We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Complejo Laguna Beach(Costa del Sol)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Costamar(Torrox)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,648)
Filter reviews
1,648 results
Traveller rating
789
617
181
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
617
181
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstorrox costapool areamaxi clubgrey sandanimation teambeautiful hotellong promenadehuge poolevening entertainmentnice promenadehalf boardmini discofamily holidaychildren and adultsstayed all inclusiveplenty of choiceplenty of sunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
411 - 416 of 1,648 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Went to Costa del Sol for a holiday - travelling two adults and two children.
We were met at the recpeption with a welcome drink - and after a quick a sign in procedure with lots of service we were escorted to our rooms and the luguage was brought to us.
Rooms are spacious with a excelent doubble bed i the master bedroom. For the children there was a smaller double bed in another room. There is a small kitchen - we only used the fridge since we stayed with all inclusive.
The restaurant is VERY good! Different temes every night and the presentation and taste of the food makes you over eat - the best I've ever tried all inclusive.
Speaking of all inclusive, the beverage are not locally produced but well known brands! Examples of this are rum is Barcardi, cola is Coca Cola - also bottled and so on.
There are no rush to get to the pool because there simply are sun beds enough.
You can reserve your spot for 45 minutes - after that the pool life guard picks your thing up and frees the sun beds - and they actually practise that.
You feel very safe at the hotel. The area it self is very quiet but access anywhere requries a card - which is at the same time the access card for your room.
The animation team masters the balance between leaving you alone and pushing you to participate in the events and respects the signals you send when approched!
All in all we had a very good stay and are very satisfied with everything!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Kristian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Iberosrar Malaga Playa is simply and excellent.

Starting with the most important part the beds were really comfy and with excellent blackout curtains we all slept really well.

Now the food wow amazing, quality, quantity , range, variety, temperature all perfect. We stayed all inclusive and it was a great choice, drinks bail able all day included local beer, well The San Miguel brewery is just down the road. The range of spirits was very good and was mainly well known international brands. You could buy bottles of wine at very competitive prices.

The entertainment was also fantastic, Manu, Roberto, Antonio and Manuel did a fantastic job with all sorts of great games for the adults. With 14 different nationalities at the hotel made for great games of volleyball and water polo.

All in all we all had an excellent Week in an excellent hotel. Finally as regards the sun loungers we simply walked down in the morning at around 10am and chose the loungers we wanted. There we always plenty free.

So do book and have a great holiday

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank Jking96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This is the second Iberostar hotel I've stayed in the past year. one in Tenerife and here, both stays were All Inclusive packages! Our room was superb and clean with a nice view over the pool! The food was of good quality and variety! The majority of staff were pleasant and helpful! My only complaint would have been the brands of alcohol served to All inclusive guests, albeit drinkable I did miss my Smirnoff and Gordons gin! The pool was very nice and I found no problem finding loungers, but the the usual reserving of beds would be an issue but pool staff did a few clearances of persistent offenders.

Room Tip: Upgrade to pool/seaview well worth it
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryMac50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

just back 21 june. strange mix this place. often do all inc. but didnt know this was now one (it used to be a riu hotel). stayed b&b and when we saw arm bands asked how much to upgrade. not impressed. food ok . beautiful hotel and grounds and beach location super(although our room overlooked a car park and several other high rises with no sun on balcony after 5.30). torrox is a quiet location as we knew but this place is dull. waiter service only as far as we could see, no bar staff the only night we went to music room. drinks expensive if you're not all inc. and charged to room to be settled on leaving, so a bit of a sting in the tail. beer pumps say san miguel but national brand served thru them, which isnt very nice. nice place if you just want to relax but expensive for what it is. wont be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 632paulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel for your holidays and for taking the time to write your impressions about your stay as it is our best way to know where we can still improve in our daily services in order to deliver unforgettable vacation experiences to our guests.

We are sorry to hear your disappointment regarding the prices for those guests being on Bed and Breakfast board and would like to suggest that for any upcoming holiday planning you contact our call center where we can offer a personalized booking guidance for you to choose from the wide range of services, the one that best fits your needs and wishes.
On the other hand, we are glad to read that you enjoyed our buffet offer and the beautifulness of our hotel and grounds. The IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa, with its exquisite Moorish architecture and its beachfront location is perfectly located for getting to know the outlying areas of the Costa del Sol.
We hope that your stay was as pleasant as it could possibly be, and we would be enchanted to may accommodate you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We last visited Torrox Costa 8 years ago, staying at this hotel when it was Riu. The resort of Torrox certainly seems to have expanded since then, but the hotel seems much the same, occupying a fine position adjacent to the promenade and long beach. It is big and spacious, with many of the bedrooms overlooking the large pool and public terraces. We occupied a standard room on the ground floor, adjacent to the large communal car park, which fortunately, was out of site behind behind a wall and shrubs. This room was quiet and comfortable, and we slept well, but the sun did not reach the small balcony/terrace until the afternoon. The bathroom was clean and quite large, and a safe was available at 4 euros per day.
The food was of a particularly high standard, with an enormous choice at breakfast and dinner. Staff in all departments were friendly and attentive.
Evening entertainment was varied and of a reasonable standard.
So, all in all, a high quality, 4 star hotel, catering for couples, groups and families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews