We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service...”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Melia providing high quality standarts worlwide. I was expecting to see those standarts, but in fact...
Room wasnt clean properly and i am wondering if they are using cemicals for cleaning??? In total room is awerage, but good things you have fully equipment kitchen and modern apartments.
Breakfast is average ok,but if you come at 10 you have to work hard to find cup for coffe or spoon and etc..
Specially I want to tell about waiters service at breakfast - they just laughing and discussed between each other every guest. Some waiters were eating breakfast together with guests.
I think its just not acceptable!
Reception work perfect- everything you need information you can get fast and exhaustively.
Hotel is very nice and location is good,but unfortunately poor service is making feel terribly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will send your message to the departments involved so we can do it better in the future.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    224
    133
    63
    38
See reviews for
145
267
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Its a four star hotel with good services but the room need some improvements, in the bathroom. I loved the breakfast but all days was the same food, they need more variety. Global i liled and i recommend the price was not very expensive. And a major in your choice, the hotel have indoor pool amd spa included in the price of the room.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TiagoGomes171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will send your message to the departments involved so we can do it better in the future.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belgium
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We went there with a group of golfers for a week, we arrived late, the check in took forever because there was only 1 person to do the check in at that time, around 8 in the evening. Finally we could go to our room but directly we had to go for dinner, otherwise the restaurant would be closed. When we came in the restaurant.....well i don't know how to say it....there was only 1 small buffet! So it didn't take long to pick something because there was no choice! We had 2 big tables and all you could hear at that time were complaints about the food, not a good start of our week!! The breakfast should be better we heard.... it was better yes, it least you could find anything you would like for breakfast. The golfcourse was good, it was only 9 holes but pleasant an d the weather was good. To eat something for lunch was....i don't have words for it, we went to the golfbar and ordered but it took about an hour to get the food which was cold and far from good!
Now the rooms were fine but not that clean, the minibar, which was empty by the way, was dirty, leftovers from the previous guests! I don't find that acceptable!!! There was a cleaning service every day but they did cut the corners! At least on the 5th floor....
Our week wasn't bad because we were there to golf but the food could be a lot better! It could be a nice hotel because they have everything, 2^pools inside and out, wellness, gym, golfcourse.....I really hope they will improve the service!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will send your message to the departments involved so we can do it better in the future.

Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Excellent hotel, one of the best I have stayed at. The rooms have a kitchen and a living area, everything is very clean. We stayed in a room facing the sea, so we had a great view from the balcony. We stayed here on Valentine's day (weekend) and everything was very romantic. The staff was kind. The hotel restaurant is very good, as well as the breakfast. There is parking out side the hotel. 10min drive to the beach in Costa da Caparica. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianaForbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thanks for your opinion. This is very important for us.
We are very glad that all was ok.
Hope to see you soon

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Münchendorf
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have to confess that I know this hotel since several years and have used it frequently for me an my staff. So I made an special agreement with the management. The responsible sales manager need two or three reminding emails until you may get an answer. Requests for reservations are not answered in time or bookings are not done. Last time I ordered two suites but only one was available. Come on - that is no standard. And happened already twice. Ok - it is high season - but is the management on holidays too? At the reception there are still queues as I noticed also last year. Even in the quiet season they let you just wait and some of the staff members are really unfriendly too!
The room cleaning was unsufficient. In the kitchen and bathrooms we found uncleaned stuff. In the living room we have had a non ordered bed blocking all the space. It wasn´t removed during our short stay.
The restaurant I know already from last year and I don´t use it anymore. It delivers no relation between quality and price. Any fishermen place at the coastal area of Trafaria or Porto Brandao would be better and affordable even with Taxi. The breakfast was of average hotel standard but only if you are an early bird. In peak hours tables and stuff are running out. The bar area is still in the Lobby and by far too small for high season.
The Spa and fitness area was ok so far.
For me that hotel is only interesting because of my nearby business. For golfers it may also be nice. For families and vacations - there is the pool - but the nice beaches of Costa Caparica are miles away!
The last years I recognised a severe drop in service quality and performance. I´m shocked about unsufficient cleaning. It was just another piece in this puzzle that I caught a huge cockroach in the cellars underneath the restaurant area on the way to the outside pool.
I´m considering to take another hotel for my next stay.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors, only a few rooms have fronts towards west and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beywinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us.
We are very sorry that you have those problems, we will do our best to do it better in the future.
We will copy your message with your complains to the departments involved.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Costa da Caparica hotels

Cambs
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a suite at the hotel and it was great. We had two bedrooms with an additional living area and kitchenette. The rooms were very clean and well-appointed and the west-facing balcony was lovely. The hotel staff were (mostly) very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. The pool was perfect and people were very respectful .... no drunken swimmers or people staying up making noise all night.

We have a few constructive criticisms to make. First the hotel desperately needs a proper restaurant where families can sit down and order from a menu. The buffet was probably great .... but at 30 Euros a head (come on!!!), with no discount for children this wasn’t good for us. There was a sushi restaurant. What????? This is Portugal. If we want to eat sushi we’d go to Japan or find a Japanese restaurant back home. In Portugal we wish to dine on Portuguese/European food! The bar snacks were good but most days we ate out ..... this is money we would have happily spent at the hotel.

The bar area in the foyer was often full so on a couple of nights that we wished to sit there and have a drink we couldn’t. I asked the staff at the front desk to find some extra seats. This apparently wasn’t possible. Come on! Show some initiative .... you have paying customers.

We also asked at the desk if there was a local supermarket .... and were told no, we would have to get a taxi to town. A couple of days later we enquired (with another staff member) where the supermarket was ..... and it turned out there was one just 5 minutes walk away!! I think some staff need a little more training as to where local facilities are?

The front desk was annoying. The staff were very helpful but the desk was nearly always undermanned, with long queues forming. We waited about 20 minutes to check in ..... far too long for a hotel with this star rating. To make matters worse you could see staff members hovering in the background .... why didn’t they pay attention and help their overworked colleagues?

Finally, it is advisable to hire a car if you don’t have transport. Buses are not as cheap as you might think. Taxis are okay but we were overcharged on our ride from the airport – the driver asked for 68 euros, it should have been 35 or 40 euros. Beware! Always agree a price in advance. You cannot easily walk down to the town/beach from the hotel as there are no pavements next to the roads! If you don’t like being dependent on public transport get a hire car ... the hotel can recommend a very good local hire car firm and organise delivery of a car to the door.

Overall a positive experience. If the hotel had a proper restaurant we would visit again.

Room Tip: Executive suite ...... west facing, see the sunset every evening ...... perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank APJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us as we always try to do it better.
We will copy your message with your complains to the department involved.
Hope to see you soon in the future.
Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sitges, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My partner and I have been visiting this beautifully located hotel for over five years now and have refrained from saying so before - but feel the need to report the sad decline in standards. Hopefully someone from the management team will take note and actually do something to bring this place back to what it once was and could easily be again.
This time when we arrived, we found that our room(with a kitchen), although allegedly ready for us, still had the remnants of the last guests. There were pizza boxes in the kitchen cupboards and left over food in the kitchen. Much as this situation was quickly and apologetically rectified. The overall standard of cleanliness has definitely declined. There remained moulding around the bath, light bulbs not working, the balcony was dusty(indeed unusable until we cleaned it ourselves). For a hotel which rates itself as a luxury hotel, these kind of things are in my opinion unacceptable.
We opted for breakfast on this trip and will certainly not be planning on doing so again. The fried eggs at 08:00 looked like they may have been in the heating lamp over night and appeared to be made of rubber, certainly not edible(breakfast is 07:00 - 10:00). The fruit offerings apart from two natural fruits, were all from tins, really not good enough. We have stayed in many lesser rated hotels and had much superior food and overall service.
I don't wish to be totally negative about this place as I love coming here. But please can some of you do your jobs and get this place back up to standard. I have recommended this hotel to others in the past, but would be hesitant to do so at the moment. I look forward to seeing what improvements might be made and soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guestexperienceCapuc, Gerente de relações públicas at Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thanks for your opinion, this is very important for us.
We will copy your message with your complains to the departments involved.
Hope to see you again in the future.

Melia Aldeia dos Capuchos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa da Caparica
0.8 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
142 reviews
20.4 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
5.7 mi away
Evidencia Belverde Atitude Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Praia do Sol
Hotel Praia do Sol
#6 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Residencial Colibri
Hotel Residencial Colibri
#3 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
73 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel do Mar
Hotel do Mar
#3 of 7 in Sesimbra
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa

Property: Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Address: Largo Aldeia dos Capuchos | Capuchos, Costa da Caparica 2825-017, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa Hotel is located in the historic town of Vila dos Capuchos, on the Costa Caparica, 20 kilometres to the south of Lisbon and provides magnificent ocean views. Only 20 minutes from Lisbon Airport, 10 minutes from centre of Lisbon and 3km from the beaches at Costa da Caparica. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aldeia Dos Capuchos Golf Hotel Lisbon
Melia Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing