We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very special dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Biniarroca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Biniarroca Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Certificate of Excellence
chester, england
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“very special dining experience”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

we have stayed and eaten here previously and loved it, but a few years ago now, we thought we would give it another try for my husband's birthday. A memorable front of house staff member was absent, possibly now retired?? but the new guy was a perfect replacement. Service was excellent, faultless. Great menu - too many things that would have really hit the spot so hard to decide. Food was exquisite - crab and prawn timbale fresh and zesty. I followed with the lamb fillet with pea puree and potatoes dauphinoise - my husband had a breathtaking and perfectly cooked fillet of beef with mustard mash and fresh vegetables. No room for dessert just a lovely bottle of wine and coffee with chocholates and a candle to blow out and make a wish! Would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank looking4comfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    34
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
156
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This rural hotel between San Luis and Es Castell is not the easiest to find but is well worth the effort. The two lady proprietors are both artists - one a clothes designer and the other an oil painter and the artistic flair is evident everywhere, from the layout of the gardens and terraces to the table settings to the menu. Three of us dined in the restaurant for dinner and couldn't fault either the quality of the food nor the excellence of the service. My starter of carpaccio of beef and main course of Tempura Langostines were simply presented but superb. At around €50/head inc wine (without desserts) it wasn't cheap but I felt that the whole experience represented decent value. I've dined here before and will be back again. A classy stalwart of the Menorcan dining scene.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I would highly recommend this beautiful rural hotel.

The hotel itself manages to be rustic, cosy and stylish. Being able to eat outdoors for all meals on the terrace or by the pool for lunch is a real treat. The gardens are stunning and the swimming pool is secluded and incredibly relaxing. It's the perfect retreat from the bustle of every day life.

The restaurant for evening meals is the best for fine dining on the whole island. I would highly recommend the Surf and Turf. The wine selection is excellent with Rioja not to be missed. The breakfasts are traditional Menorcan and the chef makes all of the pastries freshly each day. It's the homemade individual touches, such as handpicked flowers on your linen napkins each day, which let you know that you are staying somewhere really special.

The staff are incredibly helpful, attentive and friendly. Many of them speak a number of languages and pride themselves in giving unobtrusive advice about the Island for those who ask. Overall you feel like you are staying with a family who are incredibly proud of the hotel and the Island generally. They strive to ensure that you enjoy your stay.

If you are looking for a relaxing, romantic get away with a partner, this hotel is difficult to beat.

Room Tip: Room 14 is really cosy and romantic. It comes with its own smaller pool which is beautiful and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Having stayed at Biniarrocca for 7 nights at the end of July and now read all the reviews on Trip Advisor, I would like to add mine. I have to say that there are many things that I found very disappointing about the place and the website makes the hotel look far better than it is in reality. The location of the farmhouse itself, the terrace, the gardens and the swimming pool are all beautiful but the hotel itself is run very cheaply. The breakfast selection was very poor - hardly any fresh fruit, processed bread, cheese, etc. and a supplement being harged for a cooked breakfast. As per some of the other reviews, the bedroom was small and dark, didn't feel particularly clean and the air-conditioning was noisy and ineffective during a very hot spell. In fact, one of the sheets on my bed was so old and "bobbled" that I felt quite uncomfortable sleeping on it. The towels too were of the thinnest and poorest quality. The restaurant food is not sophisticated either - very few vegetables were served - but the prices are very expensive. In addition, the whole place felt slightly dusty and grubby. The cushions on the terrace were faded from the sun and looked old, the dining chairs were uncomfortable and had seen better days. Whilst the place is trying to be shabby chic, it needs a serious refurbishment. Would not return or recommend to anybody. The only positive aspect are the lovely staff who are truly delightful.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helena g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adminbiniarroca, Owner at Biniarroca Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear Helena,

Thank you for your review. For more than fifteen years, we have taken our guest feedback very seriously and try to implement any positive ideas that arise. This Rural Hotel is a labor of love and we are disappointed to hear that you and your sister were so unhappy here. My partner and I remember speaking to you both on numerous occasions and would have been happy to have changed your room if you had mentioned your dissatisfaction.

Continental breakfast is included in our room rates , which provides a wide selection of typical menorcan savouries and sweet pastries, along with croissants, toasting bread and baguettes which are actually made daily in house. Yoghurts, seasonal fruit, juices, local cheese and charceuterie are also included. As we try to keep the room rates, which include breakfast and 10% vat, as economical as possible, we are oblidged to charge a negligible supplement for a cooked breakfast. In your case in the month of July the daily room rate including vat was 80€ - £67 per person.

To address a few of your other remarks regarding the property:
Biniarroca is a listed building, your room having the typical Menorcan style smaller window, to keep the sun out in the very hot summer months. We are surprised by your reflections on the air conditioning as our system is completely new and efficient. In addition, towels and linens were replaced this season and rooms are cleaned daily by our competent, full time cleaning staff.

As for the restaurant, I think I will let the other reviews both on trip advisor as well as in a litany of respectable travel magazines speak on our behalf. Food purchase on an island is always a bit pricier, but if you have spent any time dining elsewhere nearby, I think you would find we're a good value for the quality, service and atmosphere provided.

We are pleased that you commended our staff who are, as always, highly praised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit in Surrey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We went to check this hotel out on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there. Although we did not stop overnight (the hotel was full), we dined there to celebrate joint special birthdays. Pre-dinner drinks are served on the terrace, or at your table. The staff are very friendly and efficient.
My carpaccio of Menorcan beef was as good as any I have enjoyed anywhere in the world. It really did melt in the mouth and would have been an outright winner on Masterchef. This was followed by an excellent fillet of wild seabass on herb Dauphinoise potato with a vermouth sauce, and a dark chocolate dessert. The unoaked Chardonnay from the Binifadet Winery a mile or so up the road made the perfect accompaniment and we were offered a glass of cava on the house with dessert. It was a memorable meal, expensive but not outrageously so, and well worth it.
We had a look round the hotel and gardens, and have every intention of staying there in future. It is relatively small, charming, quiet and well situated between Sant Lluis and Es Castell. A real find!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mokey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

If you fancy a treat & getting spruced up give this place a try. You'll have to book & get a road map out, but it's well worth it. The only word to describe my surf & turf (fillet steak & lobster) would be … WOW! Plus the cocktail sorbets for desert were fantastic. Staff always on hand to top up your wine & the GnT's were a delight. 10/10.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMC28283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahon, Spain
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Set in an old farmhouse, this is a lovely hotel with great, friendly staff. Check your room on booking as the garden ones are the best. We had 11 and 12, both large with Big beds....

The pool area is lovely, and they serve light lunches from the pool bar. Breakfast and dinner are served in the pretty restaurant area on the patio to the rear of the hotel. The food is lovely, but beware as the menu doesn't change very often.

A great place for a relaxing stay, but you will need a car to get anywhere, and it is a good 15 minutes to the sea.

Room Tip: 11 and 12, or 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane_eyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Lluis
17.1 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
872 reviews
12.8 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
1,116 reviews
1.9 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
#2 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
136 reviews
17.3 mi away
Artiem Audax Adults Only
Artiem Audax Adults Only
#1 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,769 reviews
23.4 mi away
Casas del Lago Hotel, Spa & Beach Club - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biniarroca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biniarroca Hotel

Property: Biniarroca Hotel
Address: Cami Vell 57, 07710, Sant Lluis, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Sant Lluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sant Lluis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Biniarroca Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Biniarroca is a small stylish boutique hotel, just outside the village of Sant LLuis on the island of Menorca. An oasis of calm, wellbeing and rejuvenation. Extensive gardens, 2 swimming pools and lime stone terraces encourage a relaxing environment to chill out, meditate, paint, write or to simply indulge in delicious cuisine and fine wines in beautiful surroundings. This hotel promotes an adults only environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Biniarroca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biniarroca Hotel Sant Lluis Es
Biniarroca Hotel Spain/Minorca - Sant Lluis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing