We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, especially for children with respiratory problems + they have a free charge point for EV”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Svoboda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Svoboda Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strunjan
Domzale, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, especially for children with respiratory problems + they have a free charge point for EV”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visit this hotel quite often, especially during the winter time to get out of the smog of the city and for our daughter to swim in pools of warm sea water. The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful scenery, sea and trees, clean air, which also makes it a perfect place for nice long walks on the beach and cliffs.
Wi-fi is not top speed, but it's good enough. It's not meant to watch YouTube video streams, but it's good enough to browse web pages.
Staff is friendly, food is very good and there are plenty of menus available also with fish and sea food.
What I also value greatly is that they have a free of charge Charge Point for Electric Vehicle which we have (Opel Ampera (=Chevy Volt)). It saves us quite a bit of money.
I also like, that they have a playing room for children, which my daughter loves (3 years old).

I don't know about the AC, because we've never been there during summer, but what I don't like is that the hotel turns off room heating radiators during the night. If it's cold outside, less than 0°C, it can get quite cold in the room, even when fully covered by a blanket. That's why we always bring a small 2000W portable electric heater with us.
I also don't like the type of pillow they have. They are to high (big) so I don't use them at all. Even though it's not comfortable to sleep without it, it's still better then what they have.
Because of these two issues I gave 4 stars review and 3 stars for sleeping quality.

The room TVs - I don't know who chose them, but they are horrible to switch channels. It takes a long press on the remote the even change the channel or type a number of a channel and even if you do it correctly, the TV set takes about 2 second to change the channel. They are Philips TV sets, which are good TVs, as we have one at home, so I don't know, what's wrong with the hotel ones.

Room Tip: South rooms are facing the pool and the sea, north rooms are facing a beautiful woods. Rooms in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrej P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    65
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
53
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

When I reach hotel I have been given a room 135 as I am travelling alone. First impression was quiet good. I even got a terrace. I was happy because of a hard work before I will enjoy the see, swimming and other things I would do. Entering the room I notice a strange blood on the wall. As someone would try to kill an insect. At that moment I didn`t mind at all. When I went to bathroom I meet a large insect moving on the wall. I fill a little strong pain in my chest. I have claustrophobia on insect. I kill it and continuing as nothing happpened. After dinner I came back to my room and put myself on band. I Watch TV. Suddenly something fly over my head. It was a large butterfly not that nice but insect. I froze for a moment. Then I turn around my head and notice some insect moving on the wall.
I couldn’t kill them. They were high for me. I got panic and pain in my chest start again. I decided to pack my thing and go down to lobby to ask a receptionist to give me another room so that I can stay there. He said that there is no bad free for me. I beg him just for one night but not a chance. So the only things I could do was leaving hotel after 7 hour of stay. He asks me to pay 115 eurov for being there for 7 hour and dinner and that entire scary insect. In the room 135. I have paid. I leave reception very said, and with pain in my chest. I already have problem with breathing. But I have to drive a car to reach home. I try not to think but over and over again “I so that scary insect”. When I reach home I was totally down. They gave me tranquillizer so that I could breath normally..
So when you travel to this hotel alone avoid ROOM 135 itis full of insect. Do not come at all

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracijelaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celje
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

4 stars hotel joke they lost some stars somwhere. Staff doesen t even smile at all. At the top season maintainers are all the time at the lobby not doing anything. Wi fi - maybe fast enough for zx spectrum or commodore 64 otherwise just forget about it. Air condition - loud and at temparatures over 30 C not strong enough. Bar at the lobby - high priced disapointment they charge you order immideately after service you don t have to drink maybe all guests are suspicios to run away not paying for drink ha ha . Inside pool closed for maintainance for 7 days just like that but sill promoted as facillity. At the restauran staff shows you wher you have to sit and they don t allow you to change the table. Better spend yor money somwhere else.

Room Tip: Ther arent any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markxlx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Peaceful, nice and very modern hotel
My vacation was very short. But I took two of massage and I am really filling good. The hotel is very clean, peaceful, and nice. Stuffs is very gentle, helpful and you will see only smile on their faces.
Some problem was a temperature of the indoors swimming pool. I felt a little cooler than it was written on the wall. The other is cabins and toilets were quiet away from pool. You have to walk from a worm to a cold place.
But in all you will fill harmony, peace and relax because of lavender which you will meet all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GracijelaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Yesterday I took my family to a swim. It is quite a nice pool inside with some jakuzzi pools. Pool has a sea-water. Personnel is.. soo-soo...
After a swim we took a lunch... well, this was also nothing special. It was good, but really nothing special.
Pool 4 hours and lunch = 20 EUR per person. Price is reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatjazW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lukovica
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Classical hotel in one of the most beautifull parts of Slovenia coast. A lopt of possibilities for walkikng - they organize nordic walking wxcoursion, View from the church and big cross on the hill (15 min) is amazing. If you have time descend to the beach (Moon bay) under the cross (another 15 min)
With a bike Portoroz, Piran and Izola are just 3o min away via biking trail.
Hotel organizes or helps to some events - dances, day of persimon (Kaki) etc

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank izi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strunjan
0.6 mi away
Salinera Bioenergy Resort
1.4 mi away
Kempinski Palace Portoroz
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Portoroz
Grand Hotel Portoroz
#2 of 25 in Portoroz
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Piran
Hotel Piran
#1 of 5 in Piran
786 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Marko
Hotel Marko
#6 of 25 in Portoroz
250 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Slovenija - LifeClass Hotels & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svoboda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svoboda Hotel

Property: Svoboda Hotel
Address: Strunjan 148, Strunjan 6323, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Slovenian Littoral Region > Strunjan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Strunjan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Svoboda Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wellness centre in Strunjan. Cosy suites. Views of saltpans. All the beauty and salubrity of the sea.Rooms - Air-conditioned double rooms with a balcony or a terrace – the more spacious superior rooms overlook the unique landscape of the Strunjan saltpans – and single rooms; with a toilet and a shower, the superior rooms with baths. Each room has satellite TV and a radio, telephone and minibar. Suites - Suites with sauna: with separate living room and bedroom, 34 m2, infra-red sauna, double bed, sofa which can be used as an additional bed, 37-inch LCD TV, toilet, shower, hair dryer, mini bar, balcony.The hotel kitchen serves up a wide range of healthy diet meals; the restaurant also features a wellness section with organic foods. The hotel also includes is a small shop, an aperitif bar and a clubroom. Free wireless Internet access is available in the hotel lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Svoboda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing