We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so Good Friday” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scalini's

Scalini's
Ranked #13 of 38 Restaurants in Brigg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not so Good Friday”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I visited Brigg today to see some family and I went for a walk into the town centre and noticed a fish and chip shop so I thought I would give it a go, to say it was Good Friday I expected it to be busy but it wasn't, anyway so I walked in and ordered a large fish and chips , while I was waiting the man who served me was so rude and ignorant and didn't speak at all , when I got back to my aunties house I unwrapped the fish and it looked terrible! The fish was gross! The batter was far to thick and greasy , the chips were cold and tasteless not very impressed at all and to say I ordered a large fish it was the size of a small !!! Will not be returning here again!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    18
    3
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I have visited this place 3 times now and have been very happy each time. The food is very nice and the deserts are just to die for!! I used to go to the hungry fisherman also in brigg but the atmosphere and the food stinks. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the fish was each time we have visited this chip shop. We sat upstairs in their restaurant and it was very clean and very nice. Will definitely be visiting again soon :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstycl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Visited here today with my husband & granddaughter. The fish & chip special was very good. Chips were some of the best we have tasted. They were not soaked in fat like some are. My granddaughter had sausage chips & gravy. She cleaned her plate. I am sure we will visit her again next time we visit Brigg. The staff were cheerful & helpful & all looked smart. The ambience of the restaurant was bright & clean.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good chunky chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We visited here on a Saturday night, party of 5 adults & 1 child. Food very good, waiter very friendly, my only concern was as someone who uses a stick was the stairs which have a turn in them was they only have a handrail at one side so I had no problem going up, I felt a little unsafe coming down. Having said that we would visit again. We ordered 3 small fish & chips, 1 large fish & chips, 1 broccoli bake & a child's plate of chips plus tea for 2, a bottle of bud, a pint of carling & a pint of shandy & the bill came to £42:00.

Helpful?
Thank Antonette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Always been good as a takeaway but new restaurant to sit and enjoy freshly cooked is great. Smart and cosy surroundings, cheerful and helpful staff. Variety of dishes on offer will be trying others on next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scalini's also viewed

 
Brigg, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Scalini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing