We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good .... a few constructive criticisms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Cambs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mostly good .... a few constructive criticisms.”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a suite at the hotel and it was great. We had two bedrooms with an additional living area and kitchenette. The rooms were very clean and well-appointed and the west-facing balcony was lovely. The hotel staff were (mostly) very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. The pool was perfect and people were very respectful .... no drunken swimmers or people staying up making noise all night.

We have a few constructive criticisms to make. First the hotel desperately needs a proper restaurant where families can sit down and order from a menu. The buffet was probably great .... but at 30 Euros a head (come on!!!), with no discount for children this wasn’t good for us. There was a sushi restaurant. What????? This is Portugal. If we want to eat sushi we’d go to Japan or find a Japanese restaurant back home. In Portugal we wish to dine on Portuguese/European food! The bar snacks were good but most days we ate out ..... this is money we would have happily spent at the hotel.

The bar area in the foyer was often full so on a couple of nights that we wished to sit there and have a drink we couldn’t. I asked the staff at the front desk to find some extra seats. This apparently wasn’t possible. Come on! Show some initiative .... you have paying customers.

We also asked at the desk if there was a local supermarket .... and were told no, we would have to get a taxi to town. A couple of days later we enquired (with another staff member) where the supermarket was ..... and it turned out there was one just 5 minutes walk away!! I think some staff need a little more training as to where local facilities are?

The front desk was annoying. The staff were very helpful but the desk was nearly always undermanned, with long queues forming. We waited about 20 minutes to check in ..... far too long for a hotel with this star rating. To make matters worse you could see staff members hovering in the background .... why didn’t they pay attention and help their overworked colleagues?

Finally, it is advisable to hire a car if you don’t have transport. Buses are not as cheap as you might think. Taxis are okay but we were overcharged on our ride from the airport – the driver asked for 68 euros, it should have been 35 or 40 euros. Beware! Always agree a price in advance. You cannot easily walk down to the town/beach from the hotel as there are no pavements next to the roads! If you don’t like being dependent on public transport get a hire car ... the hotel can recommend a very good local hire car firm and organise delivery of a car to the door.

Overall a positive experience. If the hotel had a proper restaurant we would visit again.

Room Tip: Executive suite ...... west facing, see the sunset every evening ...... perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We will copy your message with your complains to the department involved.
Hope to see you soon in the future.
Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    218
    127
    63
    35
See reviews for
143
258
14
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Spain
Level Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My partner and I have been visiting this beautifully located hotel for over five years now and have refrained from saying so before - but feel the need to report the sad decline in standards. Hopefully someone from the management team will take note and actually do something to bring this place back to what it once was and could easily be again.
This time when we arrived, we found that our room(with a kitchen), although allegedly ready for us, still had the remnants of the last guests. There were pizza boxes in the kitchen cupboards and left over food in the kitchen. Much as this situation was quickly and apologetically rectified. The overall standard of cleanliness has definitely declined. There remained moulding around the bath, light bulbs not working, the balcony was dusty(indeed unusable until we cleaned it ourselves). For a hotel which rates itself as a luxury hotel, these kind of things are in my opinion unacceptable.
We opted for breakfast on this trip and will certainly not be planning on doing so again. The fried eggs at 08:00 looked like they may have been in the heating lamp over night and appeared to be made of rubber, certainly not edible(breakfast is 07:00 - 10:00). The fruit offerings apart from two natural fruits, were all from tins, really not good enough. We have stayed in many lesser rated hotels and had much superior food and overall service.
I don't wish to be totally negative about this place as I love coming here. But please can some of you do your jobs and get this place back up to standard. I have recommended this hotel to others in the past, but would be hesitant to do so at the moment. I look forward to seeing what improvements might be made and soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us.
We will copy your message with your complains to the departments involved.
Hope to see you again in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scramoge, Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

The hotel itself is well maintained. Rooms are nice and comfortable.

Stayed in this hotel the beginning of June for one week. Weather was not good. Very little to do. It appears to be more a hotel for coach stopovers. Breakfast can be challenging when there are several coach tours in at once. Restaurant does not have the capacity to deal with such a mad rush.

There is no entertainment whatsoever in this hotel. The so called Gourmet Restaurant "Diamonds" leaves alot to be desired. The food was of poor quality, cheap meat cuts, very little selection and well over priced. Waiting staff attended to Portugese guests with a more efficent service than to non-portugese.

On my last evening I ordered chips and nuggets from room service. I got 5 over cooked dried out nuggets and a few scrawny chips for I think €11. Whar a rip off.

I got a special deal for this hotel, what I would consider a bargain. I would not pay the full price for this hotel. It does not have the facilities to class itself as a 4 star hotel. Yes it is nice, but not 4 star.

Room Tip: For seaviews choose rooms from the third floor and higher. You will pay extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We will copy your message with your complains to the department involved.
Hope to see you soon in the future
Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Nice stay in this hotel! The staff is nice and the place is quite big. Food at the restaurant was quite nice and had plenty of choices, even for a lactose intolerant as me.
The spa was a relaxing experience apart for having to way almost 20min for my appointment.
Overall I recommend it to anyone who want to have a relaxed time near Caparica.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BanasAraujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very glad that all was ok.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Okay, good first. The staff were all a delight, friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent, so many choices (Shhh! Don't tell anyone, but we used to take a roll and a doughnut out under our hats for lunch later). The pools and the golf course looked splendid, although we used neither. The whole hotel looks good and is wonderfully lacking in graffiti - unlike everything else in the area!

The bad? First, its location - nothing nearby worth walking to, only shop is the local minimarket half a mile away. We used the buses which were frequent. Costa da Caparica is a small resort with a few touristy shops and restaurants and a first class beach, especially for surfers. Bus fare 2.40 euros per person each way.
Lisbon is almost an hour bus + ferry journey away. Combined fare about 9.40 euros per person each way.
Back to the hotel - the room was disappointing. Like almost half the hotel rooms it faced north, meaning the balcony did not get the sun at any time of day! (although that actually cost us nothing because the sun hardly bothered to peep through the clouds while we were there). Also it had no view, all we could see was the white wall of an adjacent wing.
We dined in the hotel for our first night. It cost 22.50 euros each and was a buffet inclusive of wine. That was just one glass for me, but my partner managed to get a second poured because she drank faster than me. There was a small salad bar for starter and some tepid soup. A couple of luke warm main dishes, pork stuffed with prunes and another dish with something unpleasant which I enquired about and was told was octopus. There were also two or three sloppy desserts like creme brulee and creme caramel, but previous customers had left them in a bit of a mixed up mess. All in all, not worth the money and we didn't dine there again.

Room Tip: 201-211, 301-318, and probably the lower numbers on other floors are north facing and sunless. The s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denizen293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We will copy your message with your complains to the department involved.
Hope to see you soon in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a fantastic stay at the Hotel. a BIG thanks to the Hotel team, they were all very polite, helpful and nice. A special thanks to Mario which been very helpful and friendly during our stay. Overall the location is very good. Golf park is great. Breakfast is fantastic. rooms are clean and spacious.

Room Tip: To go to Lisbon City by car 10/15min - walking distance to the beach is about 20min - Big parking (f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very glad that all was ok.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badajoz, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

STAFF: They are really friendly. You can always see a smile from them! The best of the hotel.

LOCATION: it is not very good. You need a vehicle if you want to reach the beach (10 minutes). It is very good if you just want to stay at the hotel (golf, swimming pools..etc.)

PARKING: Free and big enough.

ROOM: Clean, no noise, big enough. I have uploaded some pictures that allows you to have a good idead about how it is. Flat TV.

FOOD: Great variety and really good!

FACILITIES: I didnt play gold, so i have no opinion about that. Spa was good (jacuzzi, sauna, and turkish bath). I didnt go to the gym since i had no time, but i watched it and it really surprised me: it was really really good for a hotel. Don't forget about a cap and slippers for the swimming pool (otherwise, you will have to buy them)

INTERNET: the worst mark!!! I need internet along the day and couldnt believe that you have to pay for it. It's free in the hall (although I couldn't connect with my laptop or mobile) and 24 hours along your whole stay are free in your room BUT: only one device can use it (so forget about laptop and mobile or table at the same time) and you have to worry all the time about not to forget disconnect your internet connection whenever you are not surfing (24 hours is a really short time for a whole stay). I guess that since the hotel is far from the beach, they try to offer other alternatives in order to let you stay at the hotel and don't miss the beach...so I just cant understand why they try to charge you for internet...it should be free all the time.

Honestly, location and internet are some of the issues that would lead me to look for other options if I go back to caparica.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanish85traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We will copy your message with your complains to the department involved.
Hope to see you soon in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa da Caparica
0.8 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residencial Mar e Sol
Residencial Mar e Sol
#2 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.7 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Praia do Sol
Hotel Praia do Sol
#6 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
20.5 mi away
Aqualuz Suite Hotel Apartamentos
20.4 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa

Property: Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Address: Largo Aldeia dos Capuchos | Capuchos, Costa da Caparica 2825-017, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town of Vila dos Capuchos, on the Costa Caparica, 20 kilometres to the south of Lisbon and provides magnificent ocean views. Only 20 minutes from Lisbon Airport, 10 minutes from centre of Lisbon and 3km from the beaches at Costa da Caparica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aldeia Dos Capuchos Golf Hotel Lisbon
Melia Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing