We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartment, brilliant views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great apartment, brilliant views”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in September, getting a little cooler but were not disappointed with our stay. Really quiet area, besides seeing people at the pool didn't see any guests around the rooms. We originally weren't going to hire a car but it you definitely need one. Nerja is the more tourist area with the shops, bars, etc with Torrox being more typically Spanish with a nice market square and restaurants. The apartment we stayed in was fantastic, spacious and beautiful views. All amenities provided, fridge, oven, microwave, TV (engish channels to) and sun beds on balcony. Helpful staff, gave advice on where to go and taxi numbers. Will look to visit again!
 

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JimAnders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time in writing a review of your stay at the apartments Fuerte Calaceite and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    105
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
122
133
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chelyabinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

High furnished, spacious and clean apartments is pretty new. The main thing you have is the beautiful sea view. We had apartment with large terrace so we could spend a lot of time outside: to have meal, sun bath, play with a child. Double toilet is also comfortable. It's better to have a car to live there. We were surprised to find full equiped kitchen with different ware, oven, large refr. And three types of machine: washing, drying, dishwash. It makes your stay very comfortable. It's also has easy access by the lift from a parking. In 5 min walk you have a good beach. In 5-10 min drive you also have centers of Nerja and Torrox costa with their sights, restaurants, bars and walking area. The trip to beautiful Malaga takes just 35 min.
The quality of cleaning service should be improved.

Room Tip: Two bed apartment with front sea view would be always great. At the 0 level it'll have large ter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pavel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
First of all thank you for writing a revue on your stay at the Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite and I love to read that you enjoyed your holidays with your family. I also appreciate your comment on the cleaning and we will try to improve it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed at Fuerte Calcaite in october 2013. It was a great stay, with wonderful service and a beautiful appartment with a magnificent view of the ocean. We arrived after hours but were guided over the phone by the on-call service person.

Room Tip: blocks 4,6 and 7 have the best view. Block 1 is faced to the west which gives the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time in writing a revue of your stay at the Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite and I am pleased that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This apartment complex is nicely tucked away from the usual Costa Del Sol madness so you have a real opportunity to get away from it all.
There are nice amenities in Torrox, supermarkets, bars etc etc and a nice promenade with a quiet beach.
The apartment was a nice size, three bedrooms 2 balconies with amazing views over the sea and pool. A well equipped kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher, fridge freezer and plenty of plates etc. TV had English channels as well as a DVD player.
The only downsides are the pool in unheated, just about OK for the kids but there was no way I was going in. Lack of sunbeds but this has been covered in other reviews and the separate kids pool was out of use.
Be aware that if you decide to use the underground car park there is a charge (fair enough) but the spaces are tiny. We had hired a VW Golf and it was too big to fit in any space and allow you to open any doors.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time in describing your holidays at the apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your family.
You are right when you mention the lack of sunbeds at the pools. Unfortunately many sunbeds broke this season and we are already trying to find a solution for next year. Furthermore I also agree that some of our underground parking spaces lack the space to park a normal size car. If possible we try to allocate a different parking space but as each apartment has a predefined parking area it is not always possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We (family of 4) stayed for 2 nights. Lovely modern 2-bed apartment up a short but steep road from the beach road. We had paid a bit extra for a sea view which was probably worth it. Easy check-in and no requirement for deposit. Apartment was very fully equipped, even had dishwasher, washing machine etc so you could stay very comfortably for much longer. You can pay a few euros for underground parking or park for free outside in what looked like a very safe place. There are several small and good value restaurants at the back of the beach (10 minutes walk or 2 minutes' drive), or you can self-cater. The pool is lovely but there are insufficient sunbeds. The nearby beach is not amazing but typical of the area and quite scenic. Overall we thought this was a great place and I would think one of the best options in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidLD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thank you very much for describing your stay at the Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite and I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your short visit. I have also taken notice of the lack of sunbeds at the pool and we will try to fix it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here in mid October. The weather was fabulous (warm enough to swim and sunbathe) and we took full advantage of our wonderfully spacious balcony with glorious sea views. We booked a one-bed apartment but for some reason (presumably because it was fairly quiet) we were upgraded to a luxurious, beautifully appointed two-bed apartment. The pools were lovely, with great views over the sea - although I can imagine they would get very busy in high season.

You definitely need a car to make the most of this holiday. The apartments are a 30 min walk from the nearest town along a busy road and the shop at the complex is very basic. Malaga Car Hire were reliable and we got a good deal. If you want to explore the region, Competa is a lovely traditional village in the hills nearby (40 min drive) with a fantastic market. We also enjoyed a day trip to Granada (1hr 15min drive) and visited the wonderful Alhambra Moorish palaces there (advance booking is essential!). Closer to home, we preferred Nerja to Torrox and loved it's charming bakeries, grocers and charcuteries selling great local produce.

I would certainly recommend these wonderful apartments, which are much more luxurious than the 3 star rating suggests.

Tip: if you arrive after hours, make sure your phone is charged and you are able to call a Spanish number, as you will need to phone the staff to pick up your key.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Love to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite and that you took your time to explore the wonderful surroundings with its typical white villages as well the richness of our local gastronomy and culture.

As you mentioned the arrival after hours I would like to inform that our reception is open from 10 am till 7 pm and that any late comers will have to call the following number 0034 689 233 867 and a staff member will arrive within 10 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Not much to say on this place other than we wouldn't go back for a few reasons.

1. Its in the middle of nowhere and lacks atmosphere.
2. You need to cross a busy road to get to a small beach.
3. Small pools meaning rammed when its busy.
4. A small amount of sunbeds, take your own
5. Apartment was dirty and drab.
6. Expensive for what it was.
7. Very thin walls so you can hear next door, upstairs etc.
8. And so on

Room Tip: Do not go in apartment 2131.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATFuerteCalaceite, Manager at Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking your time in writing about your vacation at the Apartments Fuerte Calaceite. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and in order to make sure that other guests make the right choice before booking I will answer some of your points as I believe they are important.

First of all I would like to point out that the apartments are not part of an hotel complex but that they are within a private community of owners and that all the apartments that we rent out are privately owned.

The apartments are situated on a hill between the two sea side towns of Torrox and Nerja and we have no restaurants or bars within the community. Also very important there are no shops or restaurants nearby or any other entertainment. Fuerte Calaceite is ideal to relax with amazing views over the Mediterranean sea. Also very important is the need to rent a car in order to go shopping or visit the typical andalusien villages of Nerja, Frigiliana or Competa that are nearby. One may also do longer trips to Granada, Malaga or Antequerra all within 1 hour distance by car.

Also the apartments are not frontline beach but front line sea as they are build on a hill and if one wants to go to the beach, which is about 300 meters from the apartments, they will need to cross a road with moderate traffic.

Within the community you will also find 2 swimming pool areas that have a great size for the community with sun beds. Unfortunately many of the sun beds broke this summer and have not been replaced yet but will be soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
2.1 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
1.9 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 7 in Torrox
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#6 of 7 in Torrox
30 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
758 reviews
3.5 mi away
Santa Rosa Hotel
Santa Rosa Hotel
#7 of 7 in Torrox
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite

Property: Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite
Address: Carretera Nacional 340A Km. 286,1, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fuerte Hoteles, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Fuerte Calaceite Hotel Torrox
Apartamentos Fuerte Calaceite Torrox, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing