We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We have just spent a lovely restfull weekend away at this lovely characteristic hotel.It has a very relaxed atmosphere with a quiet pool and great outside seating for both the evening and if you want to take your breakfast out in the morning which I might add the homemade bread was a real joy.

Room Tip: We have been on several occasions and only perhaps find the front rooms a little noisier at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

Lovely farmhouse setting high Torrox Costa with good views of coast. I understand it has been taken over last year and is an absolute hidden gem.
Free WiFi throughout hotel.
Superb delicious Full English breakfast (on request); I had bacon, poached egg and beans, proper coffee served in a Cafetiere, also self service toast,fruit juice, fruits, yoghurts, cereals etc etc; you will not leave here hungry! When its sunny and warm (most days!) you can take your breakfast to the outside tables which is very pleasant.
About once a week they have an evening barbecue for guests only which I highly recommend as its really tasty using fresh fish and meat ingredients.
Good sized free car park, some of it sheltered (a relief because in August parking on the costa is very hard to find).
Swimming pool (just for hotel users) and pleasant poolside lounging areas to relax and tennis courts.
If you want a specially quiet room tell them when you book and I'm sure they'll make sure you're happy, although I found it quiet.The owners speak English, Dutch and Spanish and are very friendly and helpful. There is a laundry service aswell.
So, in summary, I'm so pleased with the Cortijo Amaya that I've booked my third stay there. Excellent!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitch000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Very interesting building and friendly staff, we had a nice room at the front with a balcony and distant views. It is a small old farm style hotel, which is very echoey and very homey. Breakfast is acceptable if a little basic, we had to share a plate for our eggs and bacon. It was good value, you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: The lounge area is at the bottom of the stairs, so anyone talking late into the night (1pm in our ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fisher_JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The B&B is in a converted Andalucian farmhouse located at the top of a hill behind Torrox Costa with sweeping views of the coast. We had Room 8 at the front of the house with views of the garden, Torrox Costa and the sea from its window and tiny balcony. There is a cosy lounge room with a log fire and a sunny breakfast room where despite being the only guests, we had a lovely breakfast that included cereal, fresh bread and a selection of cheese and ham. New owners Vince and Saskia were very friendly and helpful. There are some great cafes and restaurant on the beach promenade which is a short walk away and there are more dining options in Nerja if you have a car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have stayed here several times before as it’s close to relatives that we visit in Spain and I have written a review for this hotel previously but felt that I had to write another one as the hotel is under new management.
Saskia and Vince were hugely welcoming when we stayed in December with nothing too much trouble for them. We requested a particular bedroom and got it; arrived very late at night and had breakfast brought to our room the next morning because we were late getting out of bed and we received free champagne when the owners found out I was celebrating my birthday while I was there.
We would have returned to this hotel regardless of who the owners were because it ticks all the boxes for us in terms of what we need when we visit, but now we will be looking forward to our next trip to Torrox and Cortijo Amaya all the more!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times, most recently in April. The B&B is basic but very clean, comfortable and suits us perfectly. It is located in a housing estate (for want of a better word) and it takes about 15 minutes to walk down to the main stretch of Torrox and be warned that it's up hill on the way back! The young couple who own the B&B are pleasant, the man has the better English of the two but everyone is very polite and always say hello, goodnight etc. when they see you. The breakfast again is basic; coffee and juice, fruit, cereal, bread and milk. Oh and cakes, they love the Magdalena cakes, but it is perfectly adequate for the price we paid and if you were hungry later on then you could walk into Torrox and visit one of the many bars or chirunguitos on the beach for tostada and cafe sombre. Will definitely be using this hotel again, I'm more than pleased with our previous stays.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouJones23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Stayed here in Jan 2013 as it was close to relatives that we were visiting.
The hotel is a basic 2* b&b that looks like it's been converted from an old Spanish farmhouse, but it was reasonably cheap and both clean and comfortable inside so no complaints from us.
The owners are a young couple I think and speak a reasonable amount of English. They have a living room area right next to reception that had a roaring log fire when we first arrived and the guy who checked us in was happy to give us a choice of bedroom options as it was out of season and they had plenty of unoccupied rooms. Other staff we encountered only knew a small amount of English though.
The room we chose was front facing so had views down towards Torrox Costa and the sea from its small balcony. The walls and doors must be quite thin though because you can hear people talking downstairs in the living area while you are in the bedroom. Would be a problem if you have issues with noise, though I couldn't comment whether other rooms in the hotel would be similarly affected.
Breakfast is basic continental, nothing flashy. The hotel also has its own swimming pool and tennis court, though these both looked to be closed for the winter.
Location-wise it's not particularly close to anywhere, standing as it does on the side of a hill and next to a housing estate (where our relatives were based) in between the old village of Torrox Pueblo and the touristier Torrox Costa. We were able to walk down to the coast itself from the hotel in about 20 min.
All in all a comfortable and convenient hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrox
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Malaga Playa
1.5 mi away
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
Urban Dream Torrox Costa
#2 of 2 in El Morche
27 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Casa
Hotel La Casa
#2 of 8 in Torrox
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Santa Rosa Hotel
Santa Rosa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Torrox
160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costamar
Costamar
#6 of 8 in Torrox
34 reviews
3.8 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya

Address: Avenida Los Aguacates 20, 29793, Torrox, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Torrox
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Torrox
Price Range: £45 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring an outdoor seasonal pool, tennis court and terraces with sea views, Cortijo Amaya rustic-style hotel has been adapted from an Andalusian country home and is a 15-minute walk from the beach. There are numerous shops and restaurants within walking distance. Rooms at the Rural Cortijo Amaya come with air conditioning, heating, TV and a private bathroom. They include free Wi-Fi access. The hotel serves a full breakfast each morning. Drinks are available all day. Staff at reception can provide information on several outdoor activities in the surrounding area. Free parking is available on site Easy access to the A-7 Motorway, which leads to Malaga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rural Cortijo Amaya Torrox, Costa Del Sol, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing