We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommendable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Castell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Castell
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zuoz
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommendable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Fantastic location set above the small but neat village of Zuoz with wonderful views over the mountains of Engadin. Close to St Moritz and the national park of Switzerland. Lots of hiking possibilities around and very family friendly with enough entertainment possibilities for children.

The restaurant serves a 4-course dinner which is very good value with every course a special twist.

Initially planned to stay 3 nights but ended up staying 5 nights as we liked it so much. As other reviewers have mentioned the Hamam is also very pleasant and is better than what I experienced in Turkey.

The design of the rooms is very modern and didn¨t hit the sweet spot with us, but that¨s of course individual and would not prevent us from going again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have no balcony. South facing rooms will have more of a "grand" view but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    44
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
99
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The Hotel Castell in Zuoz, not far from St. Moritz, is a unique combination of very friendly staff, an amazing art collection, a great view and very children friendly facilities. But what really set this hotel apart is its director, Mrs. Ladina Tarnuzzer, who welcomes every guest, personally opened the garage door and was not shy helping the service staff during peak dinner hours. Truly impressive and Mrs. Tarnuzzer's dedication rubs off on all the staff. Full marks for that!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilchberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

My husband and I have just spent a weekend at hotel Castell and enjoyed our stay very much. The room (416) has a very nice view overlooking the valley.
The four course meals included in our package on both nights were excellent! The service was very efficient and friendly. We used the Hamam every day and enjoyed it very much.
We both booked a massage. Unfortunately, when my husband got his massage, he couldn't really enjoy it as there was someone talking loudly next to his massage room. The hotel appologized for this inconvenience and my husband was offered another free massage that he enjoyed very much.
We can highly recommend this hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We have stayed there now three times and were always very satisfied.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The Hotel Castell can be considered as a solid, good quality 4* Hotel. The Castell, built some 100 years ago, is sitting on a little hill. The building itself was renovated 10 years ago. The rooms are modern, some of them with a wooden touch. In the Bar and dining room area, one can still see the charm of the old times. The kitchen is good, service as well and the breakfast buffet is not to miss. Staff at the reception is very attentive and helpful. The Hotel has direct access to the Zuoz ski area and is 20 minutes away from the slopes of St. Moritz. The room rate and menu prices are very decent compared to the upper Engadin price level. I can warmly recommend this nice Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Aargau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

There are several reasons why we keep going there: fine food, great receptionists, art works all over the places, a nice Hamam, fabulous scenery, ambiente, stylish rooms, the fantastic mountains of the Engadine etc etc

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are expensive, the others less expensive but just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 975manrey975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

The hotel is located in a beautiful castle-like building. The interior has been remodeled in a most stylish way, without destroying the old charme of the building. A super nice spa, delicious food in the hotel's bar and restaurant and extremly friendly stuff make you feel cosy and relaxed already hours upon arrival. I'm never getting tired to come back here again and again for a few days of pure relaxation and pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandra1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view over the Engadin valley, a small gym on its highest floor in the tower as well as a great spa.
The staff is very friendly and welcoming, the restaurant serve great dinner.
I recommend this very much, except for the bicycles they lend out for 'free'. These are decent bikes for the road, but if you plan doing some mountain biking, these 'mountain bikes' are really worth nothing, rather bring your own bikes.
But it is just a little complaint for a very good hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with valley-side view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chanzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuoz
0.5 mi away
Hotel Engiadina
Hotel Engiadina
#4 of 5 in Zuoz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Klarer
Hotel Klarer
#2 of 5 in Zuoz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Crusch Alva
Hotel Crusch Alva
#3 of 5 in Zuoz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Allegra
Hotel Allegra
#5 of 5 in Zuoz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
11.8 mi away
Nira Alpina
Nira Alpina
#1 of 5 in Silvaplana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
5.5 mi away
IN LAIN Hotel Cadonau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castell

Property: Hotel Castell
Address: Via Castell 300 | 7524 Zuoz, Zuoz 7524, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin St. Moritz > Zuoz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Zuoz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Castell 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Castell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castell Hotel Zuoz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing