We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“menorca 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Club Sur Menorca
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Travelled hear with my partner for 1 week in august Hotel was basics bit dated but very clean staff was very helpfull and extremely friendly food good and with adults only dinning area this was great if you need a bit peace and quite drinks plentiful...great location...pool a bit crowded in high season but could find plenty space to chill out in gardens enjoyed this hotel great for price we paid

Room Tip: Chalet looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank msfoster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

605 - 611 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

A very nice welcoming hotel, great staff, but, it's getting tired and dated and in need of a refurb. The evening entertainment was also comical, once the kids disco had finished, which was fine, if it was left to the hotel entertainment staff then you are in for a very bizarre evening! The outside acts that came in were generally very good, good food, good drinks selection, nice pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Travelled here with my girlfriend for a 1 week stay in July 2014. The hotel is not too far from the airport in Mahon and took around 25 - 30 minutes which was a pretty pleasant journey. We were the first stop and were the only ones getting off at this hotel. The reception staff were very quick and spoke good English.

Our room was on the third floor and had a balcony facing the pool area with a nice ocean view. the corridor down to the room was very dark and long as there are only lifts at one side of the hotel. The bed was two single beds pushed together and the sheets were nice and clean everyday. Only one extra pillow in the wardrobe. The room as how you would expect a hotel of this level to be. Only complaint would be the very small shower which had a small amount of mould in the top corner. the air conditioning was great but only turns on once balcony door is shut - which makes sense.

The décor of the rest of the hotel was very nice and appeared that the reception area had recently been refurbished. There was also plenty of sofa areas indoors to escape the heat during the middle of the day. The whole complex is pretty large and also has apartments for self catering. The photos on the internet do not give it justice of how nice it actually is.

The food as great for the most part. There appears to be a large variety but much of it is duplicated. There is a child's buffet available from 7 - 8:30 pm. I would recommend that you try to get in for this time if you are a picky eater. Chips were available most days. Overall, not being picky and being adventurous, I enjoyed the food.

The bars were excellent. As with most all inclusive hotels they close at 11pm. Cocktails are not available on all inclusive but were not expensive. The house beer is San Miguel and all the pop are proper brands. Staff were great and were not stingy on the amount of alcohol they added to your drinks!

Entertainment was pretty poor all in all. The Freddie Mercury tribute was fantastic. Other than that the rest were very cheesy typical entertainment, but who goes on holiday for the entertainment?

The pool area was very nice but did not have very many umbrellas. The only ones they had were static and reserved by 7am. It was not difficult to get beds as there were plenty around the pool. There is also a grassed area down by the road which is a great place to get away from the kids in the pool or the animation team if you don't want to get involved with them. There was always plenty of room down there. The life guard was the perfect mix of, lenient enough to allow things such as diving, but still stopping people doing ridiculous things.

The animation team were pretty good. There was multiple activities during the day and they also came around with small 30 second mini games in between also.One day an third party came in with a huge inflatable fun-house for the kids floating in the pool. This did, however, cost a few euros to go on.

Outside of the hotel is pretty quiet. It does feel pretty secluded from much else and even though it sits on the side of what looks like a main road, there is very little traffic. There is a quaint fishing village just opposite which is very nice and has some great rock pools. The walk to Punta Prima takes about 20 minutes and you can either walk straight up the road, or along the sea front. Punta Prima has a lovely beach and also a small market. There is also a free bus there and back.

Mahon is about 30 minutes bus ride away. The best way to get there is to wait on the bus until the very last stop at the bus station. It costs around £1.70. You can then walk to the harbour which takes around 5 - 10 minutes. Mahon is very quaint and old fashioned with small cobbled streets and stone buildings. The harbour is beautiful with lots of different restaurants and shops.

Loved our stay here and would definitely book again. Overall, no major complaints at all!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank Cal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Have just returned home from 2 weeks at the Hotel Sur Menorca and we had a great holiday. The hotel is a little dated and is due a refurbishment but the facilities are great and the standard of room cleanliness cannot be faulted. The food was of a really good standard and there was lots of choice. There were plenty of sunbeds, although you had to be out early if you wanted a particular spot by the pool. The grassed area was quieter and there were usually sunbeds available. A small complaint was the multi sports pitch which could have done with being swept as there was lots of sand on it which made it quite slippy but overall this is a great hotel and will be even better next year with the planned water park.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a good view of the entertainment and can be noisy but the music stop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great flight from Bournemouth. Arrived around 12ish, hotel was lovely and clean, could do with some updating but maid service everyday made sure the rooms were clean and fresh towels were provided. The reception staff were really helpful. Our rep Jess was great and had lots of information and advice. Food was great, plenty of different types of food and the kids menu was always different. There were never too many ques for food or drinks. The entertainment team were great and worked really hard to keep the kids entertained. My son is hoping to go back next year, so hopefully we will be returning and look forward to the new water park.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lucy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have never committed a crime. Actually, that's not quite true - I used to tape songs off the charts on Radio 1, I may have exceeded the speed limit on occasions, and I might have taken one or two unprescribed, erm, 'medicines'. My point is, I have never committed a crime serious enough to warrant a prison sentence, so I have no idea what incarceration at Her Majesty's Pleasure is like. Ten days at the Hotel Sur Menorca, however, may have given me a little insight.

On arrival you are given a wristband that you mustn't remove, the building has that blocky look reminding one of cells in rows, the rooms are on the claustrophobic side and many of the staff are world-weary, gruff and remind you regularly of the petty rules ("you cannot sit at that table", "shoes must be worn in reception", "you cannot take your drink from the restaurant to the bar area", "you must not jump into the pool fully clothed at midnight" - actually that last one is probably fair enough. My wife and her cousin had been hammering the sangria).

HOWEVER, before you're put off altogether, the jail analogies end there. The kids had an absolute ball. We've just got back and towards the end of our ten days the pool was a little too packed with rude French people. That, promise, is the last criticism. Actually, no I've thought of one more! The juice. Yes, the juice. A trifling detail, obviously, but the juice from the machine in the restaurant is just horrendous. If you do go, just take a sip of the pineapple juice! If that stuff has passed through the same postcode as a pineapple then I'm a millionaire. It tastes like the drips tray from the dodgiest pub in town mixed with washing up liquid. THAT, I swear, IS now the last criticism!

The entertainment staff - Katrina (one for the dads), Rafa and the other girl whose name temporarily escapes me - were absolutely incredible, working from 10am til 11pm six days a week. Their energy and patience were astounding. Whatever they're being paid isn't nearly enough. The bar and restaurant staff were markedly less friendly but dishing up all-inclusive grub, rum and cokes and weak lager for 12 hours a day in 30c does not lend itself to good humour, one suspects. The food was fair dinkum for three star.

The evening entertainment was a mixed bag but always a good laugh, the kids' clubs, football, table tennis, water polo etc were all terrific. And of course, the kids loved the pool.

The area is absolutely gorgeous. Punta Prima beach is a walk away (little tip - the posh Barcelo hotel you pass on the way lets you use the facilites - mini golf, pool etc, if you buy a drink), Binibequer (a little ride on the mini road train thing) has several stunning beaches and do not leave until you've caught the bus (25 mins) to sublime Mahon (Mao) and gone on the glass-bottom boat ride along the bay.

For the price, and the three-star rating, you won't find a massive amount to moan about. But, being British, like me, you'll no doubt have a damn good try.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Having read previous reviews I was a little anxious about what to expect on arrival. Hotel could do with a little updating but food was plentiful and good quality for three star all inclusive. Plenty of entertainment but sometimes the main pool a little overcrowded for my taste. The entertainment team were really great and worked hard all day.
The entertainment in the evening was OK with some shows better than others the Drifters, ABBA and Brazillian dancers were all great. Agree that removing the wristband at 10:00 was a bit of a pain especially as our pick-up wasn't until 17:15 but as we booked with Thomson we did get a voucher for lunch. Jess the rep was great and always there checking that everything was OK.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Chrispyperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Lluis
14.9 mi away
Club Hotel Aguamarina
Club Hotel Aguamarina
#3 of 6 in Arenal d'en Castell
2,779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Occidental Menorca
Occidental Menorca
#3 of 6 in Punta Prima
2,822 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sol Milanos Pinguinos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,371 reviews
2.2 mi away
PortBlue San Luis
PortBlue San Luis
#1 of 3 in S'Algar
1,564 reviews
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
Barcelo Hamilton Menorca
#3 of 6 in Es Castell
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Club Sur Menorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Club Sur Menorca

Address: Urb. Biniancolla, 07710, Sant Lluis, Menorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Menorca > Sant Lluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Price Range: £83 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Club Sur Menorca 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Club Sur Menorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sur Menorca
Club Hotel Sur Menorca
Hotel Club Sur Menorca Spain - Sant Lluis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing