We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value hotel for a short break or beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residencial Mar e Sol
Certificate of Excellence
Sennen Cove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great Value hotel for a short break or beach holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

We went over for a long weekend to attend a nearby music event and wanted a hotel near to a beach. This hotel was just ideal from the moment we got there.
Our expectations were modest as the hotel appeared quite simple from what we had read before travel, and the cost was very reasonable (about 50Euros per night). We were very pleasantly suprised. The welcome was very friendly, and staff remained that way throughout. We has a smallish simple en-suite double room which had all the essentials, including TV, fridge (with mini-bar) and in room safe. The Air-con was excellent and the maid kept it to its best.
For us the unexpected highlight was the breakfast, included in the room rate, excellent continental style.
The hotel was in the centre of town only a few minutes walk to the beach and near all the bars and restaurants. Parking nearby was easy enough. The beach at Costa da Caparica has to be the areas biggest attraction, very long and easy underfoot for strolling.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would certainly consider the Mar e Sol should we return to the area. We often pay plenty & stay 5* in the lap of luxury, that isn't what that this hotel or trip was about but in our view it was great value and entirely acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil&Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    59
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
15
71
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Great value hotel, clean and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and the customer service was excellent. The room was very nice and clean. I was really impressed with the quality of accomodation considering the price.
The breakfast is one of the best I have had in any hotel. This hotel really made my holiday.
Highly recommended, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityBreaker_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

So, the rooms aren't big but do you really want to stay in your room all day even if it's raining? I just want to be able to sleep well, the beds are comfortable and there's a fridge to keep your drinks cold. There's a communal sitting area with a tv and computer downstairs too where you can order a coffee or a bottle of wine.
We've stayed 3 times in this hotel. It's close to a great beach and has easy access to Lisbon. You get a lovely breakfast, it's clean and the staff are very friendly, it's excellent value for money.
There are some good bars and restaurants along the boardwalk in Costa Caparica as well as the 7km of beach.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everton61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2008

I stayed at this hotel for four nights while at a conference. It has free wireless, an excellent breakfast (all included in the very low price) and though the rooms are all functional they are neatly decorated.

The staff are very friendly and the location (5 minutes from the beach) though on the main thoroughfare (Rua de Pescares) is quiet and the beds wonderfully hard.

This is the best hotel I've stayed in for €35 per night!

  • Liked — Small and intimate
  • Disliked — Shower / Bath had no plug or shower hook
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Costa da Caparica
0.6 mi away
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
Aldeia dos Capuchos Golf & Spa
#1 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
TRYP Lisboa Caparica Mar Hotel
#5 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praia do Sol
Hotel Praia do Sol
#6 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residencial Colibri
Hotel Residencial Colibri
#3 of 6 in Costa da Caparica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.9 mi away
Mercure Lisboa Almada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Mar e Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Mar e Sol

Property: Residencial Mar e Sol
Address: Rua dos Pescadores 42, Costa da Caparica 2825-387, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Costa da Caparica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Costa da Caparica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residencial Mar e Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residencial Mar e Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing