We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reach for the sky”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Northumberlandia

Northumberlandia
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Cramlington
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Reach for the sky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Although it is not an unpleasant place to visit, we felt that the impact of Northumberlandia really needed to be seen from the sky to get the real impact of the sculpture.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    193
    74
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice attraction and good excercise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We visited northumberlandia as I saw it on Robson greens northumberland.
It's good excercise and fun for kids. Unfortunately it was very windy when we were there so we weren't there for as long as we would have been if the weather was better.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peachy-peach79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had lovely afternoon visiting Northumberlandia with two children, nine and fourteen. Beautiful park and what an innovative idea - love the relationship between the mine and Mother Nature and find ironic the reviews that moan about being able to see the mine from one side when reaching the top! Perhaps they don't get it! Lovely walk around on wide paths - takes 20 minutes but can explore higher up the sculpture with fantastic views from the top. Great for kids. Walk not taxing (and I'm not particularly fit). Greatly appreciate the fact it's free and didn't feel pressured to leave the suggested two pound donation (although we did). Free car parking and lovely cafe - friendly staff. Can't believe a couple of reviews that suggested it was overpriced!! Where do they eat! Almost everything under five pounds and, although we only had drinks and ice cream, the food sounded delicious. Clean and well maintained toilets (accessible) at the rear of the cafe and understand the rationale behind 'no bins' - just take your rubbish home. Only point that could be improved is signposting from the A1. Will definitely go back and maybe take a picnic next time. Well done to the collaboration (I believe some sort of charitable trust) who developed this wonderful site - job very well done!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Auntiefruitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great interactive art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Impressive land sculpture, and the children loved running around the many paths. Great views from the top of the Lady of the North. An excellent use of former mining land. Attraction and parking is free with a suggested voluntary donation of £2 - well worth that. The new cafe did a nice latte and also sells Doddington Dairy ice cream. You can also download the app on iphone (Nlandia) - the children liked following the paths using the map on there. A good walk around probably takes about an hour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a wonderful park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This sculpture is amazing. It is imaginative, playful and awesome. Huge but terrific to walk around and view the various parts from above. Parking is good with a contribution requested rather than a fixed fee. The visitor centre is still developing but has a cafe and toilets already.
What a great way to hide the slag heaps and other unsightly areas that, of necessity are left behind by coal mining operations.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davidzmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Northumberlandia also viewed

Rothbury, Northumberland National Park
Cramlington, Northumberland
 
Alnwick, Northumberland
 

Been to Northumberlandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing