We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Break”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #1 of 2 Belton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Break”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Our stay at the Queen's Head was very enjoyable. It looked nothing special from outside, but the interior was very nicely done out, and our room was excellent. Staff were all very helpful, friendly and attentive and even managed to conjure up some bar snacks on Sunday night when there isn't any food being served! We also thought the lunch menu was very good value and nicely cooked. You just need to be aware if breakfast is stated as included, that it's just for the Continental and there is a premium to pay for cooked breakfast. The location is amid some very nice countryside but it felt quite isolated, and Belton itself is small and very very quiet!

Room Tip: We stayed in the French Room, which was brilliant - really decent sized room that you could spread o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TallChris51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    24
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
33
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

A very nice family have recently taken over and they have teething problems to get over, however some things really need to be sorted out soon. The new manager said how they are catering for the numerous vegetarians in the village (even though there was only one veg choice on the evening menu) and how they had immediately reduced the room prices as they did not think the previous manager had been realistic, however when we checked out we were still charged £85 per night, even though it is advertised at £59 - room only.

The good points:
Nice people, nice rooms, good location, lively pub, very nice evening meals at very good prices (the highlight of the stay). Based on this we would happily stay again, but well over priced at £85 per night when considering the bad points.

They only had one choice of beer in the evening because one was "out" and the other pump they couldn't get to work properly. Toilet was filthy (and no toilet brush) so we were moved to another room. First room had hair dryer, second room didn't but did have a blind in the bathroom that wouldn't close. Only a few TV channels as reception was so poor. No instructions on how to use the wall heater. Went down to breakfast and sat at a sticky pup table not cleaned from the night before. Breakfasts were large, but average quality and no choice. As a vegetarian the cooked breakfast was scrambled egg, some toast, grilled tomato and three of those horrible compressed veg sausages. On day two I asked for just egg and toast but was not asked what type, so we got crispy hard fried eggs and toast.

Overall our stay was OK (the evening meal was very nice) but at £85 per night for B&B you really do expect everything to be sorted out and some choice in what you eat. The manager and her staff (family) are all very nice but it really did seem like they were new to the whole B&B thing. Certainly not worth £85 per night (or £59 for the room and £26 for breakfast as they seem to be advertising it).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First time at the Queens. Good food and excellent staff. Really friendly and charming. It's fresh under new management so I think this place will do well. My room was large and comfortable. No issues re parking too as there's plenty of space.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, lincs uk
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What a lovely place. Easy parking and so easy to get to. Away from the hub bub of a busy city.
Wonderful room, we had the leather room (nothing kinky) just leather bed and accessories, even leather blinds. Really comfortable bed. Bottles of water, tea and coffee. Loads of toiletries and a large bathroom. The evening meal was excellent and the breakfast my poached eggs were just right. The place was spotless you couldn't fault it and the staff were so friendly, you felt you were at home. Congrats on a wonderful place, keep it up.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annthegran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our choice of accommodation was determined by the location. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food excellent and a good but limited wine list. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the bathrooms were on the small side.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shepshed, leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

An amazing 3 course Sunday lunch, fishcakes to start were out of this world, beef was delicious and lemon tart finished a beautiful meal. All for £17.50 a bargain! Would definitely recommend & won't be long until we go back :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I stayed here overnight whilst visiting friends in the area and I can't praise the Queen's Head enough. My room was clean, fresh and spacious. The food (breakfast and dinner) were amazing. Everything was freshly cooked and well presented. The staff were very friendly and everything was perfect. I would certainly recommend to anyone travelling to this area

Room Tip: I was upstairs in the light and bright "French" room. This is an old coaching inn on a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jill5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belton
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, East Midlands Airport
3.9 mi away
The Link Hotel
The Link Hotel
#2 of 12 in Loughborough
583 reviews
3.0 mi away
Travelodge Nottingham EM Airport Donington Park M1
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Premier East Midlands Airport Yew Lodge Hotel
4.5 mi away
Burleigh Court
Burleigh Court
#3 of 12 in Loughborough
705 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#1 of 2 in Long Whatton
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Property: The Queens Head
Address: 2 Long Street, Belton LE12 9TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Belton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Belton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Queens Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation based on Room Only Rate - One Superior, two double and one twin room. Built in the 1700's, the Queens Head's bedrooms each have their own unique olde worlde charm. Free Wi-Fi, toiletries and tea and coffee. Each room has ironing facilities, central heating, LCD TV with Free view and DVD, extra pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Belton, Leicestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing