We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can not wait to go back, such lovely people in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Arcada de Fares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
L'Arcada de Fares
Certificate of Excellence
soldeu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can not wait to go back, such lovely people in a beautiful place”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Cant state enough how fantastic the staff are!! Really helpful and made all our guests enjoy themselves. We stayed for a week for our wedding and can't wait to go back again. Great food, great staff, great place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate100Soldeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    35
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
33
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

My husband and myself, eldest daughter and her family and many friends stayed here for a week in September to celebrate the wedding of our youngest daughter Kate to Rob. What a fabulous place, the grounds so pretty and the interiors done to a very high standard. We had a B.B.Q most nights (several areas supplied by the hotel) and ate in the restaurant too where we had lovely food. The owner and staff were fabulous and were only too happy to help especially as it rained cats and dogs on the actual wedding day. Luckily the place had a open sided room in the gardens which we moved into complete with bar, kitchen and toilets so we didn't get wet after the initial dash.
only snag was no kettle (only Brits use one for tea!) but one was loaned to us by the hotel. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to explore too much but think Besalu is beautiful.
Would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
soldeu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Just wanted to share what a fantastic time we have just spent at L'arcada de Fares. We stayed in the two large apartments for a week with all the family, then were joined at the weekend by all our friends to be married in the hotel grounds!
The staff couldn't have been more fantastic, helpful and friendly for the whole time. The wedding was incredible and would highly recommend to anyone think of getting married there to do it!
The apartment rooms are finished to a high spec and were perfect for us all to stay for the week. The restaurant was great food and they did a great job and serving just over 70 of us!
A big thank you to Neus and her staff and we will return for a holiday a soon as possible!

Room Tip: Rooms don't have an oven, if you are planning self catering it is good to know in advance. (didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate100Soldeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed at L'arcada de Fares for the final 3 nights of our holiday after staying on the Costa Brava. The accommodation provided is first rate, we stayed in a studio apartment (Xaloc) on the 2nd floor (reached by a lift if needed) and it was very spacious with a wall hiding the sleeping area from the living, eating and kitchen area, there was a good kitchenette and food preparation area. The terrace was enormous and had good quality table and chairs, the shower room was also very spacious and large bath sheets were provided. The whole place has been built to a high specification with luxurious finishes. Furniture and furnishings are first rate. We felt like we were staying somewhere far more expensive than it was.
On arrival the charming receptionist was very helpful giving us tips on places to visit along with maps and ideas for restaurants she thought we would like.
The location is perfect to explore Besalu, Banyoles and the lake and the volcanic area towards Olot, all of which can be reached in minutes, the down side to this is that there is a busy road very close to the property, this has to be weighted though by the glorious views in the opposite direction away from the road! There is a small swimming pool, free wi fi access. The restaurant and bar were closed, except at weekends, on our visit in mid September so we were not able to experience meals there.
An excellent place to stay for anyone who wants something more than a hotel room to return to after a day out, I would highly recommend this accommodation

Room Tip: Studio Xaloc was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheaptrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our son's wedding took place here, the whole place was booked for guests for one night. The whole experience was excellent. The apartments are spacious and very clean. The food was superb and we noticed that the restaurant was full of local people on the Sunday. You are also welcome to use the barbeque area, if you want to cook for yourself.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and made the wedding a perfect event. They work very hard to make sure you have a good stay.

The atmosphere was friendly, casual and relaxed.

I would recommend l'Arcada to anyone and it is the perfect wedding venue. We would love to return some time.

Room Tip: We saw several rooms and they were all as good as one another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMcThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trier, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Sometimes you can be disappointed when booking a hotel through internet and later visiting the real place. But this time we were really agree with the webpage that shows the nice appartments of L'Arcada de Fares. Our room was really nice, quiet, comfortable and with nice views to the mountains. Our kids liked the outside pool and the playground, we were also thankful about that! The restaurant was a good option to have good meals without having to go away, they have a wide offer of local specialties that we enjoied really much. The staff was always really nice and willing to help us. To visit other places like Besalú, Banyoles, Olot and Figueres, it is useful to have a car, but if not we saw that there's a bus stop just next to the appartments.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SchilliPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Ferriol
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
Hotel Mas Pere Pau
#1 of 7 in Besalu
79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Els Jardins de la Martana
8.9 mi away
Cal Sastre Hotel
Cal Sastre Hotel
#1 of 1 in Santa Pau
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Sant Ferriol Hotel Spa
Sant Ferriol Hotel Spa
#1 of 3 in Sant Ferriol
43 reviews
10.6 mi away
Finca El Ventos
Finca El Ventos
#1 of 1 in Sant Feliu de Pallerols
63 reviews
13.8 mi away
Els Cacadors de Macanet
Els Cacadors de Macanet
#2 of 2 in Macanet de Cabrenys
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Arcada de Fares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Arcada de Fares

Property: L'Arcada de Fares
Address: Can Figueres de Fares, 17850 Sant Ferriol, Besalu, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Besalu > Sant Ferriol
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Sant Ferriol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Arcada de Fares 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Acada de Fares is a small charming complex of 18 tourist apartments integrated in a restored traditional catalan house from the 15th century: Studios, apartments with 1, 2 or 4 bedrooms. Ideal for families, couples and groups. We are situated between the Costa Brava and the Pyrenees. In our large garden you’ll be able to enjoy a swimming pool, an ecological orchard, a solar oven, a barbacue, a playing area and a bar-restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Arcada de Fares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing