We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Restaurant Taj Mahal
Ranked #23 of 154 Restaurants in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Torrox, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We live locally and visit the Taj Mahal frequently. They operate an "all you can eat" menu for 11.95 euros per person so ignore the prices on the menu. All the main dishes are fairly small but you can order as many main and side dishes as you want so bear that in mind. If you are still hungry you can always order more. Food is always good and although service is sometimes slow, it is worth waiting for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    41
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Indian Meal”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Ate here within the last few days, and have to say I don't understand the really negative reviews. Myself and husband picked off the main menu, and had poppadom starters with the usual mango and pickle trays, then a different curry each with rice and keema naan. We really enjoyed our meal, and the waiter/ manager gave us a very good and friendly service, even giving our 6 year old daughter a small plate of chicken pakoras with salad, which he didn't charge for, as she had already eaten earlier and want a meal. This was a really nice gesture, considering we hadn't asked for it. We really enjoyed our meals, and would definately visit again. The portions were certainly not small or lacking in flavour.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank torremendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Strange twist”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Popped back to the Taj Mahal for our Friday Night curry, and what a surprise we had, no the food was still as good as ever, the drinks lovely & cold, and a very nice atmosphere with good service. However what had happened to "mine host", he was smiling & chatting away, just rounded off a lovely meal a treat

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtpacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still good value”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I cannot understand the criticism that the prices have gone up but the portions have got smaller. The whole point is that you can order what you like (only king prawns cost extra) for the set price of 11,95€ so you can have a good choice of different dishes. They do a range of dishes that other local restaurants do not provide - their vegetable makkhani and kadahi are particularly delicious and full of fresh veg, unlike another local restaurant whose vegetable curry was just a brown mush.
We eat here quite regularly and whilst standards did drop a year or so ago, the food we've had this year cannot be faulted. We have been in a group of 6 a couple of times and had a huge array of dishes to choose from, and you could not eat this well this cheaply in any of the other Indian restaurants in this area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Milly074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Tarragona, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We complained about the small portion sizes so they made us some more. They just handed us menus and didn't even say there was an 'all you can eat' menu! So we paid full menu price for ridiculously small portions. And a very miserable waitress who didn't smile once.....won't be coming here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AyaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Taj Mahal also viewed

Torrox, Costa del Sol
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Restaurant Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing