We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good news or bad news first?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good news or bad news first?”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Okay, good first. The staff were all a delight, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, so many choices (Shhh! Don't tell anyone, but we used to take a roll and a doughnut out under our hats for lunch later). The pools and the golf course looked splendid, although we used neither. The whole hotel looks good and is wonderfully lacking in graffiti - unlike everything else in the area!

The bad? First, its location - nothing nearby worth walking to, only shop is the local minimarket half a mile away. We used the buses which were frequent. Costa da Caparica is a small resort with a few touristy shops and restaurants and a first class beach, especially for surfers. Bus fare 2.40 euros per person each way.
Lisbon is almost an hour bus + ferry journey away. Combined fare about 9.40 euros per person each way.
Back to the hotel - the room was disappointing. Like almost half the hotel rooms it faced north, meaning the balcony did not get the sun at any time of day! (although that actually cost us nothing because the sun hardly bothered to peep through the clouds while we were there). Also it had no view, all we could see was the white wall of an adjacent wing.
We dined in the hotel for our first night. It cost 22.50 euros each and was a buffet inclusive of wine. That was just one glass for me, but my partner managed to get a second poured because she drank faster than me. There was a small salad bar for starter and some tepid soup. A couple of luke warm main dishes, pork stuffed with prunes and another dish with something unpleasant which I enquired about and was told was octopus. There were also two or three sloppy desserts like creme brulee and creme caramel, but previous customers had left them in a bit of a mixed up mess. All in all, not worth the money and we didn't dine there again.

Room Tip: 201-211, 301-318, and probably the lower numbers on other floors are north facing and sunless. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denizen293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We will copy your message with your complains to the department involved.
Hope to see you soon in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    221
    130
    63
    36
See reviews for
144
262
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Hotel. a BIG thanks to the Hotel team, they were all very polite, helpful and nice. A special thanks to Mario which been very helpful and friendly during our stay. Overall the location is very good. Golf park is great. Breakfast is fantastic. rooms are clean and spacious.

Room Tip: To go to Lisbon City by car 10/15min - walking distance to the beach is about 20min - Big parking (f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very glad that all was ok.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badajoz, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

STAFF: They are really friendly. You can always see a smile from them! The best of the hotel.

LOCATION: it is not very good. You need a vehicle if you want to reach the beach (10 minutes). It is very good if you just want to stay at the hotel (golf, swimming pools..etc.)

PARKING: Free and big enough.

ROOM: Clean, no noise, big enough. I have uploaded some pictures that allows you to have a good idead about how it is. Flat TV.

FOOD: Great variety and really good!

FACILITIES: I didnt play gold, so i have no opinion about that. Spa was good (jacuzzi, sauna, and turkish bath). I didnt go to the gym since i had no time, but i watched it and it really surprised me: it was really really good for a hotel. Don't forget about a cap and slippers for the swimming pool (otherwise, you will have to buy them)

INTERNET: the worst mark!!! I need internet along the day and couldnt believe that you have to pay for it. It's free in the hall (although I couldn't connect with my laptop or mobile) and 24 hours along your whole stay are free in your room BUT: only one device can use it (so forget about laptop and mobile or table at the same time) and you have to worry all the time about not to forget disconnect your internet connection whenever you are not surfing (24 hours is a really short time for a whole stay). I guess that since the hotel is far from the beach, they try to offer other alternatives in order to let you stay at the hotel and don't miss the beach...so I just cant understand why they try to charge you for internet...it should be free all the time.

Honestly, location and internet are some of the issues that would lead me to look for other options if I go back to caparica.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanish85traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We will copy your message with your complains to the department involved.
Hope to see you soon in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I spent 3 nights here on a work trip. I have been in Almada many times, but it was my first time at this hotel. This hotel is a little bit far from everything in Almada, thus I suggest you to avoid it if you do not go there for playing golf and if you do not have a car.
Already at reservation I had some problems, as the contact person never answered to my email and I had to get in touch with the conference organizer, who took care of making the booking for me and 2 of my colleagues.
The hotel is very big, but has only 3 floors and our rooms were at ground level, thus we asked if it was possible to move to a higher floor. The person at the reception desk seemed helpful and asked us to wait a little bit for the room to be changed..."only" 40 minutes later we were given our rooms!
We had 3 apartments that had a beautiful view, but unfortuately the heating system didn't work and rooms were really cold, the bathroom looked dirty and some parts were covered with rust.
Breakfast was good, but not that much, and the hotel has a very "rigid policy" on the payment for it...while I was having breakfast one of my Portuguese colleagues (who obviously had not a room at the hotel) entered the reastaurant for greeting me, with a waiter who was litterally running after him, shouting and pulling him by an arm for verifying whether he had paid for the breakfast or not. It was a very annoying thing and it is not acceptable for a 4* hotel (actually not even for a hostel!).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will send your message to the departments involved so we can do it better in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa da Caparica hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This is a beautiful hotel situated in a serene surrounding. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The Spa and gym are quite good. There is wifi in communal areas. The bar is nice and happy hour is def worth checking out.

If you are staying here, go for the halfboard / full board package. Works out value for money and your nearest restaurant is a taxi ride away. The food is decent. Unfortunately labeling is quite poor, which was a struggle for me as a vegetarian.

The beach is also a taxi ride away.Will cost under 10 euros each way.

The rooms are nice with all modern cons. The entire hotel has the same temp control, which means you have little control over how hot or cold your room can get. Just a minor bother.

Would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balamuruhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We will considerate it in the future.
We hope to see you back soon.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zielona Gora, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We spent 3 days and had great time. Rooms are quite large and spacious.

Personnel is friendly and helpful, however there was a small problem with Internet - we were told that it was not included in the price, while the reservation (at booking.com) told something different. Finally, it all went well, but we have to show the reservation proof (so better print and keep it).

The hotel itself is located in a very nice and calm area. It is very close to the market, so you can buy cold drinks there as well as hot chickens - really tasty!

Unfortunately, the beach is far away, so you have to take a bus to get there.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remikw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa da Caparica, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Spent a weekend in this hotel while looking for a flat in the area. At a good price it turned out to be a pleasant stay. The hotel is a recent build with a modern, comfy look and very well located - it has a great view over the ocean and the local town. Personnel is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis_FFigueiredo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa da Caparica
0.8 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
128 reviews
5.7 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
20.4 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residencial Mar e Sol
Residencial Mar e Sol
#2 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Praia do Sol
Hotel Praia do Sol
#6 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residencial Colibri
Hotel Residencial Colibri
#4 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa

Property: Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Address: Largo Aldeia dos Capuchos | Capuchos, Costa da Caparica 2825-017, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town of Vila dos Capuchos, on the Costa Caparica, 20 kilometres to the south of Lisbon and provides magnificent ocean views. Only 20 minutes from Lisbon Airport, 10 minutes from centre of Lisbon and 3km from the beaches at Costa da Caparica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aldeia Dos Capuchos Golf Hotel Lisbon
Melia Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing