We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and convenient”
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 as it was close to relatives that we were visiting.
The hotel is a basic 2* b&b that looks like it's been converted from an old Spanish farmhouse, but it was reasonably cheap and both clean and comfortable inside so no complaints from us.
The owners are a young couple I think and speak a reasonable amount of English. They have a living room area right next to reception that had a roaring log fire when we first arrived and the guy who checked us in was happy to give us a choice of bedroom options as it was out of season and they had plenty of unoccupied rooms. Other staff we encountered only knew a small amount of English though.
The room we chose was front facing so had views down towards Torrox Costa and the sea from its small balcony. The walls and doors must be quite thin though because you can hear people talking downstairs in the living area while you are in the bedroom. Would be a problem if you have issues with noise, though I couldn't comment whether other rooms in the hotel would be similarly affected.
Breakfast is basic continental, nothing flashy. The hotel also has its own swimming pool and tennis court, though these both looked to be closed for the winter.
Location-wise it's not particularly close to anywhere, standing as it does on the side of a hill and next to a housing estate (where our relatives were based) in between the old village of Torrox Pueblo and the touristier Torrox Costa. We were able to walk down to the coast itself from the hotel in about 20 min.
All in all a comfortable and convenient hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    25
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
63
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We arrived here a little concerned by the immediate surroundings of the town (Torrox Costa is fairly bland and dull) but the hotel itself is charming, very peaceful and clean. The new staff (Spanish but speak good English) couldn't have been more helpful with everything (we were travelling with a small baby). Recommend visiting old Torrox rather than the Costa bit for eating nearby! Excellent value for money, bit tricky to find if using their directions! But good signage from main road up to hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizxieG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudewater, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A very nice place with very friendly owners. We are confused in the sense that it caries the name B&B and hotel. Well, maybe it is both indeed. Who cares, if the place is located nice and Lisette and Michel are super helpfull. Well Lisette we hope you recovered from flu in the meantime. We will check it out next time.
Clean rooms. Good breakfast. Consider, for large Dutchpeople, the bed is a bit small. Will we go again, yes, for sure.
Was the location easy to find, yes, if you follow the instructions from the website. Just watch out for the last turn to the left. There is a sign, yes, but in the dark it is a bit hard to see.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaFi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

My friend and I stayed here after arriving in Malaga at 9pm. Thinking the hotel was in town we ended up taking a 75euro taxi ride and getting lost to get to the hotel in Torrox. This place was so difficult to find and the road there was creepy. If you are heading there you should have a car and go when it is still light out. Rooms were very well air conditioned. Breakfast was great. The female owner was very very nice. This place could be great, just wasnt what we were expecting.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We recently stayed at this Rural Hotel overlooking the Meditteranean Sea at Torrox for 2 nights. The proprietors Lisette and Michel were so pleasant and helpfull, nothing to much trouble. The Cortijo is rustic and very comfortable, the bedrooms were well appointed and Lisette explained everything about them on our arrival. The relaxed buffet breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices and could be taken inside, on the terrace, or in the garden, again Lisette was on hand to advise and suggest. There was the opportunity of good conversation with the multi cultural clients in residence at the hotel, an outside swimming pool is available. The beach is 800 meters away, wintersports and skiing are available one and a hours away, plenty of shopping and sightseeing in Malaga and Granada

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restaurant020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed for one night whilst driving through Spain, the dutch couple that have bought this place a year ago are lovely. It is more like a bed and breakfast, easy access to Torrox Costa, note that this place is not in Malaga, it is actually 50 miles out of Malaga, it sits on a hilltop with lovely sea views. Breakfast was fine. My only gripe is the towels, they are VERY thin and felt like sandpaper

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rocloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

A really enjoyable stay,very friendly,Family run business.We had a really enjoyable stay and will return in the future.All areas were clean,Pool was cleaned out Daily.
My only gripe would be directions shown on Booking.com ,coming off of the Autovia from the Airport it shows the Hotel being in the Village up the hill,it is infact down the hill and to the right ,following signposts to it,this will save a little extra drinking time and a few arguments!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank willandelva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Malaga Playa
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 6 in Torrox
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#5 of 6 in Torrox
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa Hotel
Santa Rosa Hotel
#6 of 6 in Torrox
3.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya

Property: Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya
Address: Avenida Los Aguacates 20, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an outdoor seasonal pool, tennis court and terraces with sea views, Cortijo Amaya rustic-style hotel has been adapted from an Andalusian country home and is a 15-minute walk from the beach. There are numerous shops and restaurants within walking distance. Rooms at the Rural Cortijo Amaya come with air conditioning, heating, TV and a private bathroom. They include free Wi-Fi access. The hotel serves a full breakfast each morning. Drinks are available all day. Staff at reception can provide information on several outdoor activities in the surrounding area. Free parking is available on site Easy access to the A-7 Motorway, which leads to Malaga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya Torrox, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing