We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby..... without the chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arties Mill & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brigg
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On arrival the reception looked more like a store room with box's and clutter everywhere, the guy who booked us in was wearing clothes that looked like he’d been in them for a week. Reading other reviews we were "lucky" we had room 1, however as we are a family of 3 they had put a "Z bed" in the room for our daughter... It was so bad she couldn't sleep on it as the mattress kept sliding between the springs... we ended up placing the very thin mattress on the floor. To make us laugh, in the dressing table draws were a previous female guest’s under garments...!!
During most of the evening the bar was only staffed by 2 employees even though they knew before hand that the function we were attending would be very busy. Story’s of people waiting over 1/2 hour to be served we quite common.
Breakfast was ok apart from the fact they ran out of orange juice and some of the buffet items. Also the staff couldn't quit get the idea that we didn't want tea.... we had 2 pots put down on our table, they also couldn't supply us any jam or marmalade to go with the toast...! Out of choice we wouldn’t stay there again, it appears to be understaffed, but those that were working were doing the best that they could. The management appear to have forgotten that there’s only one occasion to make a first impression. The only positive things I can say is that the room with breakfast was cheap @ £45.00 for the 3 of us and the staff that were on duty were doing the best they could under "difficult circumstances".

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baldrick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Checked in by kitchen staff but having said that the staff work hard and are friendly. The rooms are really tired and need an upgrade. Breakfast was lovely and very plentiful. We were visiting relatives in the area so the location was handy.

Room Tip: Cheap and cheerful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine74442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding, we was checked in by a kitchen staff member at reception and given the room number 16 the last one down the tired looking corridor on the right, on turning the loose door handle and entering the room we was hit with disappointment after paying £90 for two nights for this room that was tired and in a poor state, the bathroom was even worse with the smell of damp and mildew in the air, mould all around the shower and paint missing from the ceiling, the toilet moved when you sat on it and the shower just leaked water all over the floor, the shower head bracket was also broken and no towel rail or toilet roll, just sheets like you get in a public convenience, the bed has to be the worst that we have ever tried to sleep in as when ever you moved it made so much noise creaking and squeaking.
The Wedding itself was very nice apart from the kitchen person taking out the rubbish when the ceremony was taking place. The Wedding Breakfast was an excellent meal, really cant fault it although not everyone got everything as some are still awaiting there desserts. Coffee was slow to be served and so people started to drift away before the speeches, really need a master of ceremonies to take charge here.
The function room did get very hot with so many people in it and no doors or windows open.
Service at the bar was good, polite and swift
Evening Buffet was nice but a caterpillar was found on the salad
Breakfast was hopeless and could not cope with the demand, everything was running out and very slow to replace.
Was checked out by what looked like a cleaner, no receptionist here, never asked if everything was ok
On the plus side towels were big and soft

Room Tip: Ask for the honeymoon room as that's been done up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Stayed for a friends wedding for one night. Staff were amazing especially the bar staff. Food was good (lovely breakfast buffet style but fresh and hot). As some moaners on here have said, yes the rooms are a little shabby but this is advertised as dog friendly so you wouldn't expect axminster carpets. Loved the added Peacock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We visited Arties Mill last week and had a wonderful time. We stayed in room 24, which had a lovely big bath and the room was clean and spacious. We travelled with our 22 month old son and he loved the bouncy castle, trampoline and all the animals. It was great to have so much for children to do and for free! We were shocked to read the reviews on here about food as we thought the food at Arties was delicious, you could tell the quality ingredients used in the breakfast ( local sausages and nice thick bacon) we had several meals at Arties and enjoyed them all- the portion size are generous and they catered well for my wife who is vegetarian. I would recommend anyone to stay here, it is a refreshing change to the usual travel lodges we stay in when visiting friends and we would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharpFamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Went to a wedding reception. The entrance was dirty. Carpet needed a good clean Food was terrible. Had one taste of mine and that was enough. Reception was upstairs but had to go downstairs for a drink. Bar staff were slow and didn,t seem to know what day it was. One guest found a creepy crawly in one of the sandwiches. My advise would be to give this venue a very very wide berth. Be warned..

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scawbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

From our first initial enquiry to our wedding day, the staff have been very helpful and supportive, nothing was too much trouble for them especially susanna (wedding co-ordinator). Some of the wedding party and myself stayed there the night before the wedding. The rooms was very clean and tidy. Fresh towels every day and clean bedding. Had a comfortable nights sleep. We ate in the restaurant, the food was excellent and reasonably priced. Some of the wedding party have various food allergies, all these was cater for with no problem.
The venue its self was fantastic for our wedding as it has a little something for all ages, the children was entertained with the bouncy castle and the animals, while the adults relaxed with a drink. We would certainly go again whether it be a meal or an over night stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spikes_mistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brigg
1.8 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Scunthorpe
Travelodge Scunthorpe
#2 of 4 in Scunthorpe
202 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Royal
The Royal
#4 of 4 in Scunthorpe
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Wortley House Hotel
Wortley House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Scunthorpe
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beldon House
Beldon House
#2 of 5 in Brigg
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albert House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arties Mill & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arties Mill & Lodge

Address: Wressle Road | Castlethorpe, Brigg DN20 9LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Brigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brigg
Price Range: £49 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arties Mill & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Arties Mill & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arties Mill And Lodge
Arties Mill Hotel Brigg
Arties Mill & Lodge Brigg, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing