We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply stunning” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Figon

El Figon
Ranked #6 of 149 Restaurants in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We went in at around 7.30 with our 3 little girls, they had a table for us, thank goodness... The setting is soooo gorgeous and pretty, we loved every minute of it, the food was fabulous and served piping hot, we left full, happy and left with memories we'll take with us forever... Cannot thank you enough xx

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wongwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    36
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the best restaurant in Torrox”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

El Figon is easily passable, you probably wouldn't notice it if you hadn't seen it on TripAdvisor and were looking for it.
The entrance is a simple gate, leading down a few stairs to a wonderful courtyard filled with a few tables, lots of plants and t lights in the trees. There are tables inside in the unlikely event it is wet.
The food was amazing and the service very friendly. As the evening draws on and it gets darker, the plants are lit by subtle lighting and the t lights lit in the trees.
This place is a real gem and worth spending a few minutes to wander round and find. It is on the road below the car park, below the main square. Booking is probably advisable, you can book by phone or pop in one evening to book a table. El Figon opened at 7pm when we were there and we went in to book for the next evening.
Grateful for the TripAdvisor reviews, without which we probably wouldn't have found El Figon. Would recommend for a romantic meal, for families and especially if you are looking for somewhere to propose! Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonnyh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
638 reviews
610 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
“Delightful courtyard - Excellent food - Extremely good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

What a surprise! Behind an unassuming doorway in the centre of Torrox pueblo lies a delightful restaurant with a courtyard with high walls, lush foliage and a trickling water feature. With dusk falling the combination of lighting by lanterns, table candles and the Spanish background music made for an enchanting atmosphere.

It was a midweek evening in August and the restaurant terrace was almost full, so it was wise to have made a reservation. There are additional tables indoors, but on a warm summer evening everyone wants to dine al fresco. The tables in the courtyard terrace are mosaic tiled and very beautiful and the cushioned chairs are especially comfortable.

After being greeted and seated drinks orders were taken and we were given menus. The menu is in multiple languages and is innovative with more unusual variations of dishes. They do state that everything is cooked fresh to order and that you might need to wait a while for the food - but what a delightful place to wait. In reality the wait for food was quite reasonable.

We chose a plate of Manchego cured cheese and Serrano ham to share for starters €10. This was beautifully presented with walnuts and black olives.

For main courses one chose chicken breast with pink peppercorn sauce €11 and escalopines of sirloin steak with wine and mushroom sauce €15. The quality of the chicken and beef was excellent. The accompanying vegetables were freshly prepared (not tinned or frozen as so is often the case in Spain). The portions were very generously sized (there were two half chicken breasts and two sirloin steaks) - so generous that we did not have space for dessert and we finished with coffees. Both main course dishes were very delicious.

The service was faultless. Even though it was the height of the tourist season and the restaurant was almost full, the waiter provided impeccable service, unflustered and smiling throughout.

The total bill was €66 - including two gins and tonics, a nice bottle of Ribera del Duero red wine €20 (less expensive wines available and by the glass) and coffees. Extremely good value as we have paid the same or more for less special meals in other restaurants in the area!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't walk by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

From the outside this restaurant does not do itself justice. Thru the door and down the steps to a lovely garden courtyard where dinner was served. We had a wonderful meal, great Spanish wine and it was a real value. I would go back again and again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

It took us 5 years of visiting Torrox to discover this restaurant, and what a discovery! The setting is good, but it is tucked out of the way (hence how we've missed it so many times before). They have a good menu, excellent food and very nice desserts (not often the case in Spanish restaurants, we have found). Looking forward to many more visits to come, and thoroughly recommend their Lasagne, Salmon in Champagne sauce, and Pork Knuckle (which just falls off the bone).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TDstroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Figon also viewed

Torrox, Costa del Sol
 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Figon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing