We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Menorca”
Review of Alcaufar Vell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alcaufar Vell
Ranked #1 of 4 Sant Lluis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The best of Menorca”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

You arrive up an unmade, dusty road; not a good first impression. But then you see the Alcaufar Vell...ancient, delightful, rustic. Every aspect of this enchanting hotel is authentic, respectful of history and tradition, and welcoming. My wife and I stayed for just one night, bed and breakfast,
and it was lovely. The public rooms are more like a museum, this grand Finca preserved as it was many years ago. The bedrooms...we stayed in the old main house...are very large and tastefully but conservatively appointed. There is a lift hidden in the spine of the otherwise period building.
Breakfast was a wonderful treat....a room full of fresh island produce in a lovely white setting.
The staff were warm and welcoming. Go and see for yourself...a Mediterranean jewel.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building are large and characterful; rooms in the detached annexes have pleasant terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEC45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    26
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
24
93
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden Württemberg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

This is a review of the restaurant. The hotel looks lovely but we were staying somewhere else. We had dinner under the olive trees. Interesting, beautifully cooked and presented food.
Unlike other reviews, we found the service absolutely fine. Looking back it is possible to think it might not be the best value you can find, but certainly lovely food in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank griffster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Beautifully restored old house with friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble.
The food was excellent including produce from their own kitchen garden.
Tranquil and peaceful ... Even the swallows nesting in the porch looked sleepy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieb041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

What u see is not what u get, u get more! This is a beautiful hotel, amazing suites and great spaces. a dream come true for couples. When you are in Menorca, and u want to relax, dont dare to miss it. P.s the restaurant is also... Wow :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Assiazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Very quiet location. The hotel is an ancient finca (traditional rural house). Nice and quiet little pool. Very good restaurant set in a relaxing area. You will need a car to visit the island or a scooter or electric bike if you stay nearby. The alcaufar beach can be reached by foot (30 mn Walk i think), it is nice for swimming.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ParisGlobetrotter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

We have spent a short family holiday in Alcaufar Vell. The hotel is small and pretty. The rooms we've been are big, well decorated and comfortable. The bathroom is also big and has a jacuzzi bathtub with different amenities. Very clean
The common areas such as the pool and the breakfast area are also clean and quiet. The breakfast buffet is copious and with great quality food.
However the best of all has been the way the staff has treated us with an overwhelming kindness and the attention to every detail.
Another great place is the night bar and chill-out where we have enjoyed great cocktails and drinks in a relaxing and charming atmosphere.
It is worth the money we have paid and we are willing to come back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vilada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zuerich
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Looking after thier geusts comes naturally to the staff of this most wonderfully preserved house. The feeling of being taken back into the past is always present and being accompanied by such gracious women such is a dream, Rose to name just one. They look after your every wish and what makes it so amazing is that they know in advance what your requirements are.
The house reflects the mood of the island, well kept, reserved and very relaxing. It was a fantastic week and the only negative was, leaving it all again!! but with the desire to return again.

Room Tip: 147 in the annexe with it`s own garden or a Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimsullivanZuerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Lluis
24.0 mi away
Melia Cala Galdana
Melia Cala Galdana
#2 of 9 in Cala Galdana
1,102 reviews
24.2 mi away
La Quinta Menorca Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Biniarroca Hotel
Biniarroca Hotel
#1 of 4 in Sant Lluis
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Sol Beach House Menorca
Sol Beach House Menorca
#2 of 5 in Santo Tomas
1,248 reviews
3.4 mi away
Artiem Carlos III Adults Only
14.6 mi away
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
Hotel Rural Binigaus Vell
#3 of 5 in Migjorn Gran
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcaufar Vell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcaufar Vell

Property: Alcaufar Vell
Address: Carretera Alcalfar, Km.8, 07710, Sant Lluis, Minorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Minorca > Sant Lluis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sant Lluis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcaufar Vell 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alcaufar Vell is situated within one of the most beautiful and tranquil natural reserves in south-east Minorca, surrounded by lovely beaches with clear waters and fine sand, it also has a leafy, wooded ravine, an ancient watchtower looking out over the Mediterranean, a kilometer of virgin coastline, and almost 250 acres of land for long walks. It has an enjoyable, friendly and family atmosphere with the comfort and independence of guests given maximum priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alcaufar Vell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcaufar Vell Hotel Sant Lluis Es
Alcaufar Vell Spain/Minorca - Sant Lluis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing