We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible meal”
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Cramlington B&B and Inns
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible meal”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

What can I say? Tiny piece of fish, "gourmet" chips were refried frozen rubbish, some of husbands meal cooked beyond recognition. I did complain, but the all I got was a "sorry darling" from the girl behind the bar. Please don't call me darling - I'm a grown woman, and, moreover, a customer. We also waited ages for the plates to be cleared. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank 565KellyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    56
    33
    14
    11
See reviews for
32
65
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cropwell Bishop, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed overnight en route to Aberdeen. Room on the first floor (16) very clean and comfortable with good facilities. We thought the food in the restaurant, which is set in comfortable surroundings, was of a good standard. We were disappointed that the continental breakfast didn't include cold cuts and cheeses. However there was a good range of items available which set us up for the ongoing journey. We were so pleased with our visit that we re-routed our return journey to take advantage of another overnight stay before heading home 4 days later.

Room Tip: Book in advance online directly with Innkeepers. You will get a worthwhile discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed her en route to Pitlochry. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff were pleasant and welcoming. The food at the restaurant was ok 'pub grub'. The continental breakfast gave us an ideal start to our day. We would stay here again and recommend to friends and family.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TheBaxters178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

A great place to stay,in a lovely part of the counrtyside. excellent accommodation The rooms were very clean and comfortable, Brilliant food and very friendly staff, we have stayed here several times and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night en route to Scotland. Very conveniently located for the A1 the staff were very accommodating, the room spacious and comfortable and the restaurant provided us with good value, good quality food. Would not hesitate to stay here again

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeterRUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This looked like the best place to stay in the area and it probably was. The room was absolutely fine everything you would expect and not expensive. Food in the Snowy Owl in the evening was good value and I would definitely go back. Without exception the staff were friendly and helpful, even when I arrived early and the bar was really busy, I was made to feel welcome.
There were only two things that in my opinion let it down a bit. The wine by the glass was not of the best quality. Also a continental breakfast is provided with no cooked option. That is fine but it lacked imagination. Fruit and cereal were good but a few limp croissants, toast and packet cheese and packet jam could have been improved on given the quality of the evening food. How about some cold meats, a variety of breads and pastries and no plastic cheese in packets?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penkridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a very pleasant evening at the Snowy Owl. The food was excellent and the service very good. Staff kept you well informed of what was going on. No problem using internet vouchers for free glasses of wine. Would go again if ever in that area.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cramlington
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Seaton Burn
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
856 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
Travelodge Newcastle Gosforth
#41 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,112 reviews
2.6 mi away
Horton Grange Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge
Address: Blagdon Ln | The Snowy Owl, Cramlington NE23 8AU, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Cramlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cramlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northumberland is one of the most beautiful parts of the country and Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, just nine miles north of Newcastle-upon-Tyne, is the perfect way to make the most of it. With its roots in the 1600s, this converted farmhouse is as historic as it is cosy, providing budget accommodation ideal for exploring the Northumberland coast, Newcastle's fantastic shopping, Morpeth or Plessey Woods Country Park. Handy for weekend breaks, you'll find the lodge on the outskirts of the little town of Cramlington, which is surrounded by a rich landscape of impressive castles, unspoilt beaches, rugged moorland and friendly villages full of charming shops and pubs. Book one of its 18 comfy en-suite rooms and you'll be right next door to the pub, the perfect spot for a pint of cask ale or a fireside treat of freshly cooked, seasonally inspired food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowy Owl Innkeepers Hotel Cramlington
Innkeeper's Lodge Cramlington, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing