We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here 30th march for six nights. Had a great time, lovely hotel clean tidy. Staff very helpful and friendly. We had a studio room with a sea view, lovely clean kitchen with everything in it. Mostly all Germans, French and Spanish staying there, and elderly. Very quiet area not a lot to do, wouldn't realie suit if you liked to go out at night. Nice walk along the seafront, to few shops and restaurants. The food was lovely, you have chips for breakfast if you realie wanted to! Desserts lovely the chocolate fountain was georgous! Would def go back. Drinks were good measures, strong the beer was lovely.

Room Tip: Would recommend a studio, it was cheaper than a double, and you had the kitchen in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenniferkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the time you took out of your day to share your satisfaction on your holiday experience at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel; it is wonderful to hear that you “had a great time”, this is always our goal.

At IBEROSTAR we have a true passion for gastronomy and are fully aware that meals are an aspect of primary importance for our guests to enjoy their holidays abroad, this is why our expert team of chefs strives to surprise our guests with high quality culinary delights both local and international, so as be able to savor many different flavors at every single meal and make it one of the best added values to their holiday among us.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their genuine kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Last but not least, thorough cleaning is an absolute must for IBEROSTAR and we thank you for your highlight on the cleanliness of our hotel; we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is the base for a comfortable holiday experience in any hotel.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very pleased with our stay here. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was excellent and good view. Breakfast was excellent as well with such a wide choice/ variety. Location great as just a walk passed the pool onto sea front. Very near bars and restaurants and a nice stroll along the front.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
6  Thank BGCDec13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this lovely review following your recent visit to our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel; Reviews like yours, outlining your satisfaction with our staff, amenities and ambience, are truly inspiring to our dedicated team.

We also appreciate your kind words towards our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being one of our hotel's main strengths we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

It is also very enjoyable to read you felt comfortable in the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

The passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel and for the courtesy of your time; we remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations and encourage you to contact our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR holiday among a wide range of beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

At first sight hotel looked impressive, but then we can noticed, that it needs renovation. Rooms are rather small (on the other side - apartments very good with two rooms, kitchen and bathroom), but clean and most of them have side-sea view.
What was very annoying that staff (at the reception, restaurant, even maids) in the hotel speaks mostly German, I'm from Poland so I know this language from school, but prefer to communicate in English or even simply Spanish. Hotel staff even do not ask you which language you prefer, but by default starts to speak in German.
Breakfast and suppers were good, with wide selection of meals and good quality, although one juice-dispenser is far too less for such a big hotel - there were big queues at breakfast time.
Indoor pool is quite small, lack of jacuzzi. Outdoor pool quite big, but cold at this time (we've been aware about this).
Kids-club was not running, so it's not good time for families with children. Moreover the guests were mostly elder German pairs, who casted evil glances at kids, so we didn't feel comfortable at all with two active children. But of course it's not a hotel fault, however be aware that it is not a hotel where you meet other families with children and the children can feel quite free.
I should also mention about beach near the hotel (20-30m) that was really poor. There were full of small stones even in the water.
To sum up - a good hotel but rather for singles or pairs without children.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We sincerely regret reading that apparently you were not properly informed about our Mini Club and would like to take the opportunity to point out that, as duly reported on our website, it is operative from May to October and during Easter holidays; of course depending on the season our clientele varies quite a lot, during the peak season we receive many young families with children and out of school holidays mostly couples and golfers; for future occasions we encourage you to contact our call center from where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information for you to choose the destination, hotel type and services that best meet your holiday needs and wishes.

Moreover we took good note of your comment on the languages used at our hotel and would like to apologize if our staff addressed to you in German, we passed on your comment to our different heads of department so as to revise and improve on this aspect although as you well say, our clientele in this period of the year is mainly composed of German guests.

On the other hand, we thank you for letting us know that our culinary offer could largely satisfy you, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of your accommodation because this is an aspect of primary importance for IBEROSTAR and we strive to give total confidence in this area, being fully aware that this is a fundamental condition for our guests to feel comfortable among us.

Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics; hopefully we can fulfill your expectations in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for oct mid term , outdoor pool cold , indoor pool cold - obviously not heated . Mess made of my booking , sorted out by Pablo . Food good , bedrooms stained walls , dated , very very basic kitchenette with no kettle or bottle opener . A charge of €10 per hr to use hotel tennis court - disgraceful after paying over €1300 for a wk , this is not acceptable . Staff in dining room rude , looking at their watches when we arrived in for breakfast at 945 even though breakfast did not finish until 1030 , however chefs very pleasant . After day 4 we were no longer getting soap or shampoo , we had to raid the trolley and look after ourselves !! Receptionists seem very hassled and unfriendly. Very few english speaking guests , nothing to do in the immediate vicinity , nerja a lot nicer and a short drive away. Stayed in the iberostar anthelia in Tenerife , which was faultless , this hotel is a very poor relation of it !!! Would not stay here again , not worth the money

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank glObetrOtterwannabe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your stay at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel because it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We took good note of your comment on the temperature of our pools and are sorry to hear your dissatisfaction, however, the weather in Andalusia was still hot during last October, the majority of guests requested the air conditioning system to be turned on and still used the outdoor pool; the indoor pool is heated when the heating system is operational, we started to use the heating system as from last week due to the sudden change of the temperatures; the indoor pool now is heated at 26 degrees.

Moreover, it is very disheartening to read your comment on our staff as their genuine kindness and commitment to make our guests feel well cared after and welcome at all times is one our hotel’s main assets, nevertheless we will forward your review to our different heads of departments so as to ensure a first class service from each member of our staff.

On the other hand, the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your positive comment on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Finally we invite you for a future holidays’ planning to contact our call center so we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information for you to choose the destination, hotel type and services that best fit your holiday needs and wishes and guarantee you an unforgettable holiday experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kind Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here during October half term holidays on a bed and breakfast basis and enjoyed the hotel. The rooms were a good standard and beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was a buffet and really well done always plenty of options to suit all.
The indoor pool was cold and at that time of year should have been heated. I also used the Gym but only once as the equipment was in a poor state and the treadmill did not work. This needs sorting as the rest of the hotel is good
Didn't think much to Torrox but nearby Nerja is nice only 10min in a taxi
Would stay at the hotel again and for someone who's fussy like me its a good complement! Get a sea view though!

Room Tip: Get a sea view some of the other rooms were overlooking waste ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OriginalYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your visit and for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel; We are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us.

We took good note of your comments on our fitness room and passed on your comment to our head of maintenance for his information.

On the other hand we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in, since they are designed to offer maximum comfort to our guests and with our breakfast buffets because in IBEROSTAR we know that meals are a very important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience, this is why our professional Chefs strive on a daily basis to prepare a wide variety of hot and cold, sweet and salty options in order to please all palates, it is very enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Thank you again for choosing IBEROSTAR and for your constructive critics; We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

the hotel is fantastic, very nice and very clean
lots of spaces, you never have a 'crowded' feeling
food is delicious and variable : 1 week, never the same
friendly staff
lots of sun beds, no need to block them at 7 in the morning
1 neg point : the location : nothing to see or do in the neighbourhood, you always have to take the bus ( station at 400m)

Room Tip: sea view is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank etso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time you spent to share your feedback on you recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa hotel, we are pleased to read that overall you had an enjoyable time among us.

We are glad to read that the beauty of our installations, the high quality and varied gastronomy offer and the kindness of our staff contributed to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We invite you for any upcoming holiday planning to contact our call center where we can offer you a personalized booking guidance and give you all the relevant information so you can choose the destination and hotel type that best fits your holiday needs and wishes.

Once more, thank you for your visit and praising comments; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in our IBEROSTAR hotels and resorts in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a 7 night all inclusive stay at the Iberostar and have had such an amazing time! We were able to relax in the daytime, with no pressure from the entertainment team to join in with the various activites. The hotel itself is situated in a beautiful location, right on the beach with views of the mountains and beautiful sunset. The food was plentiful, offering lots of choice ( my friend is vegetarian and she found no problem with the food available). The drinks were strong! The staff were very friendly, warm and welcoming. Evening entertainment offered variety, the Legends of Motown evening was brilliant and the entertainment team worked really hard to make our stay very enjoyable. We have come home with some fantastic memories. Thank You!! Lucy & Julie :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
3  Thank LucyC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Lucy,

Our main goal being to offer a dream holiday to our guests we sincerely appreciate your encouraging comments on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa hotel, it is always very enjoyable to read that our guests took some nice memories of their holidays back home with them.

We are glad to read that overall you felt well cared for by our friendly staff and that you could appreciate the efforts of our Chefs to offer enriching dining experiences to our guest through the preparation of a high standard gastronomy giving the possibility to taste the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights and catering for all diets.

We also want to thank you for your nice comments towards our animation staff, their enthusiasm is contagious and they strive to offer a wide variety of leisure and sport activities throughout the day as well as entertaining evening shows for the amusement of our guests, we are glad to read that they were a pleasant part of your holiday among us.

Thank you for choosing to vacation with IBEROSTAR; we look forward to serving you again in our hotels and resorts in the most beautiful destinations worldwide at your earliest convenience.

Friendly Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Málaga Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
5.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
5.7 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,894 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
250 reviews
5 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range: £75 - £330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel is highly recommended for couples and families. Having recently undergone a complete refurbishment, this hotel is known for the Arab flair in its design, its location on the seafront at Torrox-Costa and its services and facilities which have been designed to offer the best entertainment. Guests can choose among the great diversity of the 406 rooms and suites that the hotel offers, with top-rated services and a pleasant ambiance in each and every room. Plus, the Malaga Playa hotel features a wide range of services and facilities, such as a fun pool with four slides, SPA Sensations, free premium Wi-Fi, sporting activities, all inclusive accommodation option, buffet restaurant, four bars, shows and music, a children's park... A bit of everything for guests to enjoy some magical moments in Torrox-Costa, Malaga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Iberostar, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing