We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Location and stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Welland Valley Private Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View of the Welland Valley
Private Garden
Private Car Park
Large patio view 1
Large patio view 2
Over looks the Welland Valley
Dining Room
Kitchen leads to original station stairs
Reception room with Cinema Entertainment System (include 2 sofa beds)
Kingsize bedroom
Double bedroom
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Location and stay.”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Many thanks for a wonderful stay in this interesting property. It was originally the local station for the area. We were three couples who enjoy walking, eating and drinking together in different areas of the country. We really enjoyed the location, both for walking and visiting other places. It was also in walking distance of the Exeter Arms which also provides good food and hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeb5920...
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We hired this house as our daughter was marrying at Normanton church and we wanted somewhere for our whole family to stay. This included two young grandchildren and their parents. The bride to be and her best friend. We all had plenty of room especially the morning of the wedding. Beds were comfortable which is always important as I suffer from back problems. We would have liked more than one pillow per person though. My husband and I then spent the rest of the week exploring the area and relaxing at the house in the evening. In the morning waking listening to the sheep in the fields was wonderful. Thank you Alex for an enjoyable stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christine...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant house, beautiful location!”
Reviewed 1 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I hired this house to accommodate my immediate family for the two days before my son's wedding when our hotel let us down. As well as me and my son there were four other adults, including my 93 year old mother, and two children of eight and three - not an easy combination, but this house turned out to be perfect for us. Masses of space inside and out (important for the kids!), well equipped, spotlessly clean, comfortable and very flexible. Downstairs sofa beds were a bonus as unexpectedly good quality with sprung mattresses and that room with it's TV and adjacent shower/loo provided a warm and peaceful refuge for an elderly lady. And the kitchen was big enough for the rest of us.
Although this wasn't exactly a holiday for us, we all loved the house and agreed that we wished we could have stayed longer. The views from the windows were exceptional, especially up towards the village, plenty of car parking space and felt very private. Communication with the owner was good and she was very helpful about arrival and departure times.
This house, for me, is an unexpected gem set in quintessentially English countryside. We are now all very grateful that the hotel in Stamford 'gazumped' us on the Friday night - and we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culture69...
1 review
“An amazing stay at a gorgeous property.”
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

6 of us had an amazing weekend away for my 40th in Barrowden and Wakerly Station. The property has all the amenities you need and perfectly placed for Rutland Water. If you are a sailor and are competing at Rutland I would highly recommend.

The booking process was very simple via Trip Advisor and Alex the owner was incredibly helpful throughout the process and during the stay. I would highly recommend to all.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarcusH12...
1 review
“Family mini break”
Reviewed 12 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Met with family from Norfolk as we are from North Wales and Rutland is nearly in the middle!!
Great location, undulating countryside and chocolate box villages, but still near major link roads to civilisation.
House was great - oozed character and charm, everything was as advertised and a great stay was had by all.
Our party had young children and pensioners, but the house and the local area had enough to keep everyone happy.
The house is next door to the owners who are on hand if you have any difficulties, or if you just want to see their mammoth cats!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - lovely views and character property
Liked least: The local pub was shut when we were there :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing