We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night's sleep”
Review of Railway Hotel

Railway Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Railway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sawbridgeworth
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Railway Inn in Sawbridgeworth - there were 6 couples attending a family party - and we all got back late - and were greeted by a friendly and welcoming host.
Rooms were comfortable - shower was great - and for anyone going in to London for a visit - it's ideal - the train station is just a short distance away. Very reasonable, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: We had large quiet rooms numbers 4 & 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flimflamWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Was just out for a drive and was looking for somewhere for lunch when we saw the Railway Hotel. Food was excellent and such great value for money, friendly staff and very clean. The beer was great too so they obviously take care of their pumps. I will definitely be back - lots of parking too.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is the second time we've stayed here, the staff remembered us from last year and made us feel more than welcome. Rooms, food and service were all excellent again.
Don't let the proximity of the railway station put you off, the electric trains are very quiet and add to the atmosphere rather than detract from it.
We're very much into bird watching, the leafy courtyard had the added bonus of Blue Tits nesting in the wall mounted ash tray this year, with a notice saying Do not use, birds nesting :-) Also saw a Jay and there was a Cuckoo nearby.
Arrived a day early and saw that Laterooms said that the hotel was fully booked. They were lying, if I had phoned I could have got a room. Thanks a bunch Laterooms.
Looking forward to our next stay at The Railway Hotel :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

we travel from liverpool often to see our daurter and family somtimes we stay at her house butwhen she first moved house we always stayed at the railway all the staff put themselves out to make it a good stay and we still like to stay there for a chonge now and then and our grandaughter megan is like one of the family there she loves all the meals and stays in our room just to have there great breakfast that carnt be bad for a 6yr old they know her from birth looking forward to booking again in the near future love to all the staff ron&marie from liverpool xxxxxx

Room Tip: we need to take wheelchair and there are no worries at all charging it up they are very helpfull im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Great for watching football, reasonable beer prices too. Very clean and friendly atmosphere. I have not stayed in accommodation but heard that it is nice. It's dead close to the station as well so that was handy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Railway Hotel is a welcoming place, we arrived too late to eat but they were happy to cook us a quick burger and chips which was welcoming. The room was large and had all the basic facilities expected. We was in room 3 which is on the ground floor, the room was extremely hot and being on the ground floor, I wasn't happy to leave the windows open all night.
The staff were helpful and very friendly, and nothing was too much for them. We stayed for one night as we was attending a birthday party. The hotel is located next to the railway station.

Room Tip: If you want to leave the window open at night, ask for 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I used this hotel to meet a friend over from Cyprus for a few days. It was a Monday lunchtime, so fairly quiet. We entered the pub to find a large, clean bar-room with plenty of tables and chairs. The optics and pumps were gleaming. This to me along with clean toilets, is the sign of a well-run pub. After ordering a drink we perused the fairly comprehensive English pub food menu. We both settled for a sausage and onion baguette, this was served with salad and chips. We both thought they were very tasty. The staff were friendly and chatty which gave the pub a nice atmosphere. Although I didn't stay there myself, I would recommend it based on the quality of the pub alone. If you need to stay local, stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Downloader141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawbridgeworth
2.7 mi away
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
Down Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,699 reviews
2.2 mi away
Green Man Hotel
Green Man Hotel
#4 of 8 in Harlow
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Manor Of Groves Hotel
Manor Of Groves Hotel
#1 of 1 in High Wych
657 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hunters Meet Hotel
Hunters Meet Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Hotel

Address: Station Road, Sawbridgeworth CM21 9LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Sawbridgeworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sawbridgeworth
Hotel Class:3 star — Railway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing