We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic appartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We had 3 nights stay at this fabulous complex and can highly recommend it. We had a one bedroomed apartment which was extremely clean and very contemporary ,very spacious and fully functional with washer/drier, fridge, satellite free view tv. The views of the sea from our balcony and windows were stunning. Only one criticism there is no free wifi.
If you wish to eat out there is a great beach restaurant/bar called Pepo Oro, you can have freshly caught fish which is amazing!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crissiWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing this fabulous review on your stay at Fuerte Calaceite. I have also taken note of your suggestion to have free WIFI and we will definitely work on it. Thank you very much once again.

Also should you decide to visit us again you can book directly through our webpage www.fuertehoteles.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have just returned from a very relaxing (even with two fairly young children) 10 day holiday in one of the two bedroom, front sea view apartments. The apartment was a good size and very clean with a lovely view. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially when we had car trouble and lots of good advice. It was incredibly quiet even in the Easter holidays - we were often the only ones in the pool. The weather and the pool started off cool - the kids could only manage a few minutes in the pool at the beginning of the holiday, but the pool warmed up as the weather did - the location of the pool is superb. We didn't need to use either the heating or air-con. If you want to explore the area which is well worth doing a car is essential as mentioned by others - I would particularly recommend the stunning village of Alhama de Granada situated on the edge of a gorge. If you want to just stay local there is a fairly regular bus service to both Nerja and Torrox Costa. There is plenty of road parking adjacent to the apartments (well definitely block 2) so it's not necessary to pay for the garage. Our balcony was completely covered so sun only got to the edges of it, but that wasn't a problem and we could eat evening meals out in the sun. The beach isn't the best - it's quite pebbly but the kids were quite happy with it and it was only a short but steep walk back up to the apartment which the kids managed easily (block 2 probably the shortest distance to the beach). The kitchen could have been slightly better equipped (for our needs) with pots and pans. I would thoroughly recommend the apartments if you're happy making your own entertainment - the corner ones look like they would certainly be a great option.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you very much for this detailed review on your holidays at Fuerte Calaceite and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned a car is a must in order to visit the wonderful villages of Frigiliana, Competa or Alhama de Granada and even the towns of Granada (Alhambra) or Cordoda (Mezquita) are very much worth a day trip.

In reference to the equipment in the kitchen I advice all future guests to inform our staff at the reception should they need pots, pans or any other kitchen utensils during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I have just spent my second winter here (3 months 2011/12, and almost 6 months 2012/13)

The appartments are first-class, location ideal being only short distance (bus, taxi, drive or you can walk) from Nerja and Torrox Costa.
Staff, led by Vicente have only one aim - To make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Nothing is too much trouble, and they will go to any lengths to deal with any questions you have.

They are all very friendly, : - Reception, cleaners, security staff, gardeners, maintenance men.

Reception , including the new young lady Maria Jesus, are fluent in English (& Spanish of course) and German (Maria still mastering that !)
Personally, I would not stay any where else. In all honesty, I am somewhat reluctant to tell too many people, because I do not want it to be fully booked when I come again ! But ok, they deserve the praise - I may well have just shot myself in the foot.

There are 7 blocks, and just 4 floors ( plus 2 penthouses on the very top of each block)

Every appartment has a sea view ( and that MEANS a sea view - its only 200 metres away) and elevated on the high ground , so you have none of the usual annoyances of sea-view over the top of other dvelopments.
You can hear the waves on the shore, see a panoramic Blue Med, smell the salty sea.
What might put you off ? - Nothing from my point of view, but if you don't have a car you need to realize you have a half-hour walk along the beach into Torrox - but it's easy flat and enjoyable.
There are chiringitos / merenderos along the way so you don't really need to go into Torrox Costa anyway - apart from food shopping (They have a shop in Reception with all necessities stocked, as well as beer, wine etc. Its not a lot dearer than the Torrox shops.
Buses pass regularly anyway, so its not a problem.
Underground garage if you need it, but very ample parking on the Calaceite own roads all round the appartments. (never even half-full)
Lots of appartments in the Torrox / Nerja area are 30+ years old, so that can spell problems particularly with Utilities. but Calaceite was finished 2009, so everything is new.
Its the little details that make a difference, & those are the items they pay attention to here (new matresses on a regular basis for example)
Dogs are welcome (well-behaved please ! It is Residential here as well as Tourists)
For those who like Nature - you can walk straight out into the foot-hills from Calaceite, and see a myriad of wild flowers (Spring) birds (look out for Woodchat shrike, Iberian Shrike, Hoopoes, blue Rock thrush, Booted eagle, Alpine swift + many, many more) also hundreds of wild rabbits, lizard etc.
It's very safe here, and you feel that as you stroll around - that's another plus. The same cannot be said about some of the busier tourist locations furter afield.

The temperature throughout winter has mostly been 16C to 21C. sometimes a wind can make it feel cooler, but compared with temperatures hovering around zero in Northern Europe , there really is no contest. Overnight it has been 13C to 16C mostly - wonderful to sleep with open windows listening to the waves, with no need for central heating.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view, sunny large terraces, modern appliances. There is no AC noise at all. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heynewlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Thank you very much for this amazing review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the winter months with us at Fuerte Calaceite. Hopefully we will see you next winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Beautiful appartment well equipped, clean and with a beautiful sea view and all day sun at the large terras. We enjoyed. Nice people at reception to help you in any case. The only minor is that you need a car to visit Torrox and or Nerja, however a bus connection is available in front of complex. Distance max 5 minites. We will come back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henk L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Thank you very much for this great review of your stay at Fuerte Calaceite and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us and I do hope to see you soon again. As the apartments are located between the two coastal towns of Torrox and Nerja a car is needed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay at one of the 3 bedroomed apartments, which we would recommend to anyone looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay, with excellent views and handy for Malaga airport (east 40-50 mins by car). Vincent in reception looked after us superbly, and made us feel very welcome. The beds were luxurious, the kitchen was well fitted with everything we needed for our short stay, and Nerja and Torrox were only 5 minutes in either direction, for coffees, strolls, beaches and lovely restaurants. Extremely good value at approx 200 Euros for 5 people for 3 nights. Swimming pools were lovely, although unheated, so only for the brave at this time of the year! The only VERY minor gripes were the lack of a mirror outside of the bathrooms, which would have been useful in the 2nd double bedroom, without an ensuite, and the lounge could have done with a few cushions to liven the decor and add to the comfort of the settees. Lovely to have heated apartments and a lift up to the second floor. Great to eat breakfast on the balcony in February - two days with sun and 18/19 degrees C, the other 2 days were unfortunately rainy. Thank you for a lovely break.

Room Tip: We asked for a balcony with a view of the setting sun but the only 3 bed apartment available lost th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time and writing this great review about our Apartments Fuerte Calaceite. You are right by telling that the decoration in some apartments is a bit scarce and we will work on it, also the need of a full body mirror is a great suggestion which we will consider.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We love this place, it's quiet and peaceful with beautiful views along the bay.

The apartments are fully furnished, modern, well decorated and clean. There is an outdoor pool basement garage and a mini shop connected to reception.

Nerja is a 5 minute drive away in one direction and Torrox Costa in the other. You need a car as the resort is around an hour's drive from Malaga airport and car hire is quite cheap

There is a wealth of shops and restaurants and places to visit as long as you have a car to take you there. There's no beach in the immediate vicinity you'd have to travel to Torrox Costa or Nerja for this.

It really depends upon what type of holiday you're looking for but we're in our 50's and have quite stressful jobs so we go for the relaxation. The area won't be to everyone's taste but you won't be disappointed with the apartments they're pretty new and quite spacious. We travelled the last week in January and had excellent weather all week (19 degrees plus) so can't complain.

Try it and I hope you have a good holiday

Room Tip: Side view appartments are supposed to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Davlyn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Thank you very much for taking your time in writing a comment on our Apartments Fuerte Calaceite and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us as much as the previous one.

I would like to highlight your comment that the apartments are ideal for relaxation and that a car is needed not just for shopping but also to visit the typical Andalucien White Villages that one can discover and experience the southern way of live.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Fuerte Calaceite was a great choice for the last point of our Andalusia trip. From the very beginning we were upgraded for free to the 3 bedrooms apartment, were offered late checkout for some 14 Euros, so we started to love it from the first minute. Perfect sea-view, spacious balcony (and the apartment as well) makes the rest comfortable and relaxing. The parking (each building has its own garage) is complementary, the only extra we had to pay was Internet, at 9 Euros/device/day. The hotel seems to be a great choice for the Summer family stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexey_from_Moscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Fuerte Calaceite and I hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
2.1 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
1.9 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
3.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
281 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,874 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite

Address: Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Fuerte Calaceite Hotel Torrox
Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite Torrox, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing