We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Iberostar Malaga Playa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Donegal, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A better than average, 4 * resort situated in Torrox - about 40 minutes transfer from Malaga airport. The little town is sleepy, but has a clean promenade that stretches for a few miles behind the hotel and a shopping area with a nice little boutique and the usual supermarkets and gift shops in front. The beach is volcanic sand.

In our party were a 12 year old boy, 13 year old girl, 30 something and 50 something married couples.

We were all inclusive - Myself and my husband paid extra for a side sea view, while my daughter and her family had an apartment that slept four. Our side sea view was well worth the extra - the balcony overlooked the terrace pool area and had full sunshine for most of the day. If I was nit picking I would say that there was no full length mirror in the room. My daughter's apartment overlooked the car park, but she didn't mind because she was only in the room to sleep and shower. There was a full length mirror behind her wardrobe door.

The Iberostar Malaga Playa had something for everyone. Mini/Maxi kids clubs - Tons of pool side/ terrace activities and nightly entertainment that even the grumpiest of guest could not fail to smile at - The Flamenco evening and Michael Jackson impersonator were my particular favourites.

Add to all this the quietly professional ladies at the Spa and great food (not gourmet, and buffet style at all times) and service from the bar and waiting staff, and you would be hard pushed to find a better family holiday in Spain.

The staff were excellent - From check in to friendly chef to the fabulous Shelia who made keeping fit whilst on holiday an absolute pleasure.

Rubberised safety tiles around the pool would have meant that I didn't have to worry a little whilst walking to the bar and toilets on the wet areas - but I realise that these types of tiles are unusual in Spain.

I would go back even if I didn't have the family with me. Well done Iberostar Malaga Playa.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
2 Thank mcaleesekaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    545
    159
    38
    21
See reviews for
713
447
30
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We are just back from a two week holiday, myself husband, two children and grandparents. All had a fantastic holiday. The hotel was lovely, kept very clean and gardens around the pool were very nice and very well kept. The location was great if you like the beach, which we went to most days. Lovely terrace areas to sit at. The pool was great, a good size so it never seemed crowded. Always got a sun bed and parasol. The kids absolutely loved the entertainment time and were very sad to be coming home. They were so nice and made a huge effort with the children, there were lots of activities to keep them entertained and a they really enjoyed the disco at night. Couldn't say enough nice things about them. Marta, Anna, Carmen, Shellmy, Sheila, Guille, Manu, Borja and Fillipe (the entertainment team) we love you from John and Amy

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gillian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Our friend was getting married in Nerja we had a years notice, this hotel seemed great 10 mins in a taxi from Torrox to Nerja where the bars are.. £
€45return so very dear.

Hotel facilitys great, All Inclusive options amazing huge huge selection food and drink fab!!.. Entertainment at night more like 2* horrific very odd set up had mini disco for children then a break then evening show 1 hour it was full of french german in there 70's we were the only English couple there no bars nightclubs entertainment on front gorgeous hotel needed 4* entertainment as there were nothing else around..

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma19051984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Emma,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We are sorry to hear your disappointment with our evening entertainment program that is designed to suit all ages and nationalities; however Torrox Costa has an impressive promenade lined with restaurants, pavement cafés and bars. During summer the promenade has night market every night.

On the other hand, , the passion for gastronomy being one of the prime pillars of our company, we greatly appreciate your praising comments on our restaurant where our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights.

Last but not least, we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our hotel and our overall installations.

Hopefully we will be able to fulfill your expectations in the near future, and remain at your entire disposal for any request you might have regarding coming vacations. Our main commitment is to offer the best vacation to our guests, based on the service provided by professionals and the delivery of high quality products; therefore we are always willing to guide you in our call center or through our webpage to make sure that you book an IBEROSTAR hotel that can make all your wishes come true.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villeneuve
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hi we stayed 7 days at this hotel: 5 adults and 4 children.

the plus:

- location near the beach / near the "passeo maritimo"
- pool
- mini club
- friendly personal (not all but most are very friendly and helpful)


the neg.

- buffet could be improved ( dont take the half pension / just breakfast and go eating outside )
- in HP the drinks are oerpriced / you can choose dinner / lunch but with overprice :-(
- rooms (why the hell did they but carpet in the rooms on a beach hotel)

Room Tip: dont take the half pension, take just breakfast and go eating outside its cheaper, better and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Not a new hotel, but in good condition. Quite a big dbl rooms with a kitchen corner. Clean and quiet. Nice beach at the back of the hotel. Acceptable bufet restaurant. Some shopps and supermarket in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chotomek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

we had a great stay at this hotel large rooms on the top floor with sea views they were very clean and comfortable we could not fault the food the staff were very pleasant and helpful there are ample beds around the large swimming pool it is walk over the road to the long sandy beach

Room Tip: top floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frances292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Malaga Playa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa hotel and for the time you spent to share these wonderful comments on your stay; our guests’ satisfaction is our number one goal and it is very rewarding to read that we achieved it on this occasion.

We are also grateful for your positive mention on your room, as we strive to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

Furthermore , we are glad to read your satisfaction on the quality of our buffets, the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we could conquer yours.

Last but not least, we are grateful for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them.

Once more, thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting Andalucía; we hope that you had a pleasant journey back home and remain at your entire disposal through our call center to help you choose your next IBEROSTAR destination among more than 100 hotels in the most beautiful destinations worldwide.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

we stayed for the first time at this hotel in June
We were a party of 4 adults and 2 children. Although we didnt have a sea view we were very
happy with our rooms that overlooked lawns and hedges that were kept immaculate.
We had great service from every member of staff we came in connection with and did appreciate
all the work they did.The children had great fun in the pool, kiddi club & mini disco.The hotel
was spotless and the food was very good, something for everyone. Would recommend this hotel to any one taking children on holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GrahamandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
4.0 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.5 mi away
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
#1 of 2 in El Morche
10 reviews
1.5 mi away
Santa Rosa Hotel
Santa Rosa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Torrox
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,737 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
269 reviews
7.0 mi away
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
BQ Andalucia Beach Hotel
#1 of 5 in Torre del Mar
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Malaga Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Malaga Playa

Property: Iberostar Malaga Playa
Address: Ferrara s/n, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Malaga Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa beach hotel is an expert at creating the best conditions to make you happy during your days of rest. The warmth of the rooms, the fun atmosphere of the entertainment activities, the pools for families, the cosy feeling of its restaurants... and, as you would expect, the best temperature in all of Europe. Discover 7 more reasons why you should choose this hotel on the Costa del Sol for your holidays. Distinctive rooms for distinctive travellers. From the most romantic Suites to enjoy a couples getaway to apartments with a kitchen. And, of course, the best views of the sea or the hotel gardens make for the best backdrop when waking up in Malaga. And recently refurbished! A few steps from the beach. The IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa enjoys direct access to over a kilometre of beach at Playa Ferrara. So you can lie down on your sun lounger and bathe in the sun's rays while sensing the Mediterranean breeze on your skin. Flavours of the world.At this hotel for children on the Costa del Sol, you not only have the best local cuisine, but you can also travel the world every evening with the themed dinners. In addition, there's a surprise for those with a sweet tooth: the wonderful desserts buffet. It’s impossible to resist the temptation of something sweet! Totally refreshing. The huge pool at this hotel in Malaga Playa will entice the whole family in for a dip. The kids can pretend to be sharks while the grownups take advantage to swim a few lengths. There's also a pool with never-ending slides so that your kids can make a splash, and another indoor pool with views of the outdoors, and a special baby pool. Non-stop activities. In the evening, the little ones can't wait for Starky and Stella to arrive at the minidisco. During the day, your kids will never get bored at the Miniclub. They will play in the pool, dress up or do handcrafts. And for you? Dance performances, live music, and much more. Enviable temperatures. The best climate in Europe is here! The average of 18º C throughout the year and the mild summers make Torrox the best place to spend your holidays. In fact, you are likely to come across inhabitants that are proud to boast about the kind of climate they enjoy. The charm of Torrox. You can't leave without being captivated by the pristine white of its houses. A stroll around its stairways and precipitous streets will invite you to disconnect and spend the afternoon trying tapas in Constitution square, or to enjoy a few laughs with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Lastminute, Booking.com, Iberostar, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Iberostar Malaga Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Malaga Playa Hotel Torrox
Riu Ferrara Hotel
Riu Ferrara Torrox
Iberostar Malaga Playa Torrox, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing