We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I have nothing to complain, my favourite resturant on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alcaufar Vell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alcaufar Vell
Ranked #1 of 4 Sant Lluis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I have nothing to complain, my favourite resturant on the island!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

For being such a tiny Island, Menorca has so many incredible resturants and cuisine. I have eaten around the world and can truly say that this may possibly be my favourite resturant to date! The food is delicious, I had the risotto which comes with prawns standing up around the risotto in beautiful design. I savoured every bite, the food is truly delivious. You can eat outside in their garden in the summer and it is almost like a scene from a midsummers night dream, little fairylights under the trees. To top everything off, my sister asked for a Mojito, which they did not have on the menu, - rather than say no, the waiter went and picked some fresh Mint from their herb garden and made a Moijto on demand! - service at its best :) xxx

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marmiterupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    23
    8
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
82
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We stopped here and had a really good stay, the double room we had booked was upgraded to a junior suite, when the bath had problems in this room we were upgraded again to a Master Suite, this had two huge rooms plus en-suite. The staff were pleasant and helpful, the food delicious. This is advertised as a rural hotel and apart from the graded road to get to the hotel we had no complaints. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The sleep quality was due to a banging shutter which could not be closed due to the way the window opened.

Room Tip: Don't get a corner room, if the Tramontana blows in you will know it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Our second time for dinner at this beautiful Hotel.
We had dinner in the garden again, which is absolutely lovely.
The food was on both occasions extremely good, in fact exceptional,albeit the portions were a little on the small side.
The only let down really was the service...there was no 'MaitreD' to watch over the staff & customers to ensure efficient & thoughtful service. Although the staff are very friendly, they are not proactive in asking customers for their requirements in a timely manner.
We ordered a bottle of Cava to start as we had taken friends for dinner, which was very nice, but didn't get our wine until our meal was practically over (remember portions are small...).
The staff seem young and both inexperienced and requiring 'managing', I. E. customer training.
For the prices being charged, the service was certainly unacceptable.
Unfortunately,despite the beautiful ambiance, we shall not be rushing back for dinner...such a shame!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked a double room for just under £200 per night via Expedia. When we were shown our room we were surprised that it had no views at all, the windows were tiny. It was on the top floor, a large room but not somewhere you would want to chill out and read. We asked to change rooms to one with windows you could actually see out of, and were told rather snootily, that it was only a double, and all the doubles were on the top floor and like this - what did we expect in an old property.... (as though we've never been in one before...)
We were finally shown what they call a 'junior suite' on the ground floor (not my idea of one) but we would have to pay extra, but they did cut us a deal of an extra 22 euros a night.
This hotel could be lovely. It is in a very quiet area, nice pool, gardens unloved but the basics are there... however, the furnishings are cheap and shabby, not shabby-chic, just shabby. For this money I expect better. Rusty old bed legs, cheap foam pillows, broken melamine wardrobe walls and even a cheap Van Gogh print, having fallen out of its mount on the wall, just sitting in the frame. No attention to detail by the management. Half a dead tree in the main courtyard, it would not be difficult to prune the tree, plant a few geraniums and weed the main central bed...
Apart from the first receptionist, all the staff were lovely, breakfast good, and the meals we had were varied and interesting. Much more effort needed if these prices are to be justified.

Room Tip: Don't book a double if you want to see anything out of a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OxfordDiners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saunderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This charming old mansion is a delight. Architecture and grounds are typical Spanish provincial and in a peaceful setting. Room was spacious and nice bathroom, with little terrace. Staff were amazingly friendly and obliging. We have a 13month old and they arranged a cot at no notice on Sunday evening (agent forgot to tell the hotel) and nothing was too much trouble. I must say this isn't a child friendly place generally, although the staff would have taken bub home I reckon. We are blessed with a good baby, but other guests were not happy when we turned up for dinner the first night pushing a pram. They all warmed to her over 5 days though.
The restaurant is as good as it gets. Breakfast and dinner are fabulous, but dinner in particular is first class.
We would recommend this to couples, probably not for kids although a young baby would be fine (if they aren't a screamer!) we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevejl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed for five days there on May. The hotel itself is a very old (from 1400!) house, but perfectly adapted for it working as a hotel, without losing any of the charm. For example, it has a very convenient elevator.

Our room was very big and comfortable, with a very nice bathroom. We had dinner a couple of nights at the hotel restaurant, and enjoyed a lot both the food and the service.

Be aware that this hotel is very near to Mahon, and the most beautiful beaches are close to Ciutadella, so you will need to drive approximately one hour from the hotel to get to the beaches. But don't worry, it's worth the trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redderzooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here with my husband for our honeymoon. Such a romantic room and property. Loved the coastal walks to nearby beaches, the dimly lit dinner times (WONDERFUL restaurant), the gorgeous architecture and the perfect interior design...We just really appreciated the seclusion and quality of service. The pictures do it justice, this was one of the nicest places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morannek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Lluis
18.3 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
871 reviews
14.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#1 of 4 in Santo Tomas
1,116 reviews
2.0 mi away
Biniarroca Hotel
Biniarroca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sant Lluis
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Rural Hotel Morvedra Nou
Rural Hotel Morvedra Nou
#17 of 57 in Ciutadella
92 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
#2 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
136 reviews
3.4 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcaufar Vell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcaufar Vell

Property: Alcaufar Vell
Address: Carretera Alcalfar, Km.8, 07710, Sant Lluis, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Sant Lluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Lluis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcaufar Vell 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcaufar Vell is situated within one of the most beautiful and tranquil natural reserves in south-east Minorca, surrounded by lovely beaches with clear waters and fine sand, it also has a leafy, wooded ravine, an ancient watchtower looking out over the Mediterranean, a kilometer of virgin coastline, and almost 250 acres of land for long walks. It has an enjoyable, friendly and family atmosphere with the comfort and independence of guests given maximum priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alcaufar Vell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcaufar Vell Hotel Sant Lluis Es
Alcaufar Vell Spain/Minorca - Sant Lluis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing