We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Figon

El Figon
Ranked #6 of 151 Restaurants in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
wallasey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely little restaurant”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

You need to book this restaurant,lovely little court yard setting,the service and the food was ot 5 star quality,and reasonable price,if you want a nice romantic meal and setting, you won't be disappointed eating here

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    36
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Wonderful food in a beautiful courtyard planted with all sorts of trees and flowering plants. Nice, friendly service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank 109Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“An Off-Night”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Having read many TA reviews we could n't wait to try El Figon in Torrox Pueblo (Village). We regularly eat on the coast in Torrox Costa, where La Farola is a particular favourite.
As it was a Tuesday in early May, we had not booked. There is a copy of the menu at the top of the narrow stairs leading down to the (well-mentioned) courtyard. While the menu is not as comprehensive as some, there were plenty of pork and steak dishes on offer.
Don't get me wrong - the lower level courtyard is in a beautiful setting but, as it was slightly chilly the first week in May (and there were colonies of ants marching up the table leg - and we had n't 'sprayed'), we asked if we could sit inside.
Well, you would think we had just asked for a free meal... The rather prissy lady (in charge) pointed to a reserved table for 6 people and exclaimed "Well you can't sit there!!"...
I simply pointed to a table for 2 near the door, and asked if we could sit there.
There were no internal lights switched on for us - although a candle was lit by which we could read the menu.
The young waiter was very friendly and took our drinks order. We asked him if we could have some bread and 'ali-oli' (garlic mayonnaise). He returned with our drinks and sheepishly informed us that they did not have any garlic mayo.
To be honest, the food was good - and not overpriced.
My wife had 'Escalopines de Ternera con Salsa Oporto y Champinones' (cutlets of sirloin steak with a creamy port & mushroom sauce) at 15 euros.
I had 'Medallones de Solomillo de Cerdo con Salsa de Vino Malaga' (medallions of pork tenderloin with a creamy sweet Malaga wine & Moscatel raisin sauce) at 13 euros.
The steak meal was twice the size of the pork meal, and I was happy to help redress the balance.
The table for 6 never turned up while we were there, and there was only one table occupied in the courtyard all night.
At 43 euros including wine & water, it was a reasonable priced meal but, due to the attitude of our hostess we would not hurry back.
On second thoughts, on the couple of occasions when she re-appeared she had a scarf wrapped round her neck - perhaps she was unwell. We may give her the benefit of the doubt.
(I usually take several subtle pics of meals but it was so dingy inside the 'flash' would have appeared too touristy).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Durham-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

El Figon at last is open after usual winter closure. We dined there last night with 7 others, it was a birthday meal. The food as ever was superb, steak melted in your mouth, the salads as started were unusual and delicious. Everyone had a lovely meal, I topped mine off with the home made mascarpone cheese cake, yum! And once the sun goes does and the lights come on in the courtyard restaurant, what nicer place is there to enjoy a great meal. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place, I'll be back”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Not a very large menu, but what they have is good!
4 people with different choices, and all served at the same time. Not very often you see that nowadays.
The garden is very nice in summer, with small artificial waterfall, and plenty of trees and plants.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnt-Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Figon also viewed

Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Figon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing