We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“good location and value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jing

Jing
Ranked #41 of 146 Restaurants in Torrox
Price range: US$8 - US$21
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Competa, Spain
Level Contributor
249 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“good location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Been here several times over the years went again this January not very busy but to be expected that time of year. the service has always been good and quick. The food is good basic chinese food with generous proportions the house wine is very cheap to. Over all it is a good value place to eat we will more than likely go again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    27
    8
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa del Sol, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An excellent Chinese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We visited Torrox in November and ate at this wonderful restaurant twice. The service was efficient and friendly - the staff even tolerated my limited Chinese without laughing too much! I loved the glasses in which my pre dinner gin and tonic was served.
We ordered sizzling platters of duck with leeks and ginger and chicken in black bean sauce. The portions were generous and delicious! The duck in particular was perfection, with crispy skin. The black bean sauce was spiced with just enough chilli to not be obvious rather an after taste which is what I believe the Chinese call a "dancing flame".
The house white wine was reasonable and drinkable. I rounded off with a carajillo, a happy combination of East and West!
We visited again on the last night of our stay - call us boring and predicable - we had the same thing ( a first for us, honestly!). Happy to report it was just as good as the first time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A very average Chinese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Service was very fast, even though we did not take the Menu del dia. Portions were quite big, but nothing special to say about the food. We got our stomaches full and that was the purpose of the visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank omertad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Extremely cheap and cheerful chinese food on the promenade”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I don't do it anywhere else, I usually seek out the best most authentic chinese restaurant...but in Spain the sport of chinese restauranting is finding the cheapest edible Menu del Dia. I've seen some for €3.50 but usually they're around €6 for 3 courses...which you can't complain about.

Jing's would be a poor-average chinese in any English town but in the Torrox area they actually serve the best quality food and the Menu del Dia is extremely good value for money...I don't know how they make money.

So if you're staying in Torrox and want a break from Brazilian BBQs and fried seafood then try Jings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CazTrav30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I visit Jing on the promenade of Torrox from time to time and everytime it's a pleasure to go there. The food is great, service is kind and friendly. The restaurant is placed on the beach promenade of Torrox and you can enjoy a very nice view of the beach and sunset in the evening. Definitely worth a visit if you are in the area of Torrox.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jing also viewed

Torrox, Costa del Sol
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 
Torrox, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Jing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing