We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,888)
Filter reviews
1,888 results
Traveller rating
461
772
410
136
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
772
410
136
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt water water park free bus evening entertainment punta prima beach toasties great holiday shower cubicle kids club splash world salad entertainment team bar closes plenty of choice children's buffet bar staff three star
Filter
Updating list...
1,246 - 1,251 of 1,888 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We had a great time at the sur menorca staff always friendly very good food very clean rooms .on the down side we were all inclusive and as the nearest place to the hotel is punta prima so you do tend to rely on the snacks provided when i say snacks i mean SNACK as the only thing available was a cheese and ham toastie that was cold on the inside.parents had to pay for other snacks throught the day and icecreams for the children snacks were limited to half an hour 3 times a day also drinks were limited to brandy vodka whisky rum and larger.if snacks and icecream for the children was provided it would be a great stay

Room Tip: pool view
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Edd53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

If you are looking for a great location for a relaxing holiday on the quiet and picturesque island of Menorca then this could be just the place for you. My wife and I booked at the last minute and stayed for a week on the half board tariff.
The hotel itself is a large one by Menorcan standards and well known within the Punto Prima area. It is in a perfect location and well served by public transport.
Arrival and reception was dealt with warmly and efficiently. We had requested an upgraded room with sea view and this was provided for us. Our room was on the pool side of the hotel, facing the stage from where the evening entertainment was provided. For us this was a benefit - we could watch the shows from our balcony while sipping tea and coffee that we had made in our room (using our travel kettle). If we had wanted peace and quiet in the evenings we would have been disappointed as the shows run through to 10 or 10.30pm and can be loud. The entertainment was of varying standards. The 'Face to Face' tribute act were superb; others were less professional but still entertaining. Having said that, the show is free so if it's good it's a bonus, if it's not then go out for a walk!
The rooms are bright, modern and functional. The bathroom was fine with plentiful hot water in the showers. Beds (2 singles placed together) were made and towels changed daily. The rooms have air con and TV showing a number of English language channels (including BBC1) but there are no tea/coffee making facilities provided. This is fine if you are all-inclusive as drinks are readily available all day, but if on a lesser tariff you may wish to take a travel kettle.
The hotel is situated about 20 minutes walk from the beach - but a free shuttle service is provided every 20 minutes. Punta Prima is a small cove with a lovely, sandy beach and a small range of restaurants and a Spar supermarket and bakery.
The hotel pool is very clean and well maintained. There are plentiful seating areas around the pool and hotel grounds with good availability of loungers. Shade is limited, though, so if you are not a sun worshipper think carefully where you sit. Menorca is known for its sea breezes - these can lull you into a false sense of security (as my burned torso testified after day 1!)
Meals are served buffet style. The restaurant can be rather busy but there is a small 'adults only' area which is very peaceful. Staff keep tables clear and change cloths between customers. The meals themselves are well prepared and very attractively served. We found good varierty and plenty on offer. We paid budget prices (less than £300 each for a half board tariff) so felt the food was excellent value and very plentiful. Soft drinks, beer and wine are freely available with meals. Tea/coffee is only served free with breakfast.
Internet is available free in the reception area and works well.
Menorca is a lovely island with a town situated at either end. Mahon, about 8 miles from the hotel, is the modern day capital. A bus from outside the front door of the hotel takes you there for Euro 1.60 each way and runs every hour. The town is well worth a vist - charming streets, many cafes and shops and a wonderful harbour. At the far end of the island is Cuitadella. Take the bus to Mahon and change at the bus station. It takes about 45 minutes from there but, again, well worth visiting. We visited around midday and found it far too hot - next time we'll go in the early evening.
The downsides to the hotel - it can be a bit 'Butlins' at times, with the children's entertainment team trying to engage you in games and activities, but we never felt pressured into taking part and found the team to be friendly. The room safe cost Euro 20 for a week - which seemed rather high but did include insurance cover.
We hope to be able to visit again. Whether travelling with children or, as we did, as a couple we would sincerely recommend the Sur Menorca.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the entertainment are useful and get the shade during the morning.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ced H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Excellent value for money. Staff really, really friendly.
Food super, but need to curb appetite to avoid piling on the pounds!
Quite Island with lots to see with excellent bus service if you have not got a rental car.
Our booking is already confirmed for next year.
If you have children and/or on a tight budget - this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silentwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We travelled here in June for 12 nights with our 2 children aged 6 and 11 yrs. Have been to menorca several times and love the island and people, and this holiday didnt let us down. Punta prima itself is still pretty low key, but enough supermarkets, gift shops and restaurants for us, and the most perfect white sandy beach which doesnt get over crowded like some of the other more popular tourist beaches on the island. Binebecca beach is also idyllic and a short scenic train ride away which the kids loved. The hotel was faultless, from our arrival we were greeted with friendly and helpful staff, and they all remained this way throughout the holiday. The waiters are worth their weight in gold, and the bar staff work hard to keep queues to a minimum, we never waited more than 1 minute to be served the whole holiday. The rooms were typically spanish, but very very clean, the cleaners came every day and left the rooms spotless. The food is very varied, always able to find something different, but the favourite salads and rice dishes always on hand. Even the kids were spoilt for choice, and a great opportunity for them to try new tastes like seafood and continental meats etc. Breakfasts were fit for a king! San Miguel, red. white and rose wine on tap throughout meals and usual soft drinks and water, bar service by pool. Entertainment was excellent for all ages, very good tribute bands of ABBA, ROBBIE, QUEEN, etc, not tacky but they got everyone clapping and joining in the favourite songs! The daytime entertainers piched it just right, things going on if you want to join in, but no hard sale or being dragged up if you didnt want to, they were great with the kids and seem to really enjoy their job. We have never goen back to same place twice, but we have today booked for next year at same time, as couldnf fault it, and is excellent value for money! Well done to all staff at hotel, long may it continue!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank maxgrace30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We built this holiday ourselves and we saved at least £800. the hotel was excellent value for money. The food was exactly what you would expect, lots of choice, salads, rice, fruit and always a selection of hot meat and beautiful fish. Our kids aren't fussy so there was always something they liked. The all inclusive drinks were ok, although my husband drinks dark rum and they did not have this, but there was white rum and other options. The pools were always very clean and we never struggled to get a sun lounger. the day time and evening entertainment for the kids was excellent, yes the mini disco is close to the pool, we knew this before we booked so can't complain. Our only down point was that we were allocated a 2 bed apartment and would have preferred one of the 2 bed bungalows, but for what we paid were more than happy.
Would definitely return, if they get rid of the cockrels which wake you up every morning at 5.00am........

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindsandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews