We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice winter break, but could be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 December 2012

Stayed for 10 nights, 09-19/11/12. Overall, an enjoyable stay, but some minor changes would have made it an excellent one. The food quality, particularly in the evening, was disappointing. Starters and desserts were varied and tasty, however, the cooked main dishes were bland and tasteless, with the pizza / pasta section very disappointing. The cooked dishes at breakfast were better, with the omlette section a welcome addition. However, with the hotel busy, the queues at the one hot drinks machine were long, and frustrating. The grounds of the hotel are attractive, and well kept, with a lovely pool area. We booked a massage at the spa, which my wife enjoyed. The other disappointment was on checking out, we were not asked if we had a nice stay, and felt as though, for a 4 star hotel, a personal touch, and some interest in our holiday is a must!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steveomcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

412 - 418 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2012

Just back from our 1-week stay in this Iberostar in Torrox (by car about 45 minutes away from Malaga AIrport). The hotel building is very nice in Moorish style, colourful and with a very nice garden/swimmingpool area. We had some heavy showers during our stay and then you can see there are waterleaks at several places, mostly at bottom of windows and doors. But it needs to be said that the showers were exceptionally heavy and continued during some 48hrs.
We originally booked a room type "priority location". The room we were appointed did have frontal seaview, oriented to the south and was on the 4th floor, but our room was situated in the "corner" of the u-shaped hotel and as such we had limited sunshine on the terrace.
There were also some sweets on the room and 2 bottles of water as welcome.
We asked to change rooms because we hoped to get a room with large terras, sunbeds on the terrace and some privacy. The very friendly reception staff helped us out very professionally and finally they could offer us a senior suite on the top floor (7th). We were asked to pay a supplement of (7 x 16euro = ) 112 euros, but before we accepted we were allowed to go and have a look at the room. We immediately agreed to take the room and pay the supplement.
It was great with 3 terraces : 2 smaller ones with front seaview but still large enough to have a table and 2 chairs on them. The 3rd terrace had 3 sunbeds, and parasol, full privacy and magnificent views. The only small minor is that the elevators only go up to the 6th floor and the last part must be done by stairs. Bu no problem for luggage etc... because they take care of the luggage. One detail : when we changed rooms the hotel staff forgot to move the sweets and drinks to our new room. Neglectible but on the other hand this is how you recognize the average from the exceptional.
Be aware there are only 2 such rooms in the entire hotel. We were in room 702. Room 701 is the mirror image of our room and as such is probably a perfect equivalent.

We were in all-inclusive. Food was good but not super. Wide selection but limited variation during the week. "Simple" but decent meals. Limited warm vegetables. During the week-end a large number of Spanish guests arrived and then the choice is somewhat more select with e.g. crayfish, etc... but the disadvantage is that the Spanish guests are not very disciplined when serving from the buffet and they are extremely noisy.
Drinks in the all inclusive are good : their house wines (tinto, blanco, rosado) are all OK. For other than house wines you need to pay a supplement. The other drinks show a wide selection of which a lot without supplement, but if you go more exclusive you still need to pay a - logical - supplement.
Contrary to some reactions on the internet, we feel the all-inclusive is a good deal. They do not charge a lot compared to other hotels in South Spain for their all-inclusive. And because their prices (without all-inclusive) are pretty high (e.g. large glass of house wine = 3.45 euro) you can quickly recover the cost with an all-inclusive.
All by all we find this a good average 4-star hotel with above average building and garden, but slightly below average on food - not because of quality but because of limited variation and simplicity.
If you spent a lot of time on your terrace, go for the supplement, book a senior suite and ask them to get you room 701 or 702. They cannot guarantee, but they promise they will do what they can to get you this room.

Room Tip: Book a room with (side-)seaview. The other rooms are at the side of the street and have some disadva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frans_1Aalst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Dear Frans,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort that you gave yourself to share the experience of your recent holiday with us and Tripadvisor readers.

We do our utmost to ensure that our customers can enjoy an enriching dining experience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Therefore, we take no pleasure in presenting mediocre buffets. Our culinary team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes at your next visit.

We take your comments very seriously to ensure that our standards are maintained and developed continuously. Therefore, we thank you for mentioning that on this occasion we forgot to move your welcome attentions into the upgraded room. Despite our efforts, sometimes a detail escapes our attention and a reminder like yours will certainly help to avoid that such happens again in the future. However, we are grateful that you highlighted how well worth you find the upgrade and how much you enjoyed the comfort of the senior suite.

On the other hand, we are pleased to read that you did enjoy the garden and pool area as also the exceptional beauty of our colorful Moorish building. In Iberostar we attempt to offer attractive accommodation and it is enjoyable to know that our guests enjoy this.

Further, we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our staff. As all of them work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations, we will definitely pass on your satisfaction with their services. They will surely celebrate that you wrote that they were friendly and helped us out very professionally. It is one of our most important features that our staff has a good contact to our guests and welcomes them with open arms.

To continue, we thank you for underlining your satisfaction with our all-inclusive service. It is our intention to largely fulfill your needs and reading that you would recommend it, is the best reward.

In name of all of the staff we thank you again for your visit, we were all delighted to have you among us, and we would be honored if in the not too distant future we have the pleasure to welcome you back in our Iberostar Malaga Playa.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just got back from staying here . As had previously read on trip advisor following check in room pointed out from behind the reception! Back out to front of hotel to right we were told. So off we went . No obvious door found so had to go back in and ask a hotel employee busy talking to guests in foyer where room was. he only came out to front doorway and pointed to right where we then found door. This door looks more like entrance to dr s surgery. Upon checking out when I complained told by receptionist that manager knows of this but not enough staff. This hotel obviously does not care about their customers. Truly disgusting I say. Woken in mornings 8 am by maids knocking on door to check if we in , after that used do not disturb sign all the time. on last morning as was coming out of room to go to breakfast maid stopped and asked finito ? No bags in hand , no case either. very hassled we felt.
pillows too thin and no spares.

Room Tip: Had room with kitchenette . V good. Had sea view too and balcony. Could be noisy in am as road side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lenfestey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear guest,

We are very grateful that you took the time to post your comments. We have read them carefully. Your opinion is very important and valuable. We are convinced that this is the best way to gain your trust for Iberostar. It is our goal to achieve excellence in our daily work and no one better than our guests can indicate us how to improve day after day.

We are very sorry to hear that you could not enjoy the prime pillar of our company which is the service orientation and professionalism of our staff. Therefore now we are revising all off our procedures in order to guarantee that all employees supply the same high quality service, so that in the future we can surprise you positively by fulfilling or even exceeding your expectations. We do our utmost to adapt the number of employees to the among of guests in the hotel. If this standard exceptionally wasn´t fulfilled we apologize sincerely.

Once more we want to thank you for having shared your opinion, rest assured it will help us to improve. We hope to may receive you soon and surprise you positively offering a perfect holiday!

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We went to Torrox in the first week of October. Frankly, I didn’t really want to go, but my husband was very keen. He found the Iberostar hotel on the internet and, because it looked so nice, I agreed. The fact that we were able to take advantage of post-high-season price helped.

I am glad that I let myself be persuaded, because the hotel turned out to be nothing short of fantastic. Pure luxury in every respect, at every step. Beautiful building, enchanting and extremely well maintained gardens, very comfortable room, well equipped bathroom. We had our own balcony with a sea view. Everything impeccably clean and well cared for.

Breakfasts (included in the price) offered such an incredible choice that we would have had to stay for two weeks, not just one, to try everything. The hotel caters for over a thousand guests at any one time, but there is no waiting for an empty table: as soon as a table is free, the waitress clears it and sets it anew and it all takes less than a minute.

All the staff were irreproachable. Whether at the reception desk, in the dining room or anywhere else in the hotel, they were invariably polite, helpful and knowledgeable. We felt pampered and well looked after at every stage. We were treated as VIPs – and it’s a lovely feeling to return home with the memories of a beautiful, restful break. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jolanta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights at the start of Oct 2012. The hotel it's self is lovely, very clean, hotel grounds are also very well kept. Staff very nice and polite but no offer of help with luggage on arrival which I have never come across in a 4* before. They gave us our key and told us room number and which building but failed to say what floor it was on so after checking each floor we found it after some time.

Food the same as any AI resort nothing mind blowing but all very nice, puddings look very tasty but are a let down all very bland and all taste the same but plenty of fresh fruit available. But no atmosphere what's so ever very much like a cattle market.

2 snack/drink bars by the pool drinks are fine snacks very poor though a few crisps and nuts at one. In the other a few pastry's and some very sad looking sandwiches available.

Arrived in the evening about 10.30 and was able to get some left over salad from the evening dinner which was not nice no drinks offered. Check out was 12pm and they then take your AI band off you so we paid extra to have a late check out but they still take your band off you before evening dinner starts which I find a bit of a rip off I have never had this in a AI hotel before I have always arrived home still wearing my AI band.

Entertainment is aimed at kids and finishes early, again no atmosphere in the evening.

Spa was lovely and reasonably priced I had a very nice facial. Gym could do with a revamp and new equipment this was the only poor area of the hotel.

The only thing that let this place down was the other guests if you are English I would not recommend it, especially if you are sociable people. I gave up after 2 days of smiling, and holding doors for people to be totally ignored, the final straw for me was whilst reading by the pool a guest approached the man sitting by me all I caught was very loudly "English" then they stared and laughed right at me. This made the rest of our stay quite uncomfortable, and for this reason I would not stay here again. No matter what country you come from a simple smile, nod and manners like holding doors open do not cost a thing and make a massive difference. In the evening I would recommend leaving the hotel and visit one of the local bars the locals are much more welcoming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cov2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2012

Dear guest,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we reviews like yours are very helpful to know how our guests experience their stay.

To continue, we would like to apologize for the fact that at the precise moment you needed the service of our porter, exceptionally we could not provide this and we are awfully sorry that our explanation of where to find the room wasn´t as clear as it could haven been.

Related to the duration of our all inclusive service, we would like to point out that for your next holiday we would be more than happy to assist you in our call center to arrange the booking so that in case of a late flight the last day is still included. In order to regulate and standardize our available services, we need to comply strictly and equal for all guests. Through this structure we try to facilitate the understanding of the house rules so that no confusion is provoked and all guests understand perfectly that the use of the all in wristband is exactly the same as the use of the rooms until 12 am. This policy is established by the head quarters and we´ve passed them your commentaries so that they can be taken into account and be considered.

Further, we find it sad to hear that you find our hotel lacks atmosphere. Monday and Wednesday nights from 9:30 to 11:30, we plan the best live music and professional shows and just a few steps from the hotel at the splendid maritime promenade there are countless restaurants, bars, and entertainment venues. As many of our guests seek tranquility and peace, we are prudent not to disturb them with loud activities at night but we do strive to offer a nice and distinguished atmosphere.

The Iberostar team offer free fitness training, aerobics, table tennis and bocce. Star Fit & Fun
activities (aerobics, exercise balls, stepping, body balance and many more). There are also tennis courts available with a charge, and golfers can take advantage of the ‘Baviera’ golf course being nearby in Caleta de Vélez. Nevertheless, we also took good note of your comments related to the gym and we commit to study the viability of substituting some of the available equipment. It is our priority to ensure guests feel comfortable and relaxed at Iberostar Malaga Playa. The hotel’s wellness and beauty centre contributes to this by offering a variety of massages, manicures and foot care. We are delighted to see that this contributed to your joy and you find the spa lovely and reasonably priced.

On the other hand we are grateful and satisfied that you described the hotel as lovely, very clean and with well kept grounds. But even more we are enchanted that you find the staff very nice and polite. In our opinion, the human forces in Iberostar are one of the most important pillars to build a hotel that offers well being, comfort and splendid holiday conditions. Therefore we are pleased that you enjoyed this part so much!

Once again thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate all of your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with Iberostar.

Sincerely yours,

Online Reputation Manager
Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This hotel was very nice! we just spent 10 days in September.
Good access to a clean beach for only 5 EURO, confortable pool area, rooms are nice, but beds to me could be softer, very nice evening walk, good bars. A great congratulation to the Management for keeping the standards.The food presentation, quality & variety at all meals was perfect for a vacation hotel, the restaurant can get busy but well managed and the hard working employees are extremely friendly and always providing you service with an exemplary attitude. I would like to thank Roberto and his fantastic entertaiment team who is doing a incredible job! The attention that they gave to us and to our 2 daughters was amazing. This was one of the best vacation we have been so far, we will definitely look for Iberostar in the futur. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask the reception where is your room located at check-in, might be worth to upgrade, depending on wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

a verry good hotel. Room and bathroom clean and well equiped. Food, enough variety (only for dinner more choice in main cousrses would be better) but all well prepared. Only problem is that in the high season the restaurant is very crowedand noisy, the pool too small and there are not enough sunbeds available. Very friendly staff. Also should they follow there own rules. They ask long pants for dinner, but not applied. The same for the sunbeds, no reservation, but if you go to the pool after 8.30 AM there is no sunbed left, evrything is reserved wilth towels. All-in is very good, Almost every drink is included en all are branded names

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
4.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,872 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Rosa Hotel
Santa Rosa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Torrox
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
5.7 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,109 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range: £79 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel is highly recommended for couples and families. Having recently undergone a complete refurbishment, this hotel is known for the Arab flair in its design, its location on the seafront at Torrox-Costa and its services and facilities which have been designed to offer the best entertainment. Guests can choose among the great diversity of the 406 rooms and suites that the hotel offers, with top-rated services and a pleasant ambiance in each and every room. Plus, the Malaga Playa hotel features a wide range of services and facilities, such as a fun pool with four slides, SPA Sensations, free premium Wi-Fi, sporting activities, all inclusive accommodation option, buffet restaurant, four bars, shows and music, a children's park... A bit of everything for guests to enjoy some magical moments in Torrox-Costa, Malaga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Iberostar, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing