us to enjoy ourselves in your fantastic property.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We stayed for one week in the "Anna" apartment in late May 2012 and it was a wonderful experience that we will remember for years. After 3 days in Rome, we were ready for the peaceful countryside of Umbria and "San Martino" surpassed our expectations.

The location was only a short 10 minute drive off the E45 highway - be sure to follow the written instructions and the map because the address is not on GPS. The final road up the hill is a very steep winding single-lane path that must be climbed carefully in 1st gear.

Ben made is feel right at home immediately (Linda was away for that week so Zoe filled in and served the al-fresco Sunday lunch). We highly recommend the 5 or 6-course Sunday lunch which was one of the highlights of our stay. Usually everyone eats together in Italian family style but in our case the other couples had different plans so we were served on our own patio overlooking the valley. The lunch was really special and well worth the charge.

The view of the green valley, and the hilltop medieval walled town of Montone was fantastic. The Montone church bell tolled the time in the distance every 15 minutes.
The rooms were comfortably furnished with lots of reading material. The bathroom was modern and well-lit and the kitchen was fully equipped with a gas range. The pool was very clean (if a little cool even by Canadian standards!) and the pool deck area was beautifully landscaped with flowers and lavender. One evening after dusk we observed all hundreds of fireflies in the hills around the pool.

We visited Montone several times. We found several good and restaurants there with reasonable prices and very friendly - in particular Taverna del Verziere and Erba Luna.

The Coop in Umbertide was 15 minutes away and proved to be the best place to find a good selection of groceries, supplies and really inexpensive wines.

We visited some other area towns including Gubbio and Citerna which were both excellent.

We look forward to returning some day and highly recommend the "San Martino Villa Apartments" to any couple or family looking for a wonderful quiet vacation in the hills of Umbria.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBlues-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stunning views, location and restfulness. Superb location for relaxing, very spacious and comfortable accommodation, private and yet sociable. Lovely town up the mountain with nice bars and some good restaurants. Good hosts, and nice facilities.Good amenities nearby and well located for Umbria and Tuscany. Many thanks.

Room Tip: Anna is a great villa for two couples. Two lovely rooms, both with en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank therewasthisonetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montone hotels
3.3 mi away
Hotel Fortebraccio
Hotel Fortebraccio
#1 of 6 in Montone
569 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Locanda del Capitano
3.8 mi away
Agriturismo Acquacalda
Agriturismo Acquacalda
#2 of 6 in Montone
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
56 mi away
Cardaneto
Cardaneto
#1 of 7 in Montone
15 reviews
3.7 mi away
La Pietra Rara
La Pietra Rara
#2 of 7 in Montone
52 reviews
3 mi away
Countryhouse L'Ariete
Countryhouse L'Ariete
#4 of 7 in Montone
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Martino

Address: Via Carpini Sopra 2, Montone, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Montone
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Montone
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
San Martino Montone, Italy - Province Of Perugia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing