We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arties Mill & Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brigg
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel and booked it very last minute. Wouldn't necessarily recommend and certainly wasn't one of my favourites, however it was cheap and cheerful. The room itself was large and very basic but again spotlessly clean. When we first walked into the room in the afternoon it felt cold and characterless. When we arrived back later on in the evening the heating was on and it did feel a lot better. Was disappointed with the free wifi as it didn't work and after speaking to the staff I still couldn't get it to work. The price of the room did include breakfast which was average.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DawnBanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Rooms average, not the cleanist tv doesnt work nor does the free wifi very well.

Petting farm very undermanaged and the cage for the meerkats far to small!

Staff some good, some try, others just rubbish - over 30 mins wait to be brought the wrong order but the attitude of the waitress expecting you to eat what your given, then to make matters worse im sent reheated food or its burnt and hidden with cheese!

Dont believe the sign at the bar - its not fast food and its not good quality! Oh and brekfast food labelled as kellogs but its aldi cheapo cereal.

Management no where to be seen and lock up before 10pm on a saturday night

All in all not a pleasent visit, wont be going back!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bugsbunnybasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Went for teatime meal on Saturday at 5.30pm. No one in the bar area to great us..or to tell us where we could sit. The place smelt awful.. very stale. Eventually a lady did come but took ages to speak to us. Food all came out at different times. When ordering from the bar I think just the young lad serving was not capable. Do not go here. Useless .. again !

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank 197lizzy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked via Laterooms. Looked ok on paper.
Room No 4: Size ok if only sleeping there. Double bed very creaky and too bouncy (just scratching your nose woke the other up). Curtains and rail far too big and not too easy to open and close. Nice outlook at rear of building though. Tv too small for room really.
Bathroom - floor very slippery (with shoes on) as probably cleaned with incorrect cleaner. Shower tatty and held up with jubilee clip. Good strength and water temperature however. Nice touch of putting small soap, shower gel and shampoo on shelf.
Although seemingly newly decorated, it was all a bit tatty. We could hear other peoples 'bathroom activities" quite clearly too!
Breakfast was included in the price - well - I don't think I have ever experienced such disorganisation. We had to ask for milk, sugar, marmalade, fresher cereal as it was stale, more butter and had to ask for tea twice before it arrived. All the staff appear unkempt and unsure of what they are really meant to be doing. Staff training seemed to be somewhat lacking in every area including hospitality (other than a couple of staff who were very attentive and helpful).
We noticed a slug or snail trail on the dining room carpet on our last morning! Actually couldn't wait to get away.
One very good thing to say though, is that the evening meals were really good both in value, presentation, heat and service.
Such a shame as the mill could be a fantastic venue and place to stay. We definitely wouldn't go there again.

Room Tip: Unfortunately unable to answer this question as the noise came from outside in the corridor from oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank fenningrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very basic standard rooms not bad for the price really..breakfast was lovely. tea n coffee facilities in rooms was bad n we didnt have much toilet paper so had to go ask for some considering room was just cleaned.. there was lots of us stopping here for the night as we had a wedding at forest pines and most of us want impressed..i think it just needs a makeover n new rooms..

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stacywace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

we went for our anniversary meal at arties mill tonight as we got married there last year. which was a great success and our meal tonight was superb everything homemade and fresh. We had great service and owner even remembered us I know arties mill has had alot of bad press for one reason or another in past I would just like to say well done for taking on the chin and keep up the good work

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed here for one night, reluctantly, great sized room but like being in a fish bowl, two very large windows(ground floor room) with no blinds or voiles, had to get ready with curtains closed, which had holes in them.. Nasty stains on the carpet, ancient tv which I did not even try to operate. No chair to sit at the dressing table, one was brought to the room, but this was very tatty and paint stained! Bed was clean, but not comfortable, room hot as I could not leave windows open....no security catches. Ate in the adjoining pub, first meal sent back, then had the worst salad ever, how can anyone make a bad salad!!! Did not even attempt breakfast. Will not be back. This hotel could be good with a lot of TLC!

Room Tip: Do not stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Cumbriagirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brigg
1.8 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
7.9 mi away
Travelodge Scunthorpe
Travelodge Scunthorpe
#2 of 4 in Scunthorpe
202 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Royal
The Royal
#4 of 4 in Scunthorpe
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Wortley House Hotel
Wortley House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Scunthorpe
153 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beldon House
Beldon House
#2 of 5 in Brigg
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albert House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arties Mill & Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arties Mill & Lodge

Address: Wressle Road | Castlethorpe, Brigg DN20 9LF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Brigg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brigg
Price Range: £49 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arties Mill & Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arties Mill & Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arties Mill And Lodge
Arties Mill Hotel Brigg
Arties Mill & Lodge Brigg, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing