We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bumble Bee Cottage

Enter a caption for your photo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Enter a caption for your photo
Bumblebee Cottage
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BevandKer...
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015

This pretty cottage is so romantic and perfect for 2 people. We also took our two little dogs which were very secure in the garden. The walks near by are lovely. The view from the back is fields and hills. The finish is also a very high standard, the kitchen is lovely. The slipper bath on the landing is a surprise and very pretty. Don't worry about taking anything but your clothes! We took our bikes and the dog's trolley. The ride around Rutland is level and car free for nervous cyclists. The towns and villages around are the best kept secret ever. Will definitely come back sometime soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Parking a bit tricky but not a real worry
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Thank you for sending us such a nice review. We are so pleased that you were able to maximise your enjoyment at Bumble Bee cottage. We look forward to seeing you again.

Liz, Simon & Mel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
47112015
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“breathtaking - we want to keep it a secret”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

what a wonderful Christmas week - 2 adults plus an old dog. Waking up to sheep at the window every day - the bells of the Barrowden church; christingle at the church (what fun); fabulous villages that take your breath away and what food in wonderful country inns. The cottage was lovely - underfloor heating a boom in damp weather - it was the warmest of cottages - no negatives whatsoever. We sorted the offroad parking easily by parking on the very large unused path - in no-one's way - outside the cottage. We can't wait to book again for 2016. Thanks to Simon for his easy instructions and good advice. Happy 2016. ps no maconalds/kfc/burger king in the whole of Rutland - joy!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Dec 2015
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased that all our efforts have given you such a wonderful Christmas.
Happy New Year 2016 to you all.
Liz, Mel & Simon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H
Nyaung U, Myanmar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charming thatched cottage”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A lovely secluded dog friendly garden looking onto open fields even though it was October the weather was very mild and we got to sit outside in the garden.
The village of Wakerley is a pretty place with a lovely pub (Exeter arms ) we walked to the nearby village and visited the village shop and had a coffee and sat in there lovely flowered garden and the people that came to the shop stopped and had a chat with us everyone was very friendly.
The roll too bath ladies I took my oils and I relaxed every night it was bril with the under floor heating my feet were lovely and warm.
We will returns to bumble bee

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very quiet and pleasant cottage”
Reviewed 31 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The cottage is small but for two people who like peace and tranquility it's very pleasant. The kitchen is rather restrictive in size but then so many cottages are similar and anyway we managed to cook many different meals successfully.
There's no parking place although one can place a car about 20m away, parked half on the pavement. Luckily the road is fairly quiet.
The "facilities" state that there's Sky TV and a TV recorder - there isn't. This didn't worry us though.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susan s
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ideal hideaway”
Reviewed 10 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Great little place for two, everything you need has been thought of, nice secluded garden, had supper in the garden in december as its sheltered from any wind. The lovely roll top bath was a pleasure, the view great, the cottage is cosy and clean would recommend anytime, lots of walks nearby and the community shop in burrowden has every essential u could need plus lots of local produce. The only negative I could find was the car parking, you hav to park on the pavement, I only hav a little car so bumping up the kerb was not much fun. But all in all a lovely break !

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in peaceful setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a beautiful, well-equipped cottage set in peaceful, quiet countryside. It is in a small village, but within walking distance of the next village ( Barrowden) which boasts a very good pub, The Exeter Arms, which has it's own micro-brewery & serves delicious food, and an excellent community shop. The cottage has a private garden, ideal for dining & enjoying a glass of wine at the end of the day. It is not overlooked , apart from the sheep in the field behind the cottage!! It is perfectly located for country walks, but there are plenty of places to visit close by. Ladies, take plenty of bubble bath cos you'll love the huge, free-standing roll top bath!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property and setting
Liked least: no negatives
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing