We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling Ripped Off”
Review of Tudor Oaks Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Astwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tudor Oaks Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Astwick
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feeling Ripped Off”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Paid £125.00 per night for the superior deluxe room. On entry room smelt musky but masked by a room fragrance diffuser. Bathroom could not be faulted except ran out of hot water during my shower so finished washing my hair in cold water and complementary soaps etc had been used by previous guests. Bed was comfortable sheets clean and nice towels. Room was dirty and bin had not been emptied from previous occupants. TV stopped working and no alternative brought, was told would return in 15 minutes an hour later went to bed. TV PAT test ran out in February 2013 our stay June 2014. Under the bed were bottle tops, sweet wrappers and enough dust for a mouse to make a nest, no sofa in room as advertised. Outside was dismal, rundown and on the verge of looking derelict. Hanging baskets with completely dead contents and planters growing only nettles - would be better removed than being there - totally overgrown walkway, decking that becomes so slippy when it rains it is an insurance claim waiting to happen, boarded up window above my room and broken glass in the other one, bin bags full of rotting garden waste, ashtrays full of cigarette buts and guttering blocked which meant that in order to get to the room you had to dodge under Niagara Falls during the thunderstorm. No 24 hour reception unable to check in between 6pm and 8pm on Sunday. Absolutely no breakfast facilities during the week - didn't stay full stay to discover about weekend - have refunded money but did charge for an additional night. Felt like we were on the Mary Celeste - to find anyone to check out I had to leave a message on the hotel answer phone. Food was good and as a restaurant would work but there are other restaurants in the area equally as good. To charge £125.00 per night you not only need to provide a nice bathroom but also need to provide acceptable bedroom, 24 hour customer service and a hotel set in pleasant surroundings - currently Tudor Oaks Lodge has a long way to go.

Room Tip: Think hard before booking - if you can get a cheap room and are happy with no facilities would be ok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudoroaks, Owner at Tudor Oaks Lodge, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
We would like to apologise for your disappointment, however it is important to advise you of the following:

1. There is no sofa advertised
2. You were advised that the maintenance man had finished for the day and the TV was in full working order the following day
3. Our staff went out of their way to arrange for a folding bed to be set up in the honeymoon suite booked
4. It does state that we are not 24 hour reception at time of booking. A member of staff had called you to confirm your check in time. When the situation was explained to you with regards to check in, you very politely accepted for us to leave your key with our overnight security. If this was an issue then a member of staff would have waited for you.
5. It also states that breakfast is only provided on Sunday.
6. With regards to the mess, we shall have strong words with our cleaners as this is not acceptable

At time of booking, we strongly suggest that you read the facilities available before proceeding in order to ensure that accommodation is satisfactory for your needs.

Tudor Oaks Lodge has been under new management since February and refurbishment is currently ongoing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    21
    17
    9
    15
See reviews for
16
35
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My room was allegedly a double - the small double bed was pushed up against the wall so not really practical for two. It smelled damp, had one tiny window near the door, so no real natural light, cobwebs in every corner, no bedside light meaning a dark trip across the room. Best things - shower ridiculously fancy but took ages to heat up, clean linen, soft towels, good price. Won't stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noahpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Astwick hotels

Hampshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

A rather disconcerting external appearance was offset by a friendly welcome. The room was small, with somewhat tired (or maybe just old-fashioned) decor, poor lighting with no bedside light, and no waste bin. However, the bed was comfortable, the towels were soft, and the water was hot.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The people were lovely. They were as helpful as they could be even though the experience was a little like faulty towers. My room the bathroom mirror lights did not work which was a pain as i needed to apply make-up before meeting up in a reunion with people i had not seen for 28 years.
They couldn't get them to work so they moved me to another room. The TV had a mind of its own when the lorries passed and a mention that the shower takes ages to run hot would have been useful. In the morning i met with an old school friend again i had not seen for 28 years and the man i handed my key to kindly made us coffee he was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

On arriving we thought the so called hotel was derelict with boarded windows stairway blocked off and no maintainence done for years! So called fountain with hundreds of cigarette butts. What an absolute dump. We were given the premier rooms? Poor decor lack if light. Horrendous hotel. Cannot understand the reviews people have given. Book this hotel at your peril.
Experienced traveller - Wolverhampton

Room Tip: Don't bother it's appalling!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tudoroaks, Owner at Tudor Oaks Lodge, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment. Unfortunately, due to a burglary whilst renovating the property, we have had no option but to board up the vandalised area until the new materials are available. We have been advised that the doors are made on order and may take up to six months to become available. The steps that were closed lead to the vandalised bedroom door and has been boarded for safety issues. The 15th century building may seem darker than most hotel rooms but this is due to the traditional timber beams and traditional dark furniture. We are a family run friendly hotel and welcome any unhappy customers to find us on the premises so that we can instantly resolve any issues. We have been the new owners for six months and have many happy returning customers and once again apologise for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We needed a place to stay near my fathers home and came across The Tudor Oak lodge. It was really easy to book, the menu looked really good so decided to have a meal at lunchtime.
The welcome we received was very warm and the restaurant well set out.
The meal was excellent, all meals arrived beautifully presented and hot, well done chef.
The room we booked was outstanding, a Jacuzzi bath, jacuzzi shower, tea and coffee, nice comfy bed and no noise even though the A1M is so close.
This place is an ideal place to break your journey, have a romantic break or a family celebration.
The staff are excellent.
We'll done, we will be back.
Lizzie005

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzie005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The room was beautiful. I will definitely be staying again. Staff were very friendly,helpful & welcoming. The bathroom was amazing!! So clean & smelled so fresh. The outside area, Smoking area was so relaxing, that to was so clean & welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseSmith38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Astwick
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Stevenage North
2.4 mi away
purplehotel Baldock
purplehotel Baldock
#4 of 4 in Baldock
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Redwings Lodge Baldock
Redwings Lodge Baldock
#2 of 4 in Baldock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Potton Nest Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Champneys Henlow
Champneys Henlow
#1 of 1 in Henlow
1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Oaks Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Oaks Lodge

Property: Tudor Oaks Lodge
Address: Taylors Road, Astwick SG5 4AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Astwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Astwick
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing